PPR SPORTS Wrestling 0108

P-R PHOTO/GABE DICKENS Peru's Colin Hogan (back) goes for the pin against AuSable Valley's Teddy Tanzuck in the 113-pound weight class during Tuesday's wrestling meet at Peru Central School.

The Saranac Chiefs captured 10 wins, including three by pin, in their 49-21 victory over Northern Adirondack in Champlain Valley Athletic Conference wrestling Tuesday.

Tony Bushey (285), Jacob Nolan (99) and Johnny Devins (106) each picked up a win by pin in their match. Nolan’s pin came in 31 seconds, Bushey’s in 35, while Devins’ came in 44.

Colby Staley (170) and Raffeal Rivera (126) each won their matched by decision for Saranac. Codie Gillette (145) and James Black (160) were winners by technical fall, while Cody Plumadore (195) and Paul Herrea (220) each received wins by forfeit.

The match of the night came in the 120-pound weight class as the Chiefs’ Shawn LaGrave outlasted Northern Adirondack’s Dustin Dominic for a 7-5 win in overtime.

Matt Lashway (182) won by pin for the Bobcats in 1:22. Collin LaBombard (152) and Roland LaPoint (113) each captured their match by decision. Chad King (138) was a winner by major decision, while Austin Trombley (132) picked up a win by technical fall.

Saranac 49, Northern Adirondack 21

170- Staley (Sar) dec. Riley, 8-4.

182- Lashway (NAC) pinned Charland, 1:22.

195- Plumadore (Sar) won by forfeit.

220- Herrea (Sar) won by forfeit.

285- Bushey (Sar) pinned Almodavar, 0:35

99- Nolan (Sar) pinned Filion, 0:31.

106- Devins (Sar) pinned Luebbers, 0:44.

113- LaPoint (NAC) dec. Yip, 10-3.

120- LaGrave (Sar) def. in OT Dominic, 7-5.

126- Rivera (Sar) dec. Pombrio, 4-2.

132- Trombley (NAC) tech. fall Ahern, 17-0.

138- King (NAC) maj. dec. Armstrong, 9-0.

145- Gillette (Sar) tech. fall Finlayson, 17-2.

152- C. LaBombard (NAC) dec. Marcil, 4-2.

160- Black (Sar) tech. fall B. LaBombard, 20-4.


Peru 65, AuSable Valley 21

PERU — The Indians were winners in 11 of the 15 matches in their victory over the Patriots.

David Stickney (138), Nick Bushey (145), Miles-Norris Davis (220) and Ethan Feazelle (132) all captured pins for Peru.

“The most exciting match (Tuesday) was at 220,” Indians co-coach Gary Edwards said. “David pinned Riley Peck at 220 and he had never beaten Riley before.

“AuSable wrestled well, but they are just a bit short in numbers again.”

Aaron Bell (152), Dakota Arquette (160), Riley Sartwell (195), Carson Dobozy (99) and Brandon Goddeau (106) each picked up wins by forfeit for Peru.

Colin Hogan (113) was a technical fall winner for the Indians, while John Gallo (126) was awarded an injury decision.

Keith Christensen (170) and Kenneth Rivers (285) each had pins in their wins for AuSable Valley. Richard Nichols (182) won buy decision, while Dylan Baker (120) was a winner by forfeit.

Peru 65, AuSable Valley 21

138- Stickney (Peru) pinned Leclair, 0:46.

145- Bushy (Peru) pinned Evans, 1:50.

152- Bell (Peru) won by forfeit.

160- Arquette (Peru) won by forfeit.

170- Christensen (AVC) pinned Mitchell, 1:21.

182- Nichols (AVC) dec. H. Sartwell, 3-2.

195- R. Sartwell (Peru) won by forfeit.

220- Davis (Peru) pinned Peck, 2:20.

285- Rivers (AVC) pinned Daniels, 0:46.

99- Dobozy (Peru) won by forfeit.

106- Goddeau (Peru) won by forfeit.

113- Hogan (Peru) tech. fall Tanzuck, 16-0.

120- Baker (AVC) won by forfeit.

126- Gallo (Peru) won by inj. dec. Matott.

132- Feazelle (Peru) pinned Wilkinson, 3:10