Sports Shorts: July 10, 2019

Public invited to hike

WILMINGTON — On Saturday, July 13, the public is invited to join the Algonquin Chapter of the Adirondack Mountain Club on a hike to Copperas, Owens and Winch ponds near Wilmington.

This is an easy four miles round trip. Swimming is optional.

Call Claire Velsey at 518-236-6646 if interested by July 11.

Northern Insuring/Chamber of Commerce tee assignments

PERU — The Northern Insuring/North Country Chamber of Commerce Golf Classic will be held Friday, July 12, at Adirondack Golf and Country Club.

Registration begins at 9 a.m., the tournament begins at 10 a.m. and a post-tourney feast immediately follows.

More than $1,800 in prize money will be awarded, along with numerous prizes at each hole sponsored by Chamber members.

Games for golfers of all abilities make this tournament fun for everyone.

Tee assignments are listed below.

1- NIA #1: Rod Giltz, Randy Giltz, Henry Forrence, Kirk Beattie.

1A- NIA #2: Melissa Davidson, Jaci Kelleher, Tanya Krise, Deena McCullough.

2- Country Malt Group: Norbert Hebert, Paul Demers, Chris Trombley, Rick Dumas.

2A- AFLAC: John Reese, Mike Tumbarello, Charles Johnson, Melissa Stewart.

3- The Z Group: Zach Latinville, Matt Latinville, Robert Evans, Lindsay Boulerice.

4- CDC Real Estate: Matt Boire, Ralph Boire, Ian Coryer, Jerry Rosenbaum.

4A- Akwesasne Mohawk Casino Resort: Paul Boots, Chris Jordan, Mike Gleason, John Vebber.

5- Schluter Systems: Bob Grinnell, Brian Hughes, Sean Gerolimatos, Dan Votraw.

5A- NBT Bank: Todd McCarthy, Trevor Rabideau, Pat Garrow, Elizabeth Pearl.

6- Team Aero: Peter Johnson, Mike Relation, Geoff Hanshaw, Steve Strack.

7- Nova Bus #1: Vincent Plante, Richard Houghton, Ricky St. Germain, Brian Brancado.

7A- Nova Bus #2: Justin Besaw, Steve Brady, Peter Allen, Thomas McDevitt.

8- PrimeLink Putters: Carol Carpenter, Steve Carpenter, Randy LaBombard, Denise Calkins Ryder.

9- Elizabethtown Community Hospital: Matt Nolan, Mike Lynn, John Flynn, Kevin Manchester.

9A- Community Bank: Kent Backus, Randy Senecal, Steve Nicholson, Mr. Trombley.

10- NIA #3: Ed Davis, Nick Bouyea, Ken Mousseau, Joe Graziane.

10A- NIA #4: Carey Garcia, Matt Murphy, Tiffany Garcia, Tammy Bell-Martin.

11- GFNB: John VanNatten & Guests.


12- Team Casella: Matt Craig, Nicole Cline, Meghan Weeden, Madeline Barber.

13- Champlain National Bank: Robin Weeden, Ray Beebe, Tim Kononan, Steve LaBombard.

13A- CNB 2: Steve Cacchio, John Cacchio, Ed Mirrer, Craig LaPine.

14- Coryer Staffing: Elizabeth Coryer, David Coryer, Guests.

15- E"Y"E’s  GUYS: Larry Jeffords, Gil Smith, Kevin Killeen, Chuck Paepke.

15A- AF&R: Jim Holmes, Stacy Soucy, Bob Mihaal, Pat Russell.

16- Twinstate Technologies: TBA.

16A- Plattco Proud: Bob Bourgeois, Justin Soule, Ralph Coon, Logan Miller.

17- Monaghan Medical Corp: Tim Howley, Thomas Pepper, Jonathan Side, Kathie Cameron.

18- Westelcom: Jim Forcier, Dierdre Forcier, Krista Boule, Guest.

18A- Bridge Street Boys: Andy Lomanto, Gaelan Trombley, Chris Boire, Aaron Benner.

PFC registration, tryouts announced

PLATTSBURGH — Plattsburgh F.C. announced it will hold its initial girls program registration/tryouts for the 2019-2020 season Thursday, July 11, at the Plattsburgh State Field House.

All players should wear a white T-shirt, shin guards and bring a soccer ball.

Times for the registration/tryouts July 11 are: 5 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. GU10-14 (2011-2006); 6:30 p.m. to 8 p.m. GU15-19 (2005-2001).

Registration/tryout is for any current, former or newly interested player.

Players should download a registration form and medical release form from and bring both forms to registration/tryouts.

Any player interested in playing but can't attend the July 11 session should have a family member drop off paperwork at registration or email paperwork to

Red, White & Blue Tournament results

PLATTSBURGH — Results from the Red, White & Blue Tournament held Sunday at the Barracks have been publicized.

Matt Davis won the tournament, while Tim Nephew, Eric Meigs and Dave Duprey finished second, third and fourth, respectively. Skins were won by Matt Davis, Eric Meigs and Richie Navin.