Grapplers ready to hit the mat

PLATTSBURGH — The Saranac and Peru wrestling teams continued their rivalry last season with the Chiefs winning the Champlain Valley Athletic Conference championship and the Indians the Section VII crown.

Those two teams figure prominently again this year, with Beekmantown, Northern Adirondack and AuSable Valley also looking to make their mark.


The Patriots lost three wrestlers to graduation, but welcome 13 newcomers to the team.

AuSable Valley also features 13 wrestlers returning to the mat.

“We will be tough in the middle weights. We have a good group returning and also a good group coming out for the first time,” Patriots' coach Kasey Kivett said. “Every one of them is working hard, so we are hoping to be able to hold our own.”

AuSable Valley's weakness comes from its lack of wrestlers scoring in lighter weight categories.

Wrestlers lost

Jason Fletcher, Trevor Wilkinson, Will McDonough.

Wrestlers returning

Jeremiah Thomas, Brady Lattrell, Alex Martin, Will Sprague, Landen Snyder, Zach Rock, Mason Dubay, Zach Bola, Isaiah Call, Ben Sprague, Dylan Goodrow, A.J. Swetson, Dominic Lapier.


Kyle Bradley, Kaleb Walton, Lucas Burns, Dylan Straight, Jayden Ouimette, Alex Nelson, Liam Clowney, Jon Fletcher, Leland Pray, Jesse Snow, Joshua Taylor, Gavin Morrow, Sabastian Wolson.


The Eagles will be looking to improve on last season and work hard in the new year.

“We have an energetic group of boys who work very hard every day to improve their wrestling skills,” Beekmantown coach Kevin Gregory said.

There are 11 wrestlers returning to the mat as well as two newcomers looking to make their mark.

“We are unable to fill the lower weight classes this season,” Gregory said. “Our enrollment, however, for the modified program is greater than it has been in years past, so we are very hopeful that the wrestling program will thrive in the years to come.”

“As a team, it will be tough to be competitive giving up four weight classes. However, we have our hopes on having a few sectional champions this season.”

Wrestlers lost

Kaden Peryea.

Wrestlers returning

Sawyer Bell, Alan Frost Jones, Odin Nelson, Alex Harrington, Austin Cook, Cornal Brinson, Chance Peryea, Zack Gardner, Connor Bushey, Louis Cota.


Jose Acostamadiedo, Kadin Decker.


The Bobcats return with hope following a 5-3 season with 12 wrestlers and six newcomers.

“Team strengths this year lie with our experienced juniors and seniors,” NAC coach Adam Trombley said. “We are looking to our seniors, Dolan Gilmore, Tyler Trombley, David Griffin and James LaPoint, to lead our team this year with our group of experienced juniors.”

This will be Trombley's fifth year as the Bobcats' head coach.

“This year, our team is lacking numbers in the light weights, but overall the lightweights we have will be competitive for our team,” he said. “As always we will be competitive within our section and will be looking to place in the top.”

Wrestlers lost

Jace Filion, Tyler Premo, Tyler Hewson, Austin Martin, Brent Pombrio, Cameron Matthews.

Wrestlers returning

Taylor Mick, Dolan Gilmore, Isaac Pratt, Caden Bruce, Brandon Manor, Tyler Trombley, Clayton Trombley, Hunter Hewson, David Griffin, Trent Snide-Hasselton, Jeremy LaValley, Trey McGee.


Parker Manor, Owen Smith, Kyle Reif, Wyatt Warren, James LaPoint, Justin Mead.


The Indians return 10 wrestlers with varsity experience. Peru had five sectional champions a year ago and four of them placed at the states, including two who are back this season.

“We have a mixture of young and experienced wrestlers on the team this year and our three seniors will need to step up and be leaders,” Gary Edwards, who coaches the team with Mike Hogan, said.

Edwards (43) and Hogan (36) have been coaching wrestling for a combined 79 years.

“Perhaps our only weakness will being able to fill all of the weight classes,” Edwards said. “But, we expect to be able to do so at some point in time.

“We expect our team to be in the thick of the race for CVAC and sectional champions.”

Wrestlers lost

Derek Fagan, Mason Maulding, Dalton Criss, Logan Dubuque.

Returning wrestlers

Ashton Seymour, Alden McGarvey, Kadin Johnson, Brayden Bushey, Connor Witkiewicz, Jack Hayes, Jack Hanson, Alijah Seymour, Zack Swyers, Dustin Goddeau, Parker Liberty, Devin Blake.


Aiden Schneider, Tyler Bell, Nick Hager, Nathan Mitchell, Tyler Ormsby, Aden LaBarge, Aaron Edwards, Ethan Dickson, Ryder Estes, Ryan Robinson, Liman Mal-Lawgne, Tyler Holmes, Hayden LaFountain.


The Chiefs return to the mat with 13 wrestlers hoping for more success.

“We have a lot of experience throughout the team,” Saranac coach Heath Smith said. “We have six returning sectional champions on the team and very strong light and middle weights.”

Saranac finished 18-10-0 overall last season and is ready for more.

“We will be looking for another CVAC title and hoping for a Section VII title,” Smith said. “The conference will be competitive this year, especially between us and Peru.”

Wrestlers lost

Jacob Nolan, Noah Clausen, Brandon Begiebing.

Wrestlers returning

Ryan Devins, Alex Clancy, Collin Clancy, Landen Smith, Alex Christman, Hunter Devins, Robert Foley, Jacob Vann, Bryce Smith, Noah Steiglmen, Timmy Gadway, Emilo Lugo, Kaiden Kripplin.


Keegan Sanders, Brodie Barber, Cayden Bouvia, Kaiden Breyette, Dylan Kipp, Chase Green, Matt Rugar, Toryn LaVigne, Zach Tackette, David Tackette, Xavier Manalong, Ryan Trudeau.

Recommended for you