10 YEARS AGO (2004)

Josh Howard’s pin at 135 pounds seals Beekmantown’s 40-33 victory over Peru in a battle of wrestling unbeatens.

Larry Converse picks up his 200th coaching victory as unbeaten Seton Catholic downs NAC 74-40.

Wyatt Peterson, Lee Gabler and Jesse Berube lead Ticonderoga to its first ever indoor track title. The Sentinels and Peru finish tied with 124 points; however, Ti wins with 3 firsts to Peru’s 2. Youngsters Brittney Brousseau, Kristie Pageau and Katie Macey lead the Saranac girls to their fourth consecutive indoor crown.

Freshman Matt Skelly scores his first varsity goal with 7 seconds to play, giving Malone a 4-3 victory over St. Lawrence Central.

Peru’s Josh McDougal, 18, turns in the seventh-best indoor time for the 2-mile run (8:50.40) in U.S. history. It also sets the state high-school and Armory track records.

Jon Bradley scores 30 points and grabs 18 rebounds to lead Chazy to a 60-48 upset of previously unbeaten Willsboro.

20 YEARS AGO (1994)

Tara Butler scores 11 points and Audrey Cano, 10, as Saranac, without flu-stricken Ann Parks, defeats AuSable Valley, 41-33 in a battle of unbeatens. Lee Ann Allen scores 12 points and Heather Moresco, 9, for the Patriots.

Mika Conley scores 23 points as Westport turns back Elizabethtown-Lewis, 68-45, in girls’ basketball. Alonna Haseltine leads the Lions with 20.

Marie Douglas scores 29 points and Marcie Gordon, 14, as Clinton CC beats NCCC, 91-87, in double overtime despite Tina Reedy’s 46-point effort for the Saints.

25 YEARS AGO (1989)

Denfield James scores 22 points to become Clinton Community College’s all-time leading scorer with 504 points, surpassing the previous record of 485 set by Steve Parker in 1975.

Cy Ellsworth scores a breakaway goal with 56 seconds left to lift Saranac Lake to a 4-3 win over division-leader MAI.

Scott Cutaiar scores 22 points, including the front end of a one-and-one with one second left, to give PHS a 91-90 win over Moriah. Alan Rose contributes 23 points while Frank Gilbo leads Moriah with 33.

Mike Cribbs sinks 8 free throws in overtime to send Tupper Lake to a 64-57 win over Malone.

30 YEARS AGO (1984)

Kurt Sturgeon scores 16 points to help his father, Fraser, notch his 300th career coaching victory as Saranac Lake beats Malone 63-45. Rick Hallberg also nets 16.

Anne Pearl scores 18 points to lead unbeaten St. John’s past Saranac, 41-36. Jenny Strack scores 17 for the Chiefs.

Mike Brewster’s two free throws with 19 seconds left lift Northeastern Clinton to a 61-60 upset of Ticonderoga. Andy Guay chips in with 18 while Joel Dolbeck scores 16 for Ti.

Tim Kelley scores four goals and Kyle King makes 17 saves in Plattsburgh High’s 7-2 win over Salmon River.

Kim Nystrom scores 14 points and grabs 11 rebounds and Trina Patenaude hits the game-winning basket as Northeastern Clinton stuns previously unbeaten St. John’s, 40-36.

Moriah graduates Anne Slattery (19 points) and Jan Lemza (17) lead Plattsburgh State over Clarkson, 69-50.

Gary Manning scores 20 points, grabs 8 rebounds and comes up with 7 steals to lead North Country CC to a 79-52 win over Syracuse Forestry at the Carrier Dome.

John Barrett and Nate Rickert win their third tournament titles to lead Peru to a third-place finish in the Saranac Invitational wrestling tournament. Terry White is the most outstanding wrestler and George Dumas scores the quickest pin to lead Malone to the Saranac title.

40 YEARS AGO (1974)

Saranac’s Clyde Rabideau, at 132 pounds, is voted the outstanding wrestler and also wins the quick pin award in the Fifth Annual Peru Wrestling Tournament.

Butch Butchino scores 25 points and Mike Ryan, 23, as Saranac whips St. John’s, 81-63, to avenge a loss to the Irish in the sectional semifinals the year before.

Frank Sterrett resigns after two years as head football coach at Mount Assumption.

Kenna Lamora bowls a 771 four-game series to win the A Division and Mary Lynn Duprey of Saranac Lake, a 761, in the B Division in the first Champlain Valley 600 Club tournament.

Paul Slattery scores 26 points and Ed Rogoza grabs 16 rebounds as Moriah knocks off Saranac, 69-60. Alan Rock scores 20 for the Chiefs.

50 YEARS AGO (1964)

Dave Gordon, 182 pounds, wins by decision to give Peru a 23-21 upset of previously unbeaten Saranac. 

Ernie Bombard (105) improves to a 5-0 in helping Ellenburg out-wrestle AuSable Forks, 30-16. Gary Hathaway (140) of AuSable Forks raises his record to 7-1.

Douglas Boyea (160-pound novice) of Altona, Barney St. Germaine (126) and Ralph Douglas of Plattsburgh Air Force Base win their boxing matches in the Vermont AAU tournament.

P.J. Beattie scores 29 points and Gene Mace, 15, to lead the Clippers past the Ramblers, 79-71, in the AuSable Forks basketball league. Gary Boynton scores 24 and Tony Millie, 21, for the Ramblers.

Paul Giroux scores 31 points and captain Terry Ladd, 23, as unbeaten Peru wallops Moriah, 93-66.

60 YEARS AGO (1954)

Jimmy Lester (118), Eddie Fountain (135) and flyweight Bohwell Devins of Plattsburgh win their semifinal matches in the Vermont Golden Gloves Boxing Tournament.

Ray Delorm scores 22 points to lift Ticonderoga over Plattsburgh High 63-61. Gary Finney nets 16 for PHS.

Six-foot-three Harney Davey sets a Fran-Clinton scoring record with 41 points in Keeseville’s 103-51 thrashing of Chateaugay.

Joe Meconi, Hank Whisher, Al Soulier and Franklin Beattie of AuSable Forks win the AAU four-man inter-club bobsled race while Jay Dodge and Soulier take the two-man title.

Gerald Pelkey scores 32 in Champlain’s 68-56 win over Altona.

70 YEARS AGO (1944)

The Plattsburgh High Boys Club, under the direction of coach Frank Miller, forms an 8-team junior basketball league. Robert Parker is league president, Bernard Dubuque, vice president, John Seymour, secretary, and Harold McCready, treasurer. Seymour and Melvin Wilson organize the teams.

Cpl. Robert Kay, home on furlough, scores 9 points to lead Chazy over Mooers, 31-25. Dean scores 9 for Mooers.

Catholic High School of Montreal defeats MAI, 43-26, with Clark scoring 8 points for the Mount.