Wight wins border battle 100

PLATTSBURGH — Phoenix’s Larry Wight used the outside lane to his advantage to pass Matt Sheppard for the win Monday night at the Plattsburgh Airborne Speedway.

Brett Hearn took the early lead in the 100-lap Super DIRTcar series event and led for the first 20 laps.

Soon after, defending series champion Matt Sheppard used the inside lane to get by Hearn and set sail into the lead.

Shortly after the pass, both Jimmy Phelps and Wight were slowly but surely working their way up through the field to move into the second and third spots, respectively.

Off of the restart, Wight worked his way to his trademark line on the outside and blistered around both Phelps and Sheppard for the lead.

Wight held off Sheppard during a late race charge to win his first Super Dirt Series event of the 2019 season.

Sheppard finished second, Danny Johnson came home third, Jimmy Phelps fourth and Erick Rudolph fifth.

Adam Pierson rocketed past Nick Heywood on the outside to win the $1,000 first prize in the Poirer’s True Value Sportsman feature event.

Swanton, Vermont’s Dylan Rabtoy had the early race lead until defending champion Nick Heywood took over on an early restart.

Heywood led until about 15 when Pierson worked his way to the top of the race track.

Once Pierson cleared Heywood, it was smooth sailing in both clean air and lap traffic en route to the victory.

Heywood settled for second, Connor Cleveland third, Travis Bruno fourth and Jamy Begor fifth.

Nathaniel Guay took advantage of a late race restart to pick up his second win in three days in the Chris Frennier Motorsports Strictly Stocks.

Guay got past by Cody Agoney for the win, Josh Laporte took third, Nathan Smart fourth and Caleb Tourville fifth.

SUPER DIRTCAR SERIES- 1. LARRY WIGHT, 2. Matt Sheppard, 3. Danny Johnson, 4. Jimmy Phelps, 5. Erick Rudolph, 6. Mat Williamson, 7. Billy Decker, 8. Carey Terrance, 9. Peter Britten, 10. Ryan Godown, 11. Brett Hearn, 12. Steve Bernier, 13. Dany Gagne, 14. Chris Raabe, 15. Francois Bellemare, 16. Jack Lehner, 17. Jackie Brown, 18. Rusty Smith, 19. Matt Woodruff, 20. Stewart Friesen, 21. Mike Mahaney, 22. Paul St. Saveur, 23. Demetrios Drellos, 24. Louis Jackson Jr. 25. Patrick Dupree, 26. Marcus Dinkins, 27. George Foley

POIRER’S TRUE VALUE SPORTSMAN- 1. ADAM PIERSON, 2. Nick Heywood, 3. Connor Cleveland, 4. Travis Bruno, 5. Jamy Begor, 6. Dylan Rabtoy, 7. Jamie Lafountain, 8. Jack Speshock, 9. Lonnie Rivers, 10. Robert Delormier, 11. Tanner Forbes, 12. Mike Palmer, 13. Derrick Mcgrew 14. Chris Cayea, 15. Codie Aubin, 16. Jeremy Roy, 17. James Meehan, 18. Kevan Pelaquin 19. Chris Frennier, 20. Felix Roy, 21. Christopher Reeves, 22. Corey McCoy, 23. Jason McClatchie, 24. D.J. Gonyo, 25. Andy Heywood, 26. Steve Turcotte, 27. R.J. Tressider, 28. Ricky Thompson, 29. Mike Phinney, 30. Patrick Picotin.

CHRIS FRENNIER MOTORSPORTS STRICTLY STOCKS: 1. NATHANIEL GUAY, 2. Cody Agoney, 3. Josh Laporte, 4. Nathan Smart , 5. Caleb Tourville, 6. Chuck Mooney, 7. Adam Stickle, DNS- Michael Daniels