MALONE -- Last Friday, Saranac Lake teammates Taras Gach and Casey McHugh finished one-two, respectively, at the Section VII Individual Golf Championships held at the Saranac Inn Golf Course.

Tuesday, in the Annual Craig Chisum Memorial Intersectional Golf Tournament held at the Malone Golf Club, it was a repeat performance by the two.

Gach turned in the low round of the day for Section VII participants with a 75, while McHugh finished second with a 79.

The top score of the day was carded by Section X's Nick Miller, from Potsdam, who shot a 74.

Massena's Benton Sullivan added a 76, while Massena's Matt Supernault and Norwood-Norfolk's Jake Lacouceur both were at 77.

A total of 84 golfers, with 20 schools participating, took part in the event, which is the premier junior golf tournament in the North Country. It is held between the high school sectionals and state championship event this weekend at Cornell University.

Students, coaches and athletic directors all compete in the event in different flights.

Section X golfers regained the title with a stroke average of 88.31 versus Section VII's 88.95. Section VII coaches won the "Coaches Cup" for the second year in a row with an 85.38 average.

The tournament is in memory of Craig Chisum, an avid golfer from Malone, who was tragically killed by a drunk driver while attending Methodist College in North Carolina in the late 1980's.

Mel, Craig's father, was the PGA Golf Professional at Bluff Point Country Club in Plattsburgh for many years. A scholarship is given each year at Malone's Franklin Academy for a student who is pursuing a business degree in college and has a strong interest in golf.


Craig Chisum Memorial

at Malone Golf Club

Section VII scores

Taras Gach, Saranac Lake 75

Casey McHugh, Saranac Lake 79

Derrick Ratliff, E'town-Lewis 81

PO Cote, Plattsburgh 84

Max Laughlin, Plattsburgh 84

Katelynn Mannix, Beekmantown 84

Ryan Kirkpatrick, Plattsburgh 85

Ryan Miller, Peru 86

Joe Huttig, E'town-Lewis 87

Ryan Jewtraw, Lake Placid 89

Aimee Caligiore, Lake Placid 90

Jeremy Tennian, AuSable Valley 90

J.D. Davis, AuSable Valley 91

Mitch Ryder, Beekmantown 91

Mike Clark, Lake Placid 93

Stephen Young, NCCS 93

Keegan O'Hara, Peru 94

Tom Tesar, Moriah 94

Cody Ecret, Saranac Lake 96

Ian O'Hara, Peru 96

Phil Belzer, Moriah 97

Devan Ashline, NCCS 98

Tim McCaughin, Moriah 106

Cody O'Brian, NCCS WD


Section X scores

Nick Miller, Potsdam 74

Benton Sullivan, Massena 76

Matt Supernault, Massena 77

Jake Ladouceur, N-Norfolk 77

Brandon Raymo, Gouverneur 80

Justin Tyo, Massena 81

Dave Burnham, Canton 82

Mike Hayes, Potsdam 82

Michael Reilly, Edwards-Knox 83

Ryan Williams, Potsdam 83

Julia Wears OFA 83

Chris Laramee, Malone 83

Shane Laurie, Canton 84

Nate Osgood, Heuvelton 84

Andy Thompson, Heuvelton 85

Chad Leclerc, Malone 85

Patrick Reilly, Edwards-Knox 87

Dustin Lallier, Gouverneur 88

Eric Hayes, Canton 88

Matt Fiacco, Norwood-Norfolk 91

Nick Sterling, Gouverneur 93

Shawn Legacy, Malone 94

Rollie Poirier, Salmon River 94

Trent McDonald, Salmon River 94

Roberto Alonso 100

Shawn LaPlante, N-Norfolk 102

Ryan Davis, Edwards-Knox 104

John Martin, M-Waddington 113

Jarred Smithers, Heuvelton 114

Scott Henderson, Salmon River 117

Geoff Ibey, Madrid-Waddington 119

Kameron Armstrong, M-W 121

Recommended for you