PLATTSBURGH — Republican voters in the 21st Congressional District will decide today who their candidate will be for the November election.

Matt Doheny and Elise Stefanik have been engaged in a heated battle since February for the right to run on the Republican line in the general election against Democrat Aaron Woolf and Green Party candidate Matt Funicello.

"We've had a series of close elections in this district, and I think we will see that continue," Dr. Harvey Schantz of the SUNY Plattsburgh Political Science Department told the Press-Republican.

Doheny, 43, joined the race in February after incumbent Democrat Bill Owens of Plattsburgh announced that he would not be seeking re-election.

He is originally from Alexandria Bay but moved to Watertown in 2009 after spending about a decade working on Wall Street as an investor.

Doheny ran against Owens and lost close races in 2010 and 2012.

Stefanik, 29, joined the race in 2013 before Owens said he would not be running again.

She went to high school at Albany Academy and then graduated from Harvard.

She worked in Washington from 2007 to 2013 for President George W. Bush, and 2012 Vice Presidential candidate Congressman Paul Ryan.

Her family owns a plywood distribution business in the Albany area. Stefanik moved into a family home in Willsboro last year.

Although Doheny and Stefanik share similar views on many issues, the campaign has been fierce.

Stefanik's bid has been bolstered by a slew of advertisements paid for by Crossroads, a national political movement tied to the Tea Party and Republican strategist Karl Rove.

The television advertisements have been hard-hitting against Doheny's character, saying he is not fit to be a member of Congress.

Doheny has responded with his own advertisements, attacking Stefanik by calling into question her experience and residency, branding her a Washington insider.

Schantz said the heavy influence from outside the district was unusual.

"The unwritten rule has always been that primaries are typically local affairs, but we've seen that go away in recent years," he said.

Stefanik is also on the Conservative Party line, and Doheny is on the Independence Party line.

The district covers 12 counties from Lake Ontario in the west to Lake Champlain in the east and is bordered in the north by Canada.

Stefanik wound down her campaign Monday by going door to door in Warren County.

Doheny was also in Warren County, having lunch at Poopies restaurant and then holding a tele-town hall meeting in the evening.

The polls will be open from noon to 9 p.m. in all 12 counties for registered Republicans to vote.


Absentee ballots can be received by local Board of Elections offices until July 1. They had to have been postmarked by Monday, June 23.

In Clinton County, 306 absentee ballots were sent out and 139 received as of Monday, according to Republican Elections Commissioner Greg Campbell.

In Essex County, 285 were sent out and 139 received, said Republican Commissioner Allison McGahay.

In Franklin County, 185 were sent out and 85 received as of Monday.

Here are the polling places:


Altona: Districts 1 and 2, Altona Town Hall, 3124 Miner Farm Road.

Ausable: Districts 1 and 2, Fire Station, 8 Pleasant St., Keeseville.

Beekmantown: Districts 1, 2, 3 and 4, Beekmantown Town Hall, 571 Spellman Road.

Black Brook: District 1, Black Brook Town Hall, 15 North Main St., Ausable Forks; and District 2, Town Garage, 3385 Silver Lake Road, Saranac;Champlain, Districts 1, 2 and 3, Champlain Town Offices, 729 Route 9.

Chazy: Districts 1 and 2, Town Hall, 9631 Route 9.

Clinton: District 1, Town Hall, 23 Smith St., Churubusco.

Dannemora: Districts 1 and 3, Quality of Work Life Center, 1156 Route 374; and District 2, Lyon Mountain Fire Station, 8 Fire House Road.

Ellenburg: District 1, Municipal Center, 16 St. Edmunds Way; District 2, Ellenburg Town Hall, 13 Brandy Brook Road, Ellenburg Center; and District 3, Old School House, 75 Biggelow Road, Lyon Mountain.

Mooers: Districts 1 and 2, Mooers Government Center/Fire Station, 2508 St. Route 11.

Peru: Districts 1, 2, 3 and 4, St. Augustine's Parish Center, 3030 Main St.

City of Plattsburgh: Ward 1, Districts 1, 2 and 3, Pine Harbour, 15 New Hampshire St.; Ward 2, Districts 1 and 2, OLVA School, 4919 South Catherine St.; Ward 3, Districts 1 and 2, Plattsburgh Field House, 167 Rugar St.; Ward 4, Districts 1 and 2, United Methodist Church, 127 Beekman St.; Ward 5 and 6, Districts 1 and 2, Government Center Meeting Room, 137 Margaret St.

Town of Plattsburgh: Districts 1, 2, 4, 5 and 7, Town Hall, 151 Banker Road; District 3, South Plattsburgh Fire Department 1, 4105 Route 22; and District 6, Cumberland Head Fire Department, 38 Firehouse Lane.

Saranac: District 1, Saranac Fire Station, 3277 Route 3; District 2, Redford Fire Station, 101 Clinton St.; and District 3, Dannemora Village Offices, 40 Emmons St.

Schuyler Falls: District 1, 2 and 3, St. Alexander's Church, 1 Church St., Morrisonville.


Chesterfield: All districts, Keeseville Knights of Columbus, 1435 U.S. Route 9.

Crown Point: All districts, Fire Hall, 2764 Main St.

Elizabethtown: Town Hall, 7563 Court St.

Essex: Both districts, Fire Hall, 2659 Route 22.

Jay: District 1, Amos and Julia Ward Theater, 12 Parkside Road, Jay; District 2, Town Office, 11 School Lane, AuSable Forks.

Keene: District 1, Town Hall, 10892 Route 9N, Keene; District 2, Fire Hall, 15 Market St., Keene Valley.

Lewis: Town Hall, 8574 Route 9.

Minerva: Community Center, 5 Morse Memorial Highway.

Moriah: District 1 and 4, Port Knights of Columbus, 4253 Main St., Port Henry; and District 2, Firehouse, 630 Tarbell Hill Road, Moriah; District 3, Firehouse, 112 Raymond Wright Ave.

Newcomb: Town Offices, 5639 Route 28N.

North Elba: District 1, 3, 4, 5 and 6, Town Hall, 2693 Main St., Lake Placid; and District 2 and 7, Town House, 193 River St., Saranac Lake.

North Hudson: Town Office, 3024 Route 9.

Schroon: Districts 1 and 2, Town Office, 15 Leland Ave.

St. Armand: Town Hall 1702 Route 3, Bloomingdale.

Ticonderoga: All districts, Ticonderoga Middle School auditorium, 116 Alexandria Ave.

Westport: District 1, United Church of Christ, 2569 Route 10, Wadhams; and District 2, Westport Community Center, 22 Champlain Ave., Westport.

Willsboro: Both districts, Willsboro Visitors Center, 3743 Main St.

Wilmington: Wilmington Community Center, 7 Community Circle.


Bangor: Districts 1 and 2: Bangor Municipal Offices, 2438 State Route 11, North Bangor.

Bellmont: Districts 1 and 2, Town Highway Garage, 1368 County Route 24, Malone; District 3, Fire Station, 46 Ragged Lake Road, Owls Head.

Bombay: Districts 1 and 2, Bombay Town Hall, 379 Lantry Road.

Brandon: Town Hall, 564 County Route 12, North Bangor.

Brighton: Town Hall, 12 County Route 31, Paul Smiths.

Burke: Town Court House, 5165 State Route 11.

Chateaugay: Districts 1 and 2, Village Office, 8 Iron Ave.

Constable: Districts 1 and 2, Town Hall, 15897 State Route 30.

Dickinson: Town Office, 339 Aiken Rd., Dickinson Center,

Duane: Fire Station, 172 County Route 26, Malone.

Fort Covington: All districts, Ft. Covington Adult Center, 2526 Chateaugay St.

Franklin: Districts 1 and 2, Vermontville Town Hall, 7 Cold Brook Road.

Harrietstown: All districts, Town Hall, 39 Main St., Saranac Lake.

Malone: All districts, Cedar Commons, 3372 State Route 11, Malone.

Moira: Districts 1 and 2, Town Offices, 522 County Route 6, Moira.

Santa Clara: District 1, Santa Clara Town Hall, 30 Town Barn Road, St. Regis Falls; and District 2, Saranac Inn, 5359 State Route 30, Saranac Lake.

Tupper Lake: All districts, Holy Ghost Parish Center, 40 Marion St., Tupper Lake.

Waverly: Town Hall, 6 North Main St., St. Regis Falls.

Westville: Districts 1 and 2, Town Hall, 936 County Route 19, Constable.

Trending Video

Recommended for you