November 7, 2013

Online vote reporting delayed in two counties

By DENISE A. RAYMO Press-Republican

---- — MALONE — Using a new reporting system, fielding media calls and juggling diverse computer formats made Tuesday interesting for Franklin County Board of Election commissioners.

Delays in online reporting of tallies resulted there and were also reported at Clinton County Board of Elections in Plattsburgh.

Neither office posted any results until hours after polls closed.


Caffeine and adrenaline were keeping Franklin County Democratic Commissioner Kelly Cox and Republican Commissioner Veronica King going early Wednesday as they began to check and recheck Election Day results.

For the first time, election inspectors this year did not call in results from their polling sites after the election ended at 9 p.m. Tuesday.

The outcome of some races in communities close to Malone trickled in, but commissioners had to wait until about 11:30 p.m. before voting-machine cards and computer tapes from the southern end of the county were physically delivered to the County Courthouse, accompanied by an armed Sheriff’s Department escort.

Election officials in Albany were sent the results, as was the county’s computer server, which didn’t make the information available on the county webpage until well after midnight.

The delays in Franklin and Clinton counties also prompted a number of media calls that commissioners had to field.


Clinton County election officials ran into similar reporting problems, said Republican Commissioner Greg Campbell.

He and Democratic Commissioner Sue Castine were also using the new reporting system, which they said is much more complicated than its predecessor.

“And a week before the election, we were given new downloads for different reports we’d be able to read, but it was not easy, and it was not user friendly,” Campbell said.

The commissioners tested the system before the election, but the data entered for the races then were all zeroes.

“It was when we tried to plug in the numbers that we ran into an issue,” he said.

Castine said the office was able to print the results and fax them out, but the snag was getting them uploaded for viewing on the county’s website.

Campbell said the local information-technology staff was unable to fix the problem, so the commissioners had to be on the phone “an extended amount of time” with the program vendor to find and correct the glitch.

He said the results started going up on the website about 11 p.m.


On Wednesday, commissioners in Franklin County were checking voting-machine tapes to compare them to the unofficial election report generated Tuesday night. 

An audit of a randomly selected community’s election results will be conducted Thursday to again verify that the numbers were correct.


Here are unofficial vote counts in the southern end communities of Franklin County that were not published in Wednesday’s Press-Republican due to the delays:


Town supervisor: Peter Shrope (D, R, C), 175.

Town Council (top two win): Amber McKernan (D, R), 169; Steve Tucker (D), 143; Sarah Knapp (R), 54.

Highway superintendent: Andy Crary (R, D, C), 182.


Town supervisor: Arthur Willman Jr. (R, Integrity), 267.

Town clerk: Lauren Lefebvre (D, R, Integrity), 281.

Town Council (top two win): Tom Bartiss (D), 250; Donald Hamm (R, Integrity), 131; Mary Ellen Keith (I Care Party), 143.

Highway superintendent: Jacques Demars (R, Integrity), 276.

Town justice: Roger Symonds (D), 293.


Town supervisor: Robert Bevilacqua (R, C), 696.

Town clerk: Patricia Gillmett (R, C), 816.

Town Council (top two win): Edward Goetz Jr. (D, Unity), 567; Ronald Keough (R, C), 540; Patricia Meagher (R, C), 515.

Town Council (two-year unexpired term): Howard Riley (D, Unity), 549; Gerald Gillmett (R, C), 346.

Highway superintendent: Craig Donaldson (R, C), 699.


Town supervisor: Marcel “Mickey” Webb (R), 79.

Town clerk/tax collector: Laurie McGill (R), 78.

Town Council (two seats): Philip Durkin (R), 73; David Perry (R), 72.

Highway superintendent: Andrew McGill (R), 78.


Town supervisor: Roger Amell (D, Maple Leaf), 508; Patricia Littlefield (R, C, Bright Future, Independence Party), 819.

Town Council (top two win): John Quinn (D, Maple Leaf), 710; Sabrina Shipman (D, Maple Leaf), 458; Michael Dechene (R, C, Independence Party), 766; Donald Dew Jr. (R, C), 491.

Town Council (two-year unexpired term): Eric Shaheen (R, C), 394; Kathleen Lefebvre, (D, Maple Leaf), 833.


Mayor: Paul Maroun (R, D, C), 576.

Village trustee (top two win): Richard Donah (R, C, Independence Party), 490; Leon Leblanc Sr. (R, C, Independence Party), 542.

Village justice (two-year unexpired term): Christopher Delair (R, C, Independence Party), 640.

Email Denise A.