Peru aims to retain CVAC gymnastics title

PLATTSBURGH — A fresh Champlain Valley Athletic Conference gymnastics season is underway. 

Last season, Peru took home the CVAC regular season title as well as the Section VII title.


The Eagles return 12 gymnasts and welcome three newcomers.

Three of Beekmantown’s returners qualified for state competition last season, and Eagles coach Sheree Trudeau said her team is motivated to succeed and has excellent team chemistry.

“I feel that if we can keep the momentum that we have achieved so far throughout preseason that we can rise to the top,” Trudeau said.

“The team to beat is Peru. We were able to edge past them at one competition last season, and we hope to be able to rise to the challenge again this season and top it.”

Gymnasts lost

Oliva Boyette, Jacobi Briscoe, Frankie Beaird.

Gymnasts returning

Madison Drown, Jordan Cook, Jaeden Eilers, Dakota Finley, Lauren Gonyo, Paige Gricoski, Emma Lincoln, Shawna Manor, Nate Sarnow, Lily Spiegal, Celeste Lukasiewicz, Mckayla Wooster.


Eryn Warner, Madyson Tripp, Lucy Santiago.


The Indians enter 2019 ready to defend both their conference and sectional championships.

Peru coach Molly Lawliss said there’s plenty of competition within the team, as her gymnasts are continuously battling for spots in each event.

Lawliss said floor routine will be one of the Indians’ top strengths, and vault will be one of the team’s top weaknesses.

“The girls had a great season last year with one close loss to Beekmantown,” Lawliss said. “We're excited to compete and see the new skills of both Beekmantown and PHS.”

Lawliss said Madeline Witkiewicz, Rylee Desso and Jenna Swyers are all expected to contribute significantly to the squad as returners, and newcomer Kendra Lawliss has great potential.

Gymnasts lost

Allie Timmons, Olivia Tarabula, Sydney Schlitt, Hannah Pelkey.

Gymnasts returning

Rylee Desso, MaKenzie LaMonda, Jenna Swyers, Lindsey Sarazen, Alissa Lawson, Mia Schlitt, Lillian Swyers, McKalyie Taylor, Kennedy Beyer, Madeline Witkiewicz.


Kendra Lawliss, Lauren Prescott.


The Hornets return 2018 state qualifiers Christine Bresnahan, Gianna Coryea, Mikayla Karkoski, Rhyann King and Dakota Tender.

Morgan Hughes, who is a previous state qualifier, has returned from injury and will add depth to Plattsburgh.

Hornets coach Janice Trudeau said Section VII has many talented gymnasts.

“We are a stronger team this year, but so is our competition,” Trudeau said. “Section VII has a lot of gymnastics talent, and everyone will need to step up their game in order to place in meets this season.”

Gymnasts lost

Sabrina Burgess.

Gymnasts returning

Kennedy Baker, Abi Batu Tiako, Christine Bresnahan, Gianna Coryea, Morgan Hughes, Mikayla Karkoski, Ninah Keliihananui, Rhyann King, Siri Sorensen, Dakota Tender.


Emma Watts, Grace Willmott.

Recommended for you