Looking Back (Aug. 25-31)

10 YEARS AGO (2000)

Corey Davidson and Debbie Pomainville win the 10th Annual Run for Jon.

Pat Welch shoots a 69 on the way to his fourth North Country Golf Club championship while Kathy Barcomb claims the women's title.

Adam Carter scores 2 goals to lift Saranac over Malone in the Saranac Preseason Soccer Tournament final. John Farnsworth and Jesse Lawrenz combine on the shutout.

20 YEARS AGO (1990)

Al D'Lano beats Gil Burnell 1-up in match play to capture his seventh Bluff Point club championship. He won his first in 1961.

Kevin Lang defeats Jerry LaHart on the first playoff hole to win the Malone Golf Club men's title while Lucy LaPlante takes her third straight women's crown.

Mike vonSchiller is named men's soccer coach and women's softball coach at Clinton Community College.

25 YEARS AGO (1985)

Marge Atwater finishes with a 4-round score of 260 to win the Bluff Point ladies' club title for the second year in a row.

Tony Bacchus scores twice and Tucker Dixon and Steve Wilson each add a goal to lead the Lake Placid Express to their fifth straight Adirondack Amateur Soccer League championship. Ace Jopling is in goal for the 4-0 shutout.

Joanne Dion gets 2 hits, including a triple, and Jose Cliffe spins a 3-hitter as Chazy tops Mother's 3-1 to repeat as Women's City Softball League champions.

Mike Burleigh belts a 2-run, inside-the-park homer as Hi-Falls Lounge defeats Latinville's 8-6 to win the Adirondack Slo-Pitch Softball League title. George Poissant chips in with 3 hits while Jim Miller and winning pitcher Larry Pellerin get 2 each. Rick Lamberton has 3 hits for Latinville's.

30 YEARS AGO (1980)

Mike Rock, Harry Duprey and Don Duprey all get 2 hits as Peru wraps up the CVBL crown with a 14-9 win and a two-game sweep of Lyon Mountain. Allie and Mike Chase collect 2 hits for the Miners

Jim Couts finishes 10 strokes up on Gil Burnell and 11 on Ken Allen to win the Bluff Point club title.

Gary DeCoste tosses a 3-hitter and Gary Favro goes 3-for-3 as Barcomb's TV beats the Rouses Point Softball Club 3-1 to win the Lake Champlain Slo-Pitch Softball League championship.

Barry Devins belts a grand slam and Mike Lopez adds a 2-run shot to carry AuSable Chasm to a 10-4 win over Dockum's Grocery and a sweep of the AuSable Forks Fast-Pitch championship series.

Mark Morris, Bruce Tubbs and Joe Shovan score goals as the Elizabethtown Hawks top Plattsburgh 3-2 to cap their second straight unbeaten season in Amateur Soccer League play. Jaime Parra and Dave Armstrong score for Plattsburgh.

40 YEARS AGO (1970)

Mark Siskavich and Paul Kourofsky combine on a 3-hit shutout and each gets a homer as unbeaten Lyon Mountain defeats Cumberland Head A to win the county grasshopper title. Brian Raville gets 2 hits in a losing cause.

Clyde Rabideau, Roger Barnard and Gary Santose all get 2 hits to back winning pitcher Butch Butchino as East Morrisonville downs South Plattsburgh 13-6 to complete a 12-0 season in Pony baseball.

Sandy Carlo captures her third straight New York State Women's Barebow Championship while Charlie Carlo, also a 3-time champion, finishes second in the men's division.

Alan Babbie's 3-run homer sends the Champlain peewees to an 11-8 win over Beekmantown in the final.

Cheryl Patnode pounds out 5 hits while Wendy LaChaunce and Patsy Mitchell get 3 apiece as Keeseville clubs Redford to win the Senior League title.

50 YEARS AGO (1960)

Tom Cronin has a 4-for-6 game and John deGrandpre smacks a 3-run homer as the Plattsburgh Falcons wrap up their season with a 13-3 win over Longueil.

Dave Mracek, 6-foot-5 former St. Mitchael's star, is named athletic director and coach at St. Mary's of Champlain.

Randy Couture pitches a no-hitter with 15 strikeouts and Johnny Niles gets 2 hits with a triple as Rouses Point tops Cadyville 4-0 in the county Little League playoffs. Don Beauharnois allows only 3 hits while fanning 10 in the loss.

Sally Bracey and Judy Rollier hit grand slams in support of winning pitcher Judy Bingel as Lyon Mountain tops Morrisonville 13-8 in the Senior Girls final.

Bob Newton's 2-run homer and triple lead Dannemora to a 12-8 win over Plattsburgh AFB for the Adirondack League baseball title.

60 YEARS AGO (1950)

Charles "Odge" Clifford takes over as PHS football coach, succeeding Tommy Thompson, who is on a leave of absence.

V. Ladd Jerry catches a 635-pound bluefin tuna while fishing off Nova Scotia. Virgil Trombly gets a 378-pounder on the same trip.

70 YEARS AGO (1940)

Edson Tribble defeats Al Sharron Jr. 5 and 4 to win the 36-hole Conway Cup at Plattsburgh Golf Club.

Trending Video

Recommended for you