LAKE PLACID — The Lake Placid Hall of Fame Committee has named its 2019 nominees for induction to the Lake Placid Hall of Fame.

The inductees for this year’s class include Francis Thaire Bryant, Billy Demong and Craig H. Randall.

The nominees will be inducted into the Hall of Fame, which can be found in the Conference Center at Lake Placid.

The 36th annual Induction Banquet will be held Oct. 26 at the Conference Center at Lake Placid and is scheduled to begin with a cash bar at 6 p.m., followed by dinner at 7 p.m.

Tickets are $38 and are now available at the Olympic Center box office through Tuesday, Oct. 22.

The Lake Placid Hall of Fame began in 1983 and has inducted over 140 individuals, as well as the members of the 1948 U.S. Olympic four-man bobsled team and the 1980 U.S. Olympic hockey team. Permanent plaques commemorating each member are on display in the Conference Center at Lake Placid.

Francis Thaire Bryant is remembered for managing Lake Placid’s first ski shop, Thaire’s Ski Room and supporting the ski industry in Lake Placid for nearly 50 years. Bryant was a member of the Lake Placid Ski Club and helped expand skiing opportunities in the region.

Billy Demong grew up in the Adirondack Mountains and began ski jumping in the Lake Placid Ski Club. Demong fell in love with the sport of Nordic Combined at an early age and is a five-time Olympian who broke down barriers to become America’s first Olympic Gold Medalist in Nordic skiing at the Vancouver Olympic Winter Games in 2010.

Craig Randall currently serves as the Village of Lake Placid’s Mayor. Randall’s community service and civic record is extensive and has had a tremendous impact on the Village of Lake Placid and Olympic region. The list of organizations that he has been a part of and served include: Deo B. Coburn Education Foundation; North Country Life Flight; New York Conference of Mayors; World Union of Olympic Cities; Adirondack Community Trust; Adirondack Medical Center; Adirondack Health Initiative Committee; Placid Memorial Hospital; Essex County Development Corporation; Lake Placid Chamber of Commerce; Lake Placid North Elba Historical Society; New York Ski Education Foundation; and W. Alton Jones Cell Science Center Institutional Review Board. 

Recommended for you