October 4, 2012

Voters for Change headquarters opens


---- — SARANAC LAKE — Voters for Change, a local grassroots progressive political group, has opened its campaign headquarters at 11 Woodruff St., the previous location of Ampersound.

Office hours  are 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturdays, noon to 6 p.m. Tuesday to Friday and closed Sundays.

Voters for Change is an issues-based organization promoting positive change and citizen engagement in the political process, according to a press release from the group. Information and analysis will be available in the storefront on key election issues, as well as candidates’ positions and their campaign materials.

In addition, volunteers will be on hand to assist with voter registration and polling information.

Candidates receiving active support from Voters for Change at this time include Tom Catillaz for Harrietstown supervisor, Janet Duprey and Dennis Tarantino for State Assembly, Congressman Bill Owens, Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand and President Barack Obama.

The group’s primary issues this year are: tax policies that strengthen and support the middle class and job creation; creating jobs by investing in clean energy, infrastructure, education and research; reform of corporate taxes, including closing loopholes and eliminating tax provisions that reward offshore outsourcing; rigorous regulation of the financial sector; affordable health care for all; and responsible stewardship of the environment.

Voters for Change was formed during the 2004 presidential race. Since then, the group has maintained storefront election offices in Saranac Lake during the campaigns of 2006, 2008 and 2010.

The organization has also conducted phone-banking, making 10,000 calls for John Kerry in Pennsylvania in 2004, 3,000 calls for Kirsten Gillibrand for Congress in 2006 and 3,000 calls in New Hampshire for Jeanne Shaheen for Senate in 2008.

In 2010, its volunteers made calls for Owens for Congress and Rudy Johnson for New York State Assembly.