Sports Shorts: Aug. 7, 2019

Local soccer officials seeking new members

PLATTSBURGH — The Clinton County chapter of high school soccer officials (CCCSOA) is looking for new members for the upcoming season.

Meetings start this Monday at Stafford Middle School starting at 6 p.m. New officials start out making a minimum of $74 for a modified game.

For more information, contact Randy Lozier at 518-572-6563.

Ron Roberts Memorial Junior Golf Tournament Aug. 18

ROUSES POINT — The inaugural Ron Roberts Memorial Junior Golf Tournament, sponsored by Riley Ford, will take place Sunday, Aug. 18 at the North Country Golf Club at 1 p.m.

Any boy or girl from ages 10 to 18 are welcome to play. Divisions will be 10-12 (nine holes), 13-15 (18 holes), and 16 and up (18 holes).

Cost is $5 for the 10-12 division and $10 for the other two divisions.

Register ahead by calling the North Country Golf Club at 518-297-2582.

McGee records ace on par-4

PLATTSBURGH — Ron McGee recorded his first hole-in-one of his long, distinguished golf career Monday, Aug. 5.

He accomplished the significant feat of getting the hole-in-one on a par-4.

McGee aced the first hole at Bluff Point, a 304-yard par-4.

The shot was witnessed by Mike Bingel and Jay LePage.

Guido notches first hole-in-one

PLATTSBURGH — Joe Guido got his first hole-in-one on Saturday, Aug. 3, on the 4th hole at The Barracks.

Jeff Twigg and David Bresett witnessed the shot.

St. Peter's Golf Invitational results

PLATTSBURGH — Results from the 24th St. Peter's Golf Invitational held at Adirondack Golf Course have been publicized.

Results are listed below.

1- 60, Bob Soltero, Anita Soltero, Phil Aresenault, Butch Smith.

T2- 63, Joe Huttig, Charile Huttig, Andrew Liporace, Garrett Hume.

T2- 63, John Mockry, Brian Mockry, Wade Studley, Reilly Lawless.

T4- 65, Warren Bennett, Kathy Bennett, Willie King, Sherry King.

T4- 65, Rusty Bigelow, Amy Sweeney, Lennie Sweeney, Connor Sweeney.

6- 66, Pat Garrow, Barb Maggy, Diane Miller, Ron Miller.

T7- 68, Frank Bushey, Austin Bushey, Joe Garcia, Chris Huchro.

T7- 68, Pat Parker, Justin Cosgro, Andrew Krug, Cory Downing.

Closest to pin winners- Andrew Krug, Pat Garrow, Bob Soltero, Janice Tobin, Ron Miller, Anita Soltero, George Barnett.

Longest drive winners- Butch Smith, Sherry King, Andrew Krug, Anita Soltero.

Putting contest champion- Robert Larson.

Runner-up putting contest winners- Justin Cosgro, Frank Bushey, Austin Bushey.

Recommended for you