10 YEARS AGO (2009)

Patrick Manor's 3 rushing touchdowns and 2 interceptions spark Beekmantown to a 41-15 victory over Peru for the Section VII/X Class B football championship. Rob Duquette runs for one score and passes for another for Peru.

Brendan Courneene, Adam Shearer, Josh Turner and Justin Collier all finish in the top 8 to lead Beekmantown to its second straight CVAC boys' cross-country championship.

Kendra Leonidas, Julia Bowler, Elena Beideck and Hillary Pond finish in the top 10 to lead Saranac Lake to the CVAC girls' cross-country crown. 

Former Ticonderoga standout Lee Berube finishes first in leading Geneseo to the SUNYAC men's cross-country title.

Cindy Harrigan serves 20 points with 7 aces as unbeaten Chateaugay sweeps Madrid-Waddington in 3 games to win the Section X Class D volleyball title.

Tyler LaValley's goal with 4:10 play in the first half stands up for Northern Adirondack in a 1-0 victory over upset-minded Seton Catholic in the Section VII Class C boys' soccer final.

Ron Schofield runs for 165 yards and 3 touchdowns in Moriah's 42-12 triumph over Ticonderoga, giving the Vikings their second straight Class D Northern Conference grid crown. Robert Kearns returns the second-half kickoff 80 yards for a Sentinel score.

Sarah Carter and Marle Curle score 7 minutes into the second half to lead PHS to a 2-1 victory over Northeastern Clinton for the Section VII Class B girls' soccer title.

Kevin Neiderer's diving save with under 10 seconds to play nails down a 1-0 victory for PHS over Northeastern Clinton in the boys' soccer final. Kyle Knight scores in the first half for the Hornets. 

20 YEARS AGO (1999)

Eighth-grader Kaylen Fessette wins 3 events while teammate Stacy Bandhold is first on the beam, enabling Beekmantown to cap its first unbeaten season in gymnastics.

Malone sweeps Ogdensburg in the Section X Class B soccer finals. Amber Goppert’s 4 goals lead the girls to a 5-1 win and their first sectional title while Joey Honahan scores from Seamus Mills in a 1-0 win for the boys.

PHS wins both Class B soccer championships. Mike Curry and Aaron Davis give the boys a 2-0 win over Saranac Lake while Michelle Fortier, Jenny Manabat and Missy Hyatt score in the shootout as the Hornets top Beekmantown 3-0. Plattsburgh’s Lindsay Myers and Beekmantown’s Tiffani Williams are both outstanding in goal.

Jean Laurin and Matt Devins lift Chazy to a 2-1 win over Long Lake for the Class D soccer crown.

25 YEARS AGO (1994)

Plattsburgh State seniors Karin Sherman and Ann Christner and junior Laura Ray are named to the All-SUNYAC Team in women’s soccer.

Northeastern University freshman Scott Campbell earns Hockey East Rookie of the Week honors.

It’s a championship sweep for PHS in Class B soccer. Holli Mulholland scores twice to lead the girls to a 2-1 win over Beekmantown while Steve Monahan and Brian Griffin score in a 2-1 win over Beekmantown in the boys’ final.

Senior Kelly Gilmore scores the only goal as Northern Adirondack nips Northeastern Clinton, 1-0, to win its third straight Class C boys’ soccer title and eighth in 10 years.

Dan Marbut and Craig Duprey score touchdowns to give Peru the early 12-0 lead, but Massena rallies for a 20-12 win in the North Country football championship.

30 YEARS AGO (1989)

Tim Loughan and B.J. Rillahan score goals to lead Peru past unbeaten Northeastern Clinton 2-0 for the Class B soccer crown. Keeper Dave Mendofik, Devin Bodette, Mike Whitehouse and Chad Owen spark the Peru defense.

Trevor Dauphinais scores the lone goal, giving NAC a 1-0 win over Saranac for the Class C title.

Kelli O’Connell scores 4 goals as MAI beats NCCS 6-0 for the girls’ Class B soccer championship.

Elizabeth Golluscio scores with 46 seconds left in the second overtime, lifting Saranac Lake to a 2-1 win over NAC in the C title game. Anita Fina also scores for the Redskins while Janet Bushey gets the NAC goal.

Wendy Sayward scores twice with her sister Shelly getting two assists as Willsboro beats Newcomb 2-0 to win its first Class D title in nine years.

Matt Gonyo’s goal gives Chazy a 1-0 win over Keene in the boys’ D final.

40 YEARS AGO (1979)

Don Tesar carries 45 times for 209 yards and 3 touchdowns in Moriah’s 26-0 victory over AuSable Valley. Rich James and Jack Garvey lead the Viking defense that limits the Patriots to 70 yards offense.

Alicia Papke and Lisa Maynard are triple winners as Peru finishes its first season of girls’ swimming unbeaten at 8-0.

Kerry Corcoran, Brenda Nolette and Wanda Sample score in the flickoff to lift Northeastern Clinton to a 6-5 win over Beekmantown and the Cougars’ second straight Section VII field hockey title. Jackie Duquette scores twice for the Eagles.

Mike Esposito (15:51) and Kathy Brandell (19:11) set the 3-mile course records at Cumberland Bay campsite in the Section VII cross-country meet.

King and Riley score for Chateaugay in a 2-1, sudden-death overtime win over Saranac Lake for the Section X girls’ Div. I soccer title. Beth Gallagher gets the Redskin goal.

Mark Garrand scores twice and Ron Tetreault, once, to lead Northeastern Clinton over Peru in the Section VII Div. I soccer final. Pat Gooley also stars for the Cougars.

Marshall Phillips and Jay Hooper score goals to lift Elizabethtown-Lewis over Chazy in t he Div. II final.

Joe Burl hauls in a 5-yard TD pass from Andy Light with 1:04 to play and Bob Burnell adds the point after to give unbeaten Beekmantown a 7-7 tie with Peru. The Indians get a TD from Mike Alexander and Phil Keenan’s PAT.

Lori Duprey’s goal gives AuSable Valley a 1-0 win over Lake Placid in the Section VII Div. I girls’ soccer final.

Wendy Jaquish and Joanne Frechette score in Willsboro’s 2-1 win over Crown Point in the Div. II title game.

Beth Andrews, Mary Ryan and Lori Bowman score to give Dannemora a 3-2 win over Newcomb for the Div. III title.

50 YEARS AGO (1969)

Skip O’Hara runs for 2 TDs, Mike Francis and Tom Ducatte each add one and Dale McNally returns a kickoff 90 yards to score in Plattsburgh High’s 32-20 win over MAI. Tom Kramer and Mitch Pajonas score for the Mount.

Jeff Murdock, Jimmy Lahtinen and Dick Davis score touchdowns in Moriah’s 20-0 win over Peru.

Mike Collin, making his first varsity start, completes 11 of 14 passes for 170 yards and a touchdown in Saranac’s 34-0 win over AuSable Valley.

Pat Ward scores twice and John Egglefield, once, leading Elizabethtown-Lewis to a 3-2 win over Chazy and its second straight Section VII Class B soccer title. Dana Weeden and Bob Trombley score for Chazy.

Randy Welch and Sam Sprague score in Schroon Lake’s 2-1 win over Altona for the Class C soccer title.

60 YEARS AGO (1959)

Gerry LaVigne, in only his second season of soccer, is named Most Valuable Player on the Plattsburgh State men’s team.

Jim Murdock’s 6-yard pass to Wayne Brewster accounts for the only score as Port Henry tops Ticonderoga 6-0.

Rick Frisbie scores from Rodger Hadley and Don Huntley comes up big in goal for Westport as the Eagles defeat Elizabethtown-Lewis 2-0 to win the MVL soccer crown. Westport then battles Chazy to a 0-0 standoff for the Section VII Class B title.

Charley Lashway, George Buysse and Tom Wells lead Keene to an 8-6 win over Dannemora for the Section VII Class C soccer crown. Colin Thompson scores twice for the Knights and Bernard Ducharme, once.

70 YEARS AGO (1949)

Cornell left halfback Lindy Hull of Tupper Lake will miss the game with Syracuse University with a shoulder injury.

Joe Lashua’s penalty kick in overtime gives Peru a 3-2 win over Keene in the Section VII soccer final.

Milton Nash scores on a reverse and Joe Edgely runs 44 yards to score as Lake Placid beats Plattsburgh High 12-6 to win the CVAC football title. Rudy Archambault gets the TD for PHS.

80 YEARS AGO (1939)

Floyd Siddon runs 37 yards for a touchdown and then passes to Bill McDermott for the point after, giving MAI a 7-6 victory over Burlington High School.

Recommended for you