The Lake Champlain Chapter of Trout Unlimited has sponsored Meagan Pepper, a Plattsburgh student, to also receive a scholarship. The students will be sent to Ecology Camp at Pack Forest, Warrensburg.

Franklin Academy recently hosted its second-annual Invitational Chess Tournament.

The event was open to schools from Franklin, St. Lawrence and Clinton counties, with each entering its four best players into the 28-person tournament.

The Franklin Academy team was determined to win the event after watching Massena depart last year with the prized championship cup, club adviser Matthew Rogers said, adding, "All year long they've been focused on this event, and they have worked hard to prepare for it."

Franklin Academy did win the 2008 tournament, with student Kevin McManus emerging as champion after going undefeated on the day.

Second place went to Dmitriy Elmanovich and third place to Germain Choiniere, both of Franklin Academy.

Nick Perham of Chateaugay took fourth place; Joe Bushey of Beekmantown, fifth place; and Hillary Sponable of Beekmantown, sixth place.

The Clinton County School Boards Association recently held a recognition awards banquet to honor local students for being in the top 10 percent of their class. The students, listed by school, are:

AuSable Valley Central School: Courtney DiFiore, Dustin Farrell, Jaimee Finnegan, Katina Kazanas, Krystyna Kornecki, Jennifer Manning, Phalon Nolan, Hannah O'Toole, Brittany Woodring and April Yeaney.

Beekmantown Central School: Chasity Barcomb, Matthew Chartier, Veronica Corneau, Brianna Coryea, Kassandra Costin, Cecelia Hatton, Rian Jock, Danielle Kreig, Daniel LeVon, Sasha Marsh, Kayleigh McGovern, Heather McNierney, Nicole Newton, Michelle Passno, Elisa Rizzie and Elizabeth Stanley.

Chazy Central Rural School: Karen Braun, Alexandra Jeffords, Samantha Lavigne, Kathryn Olds and Kirsten Parker.

Northeastern Clinton Central School: Chelsea Barcomb, Kali Blankenship, Kayla DeCoste, Erin Duffy, Samantha Farrell, Jessica Goodine, Alison Grovine, Sarah Katie Hartigan, Maxx Hipko, Jordan Marks, Kelli Nogle, Amanda Rabideau, Erin Sorrell, Jonathon Streker, Allison Werner and Kimberly Werner.

Northern Adirondack Central School: Hilary Boyea, Heather Byron, Benjamin Fievisohn, Joselyn Gregory, Lindsay Manor, Amanda Myers, Rachel Pedriani, Kristin Relation, Emily Snide, Karlie Sorrell and Sarah Trudo.

Peru Central School: Bryan Bonville, Amanda Bradley, Zachary Cody, Natalia Daly, Justine Hastings, Matthew Henry, Sarah LaBombard, Constance Mandeville, Jonathan Molzan, Keegan O'Hara, Rebecca Osborne, Francine Price, Eli Remillard, Angelene Richards, Jenna Ruff and Laura Scott.

Plattsburgh City Schools: Alexie Csipak, Sarah Csipak, David Ellsworth, Matthew Hewson, Matthew Holden, Antonín Hollop, Matthew Honor, Kimberly Jones, Robert Lanzer, Rachel Luscombe, Alyssa Malone, Morgan McKinney, Matthew Phillips, Mia Quéguiner, Timothy Strack, Kelilah Wolkowicz and Marisa Wolosz.

Saranac Central School: Brandon Bosworth, Kelsey Cook, Brenna Cooper, Kevin Cross, Mary Farnsworth, Joshua Gonyea, Alison Gratto, Ben Kimmel, Lyssa LaCount, Elizabeth LaRosa, Milo Marnes, Kristie Pageau, James Racette, Michael Racette, Kaleigh Rasco, Connor Thomson and Tara Williams.

Recommended for you