December 27, 2012

Flashback: Dec. 28, 2012


---- —

10 YEARS AGO (2002)

Leah Trombley, Heidi Dragoon, Debbie Davis, Katrina Liska and Adreanne Labonte are named to the All-State team in girls’ soccer.

Brittany Jarvis comes up with 13 points and nine steals and Abby Lambert chips in with 12 points as Northeastern Clinton defeats Saranac, 68-39, in a battle of CVAC unbeatens. Sabrina Thayer leads the Chiefs with 13 points.

Sophomore Brandon Siskavich scores 22 points to lead Peru past PHS, 68-39.

Mark Rabideau drops in 15 points as Seton Catholic edges Ticonderoga, 46-44, in a showdown of unbeatens. Adam Porter nets 22 for the Sentinels.

Beekmantown sophomore Owen Kelly notches his 100th career point in a 7-3 hockey victory over Burnt Hills.

MVP Krysta Cutting scores 20 points and adds 16 rebounds with five blocks to lead Elizabethtown-Lewis to a 48-33 triumph over Chazy in the Paul Stradley Memorial Tournament final. Jamie Evens contributes 10 points and 10 rebounds.

Ryan Lynch scores four goals to spark PHS to a 9-3 victory over Sweet Home in Batavia.

20 YEARS AGO (1992)

Stephen Vogel tallies 19 points, Alex Moore adds 18 and Ryan Sherman tosses in seven in the fourth quarter as Westport rallies to defeat Crown Point, 62-58. Doug Allen leads the Panthers with 19.

Dan Despres contributes two goals and an assist while Brian Despres records 33 saves in goal as PHS nips OFA, 4-3.

Suzanne Frenyea fires in 38 points and grabs 10 rebounds to lead Beekmantown over Chateaugay, 54-40. Paula Wiese leads the Bulldogs with 10 points.

Kyle Kirby scores 18 points to spark Franklin Academy to a 68-65 triple-overtime victory over Chateaugay. Matt Campbell counters with 23 for the Bulldogs.

Joe Nixon burns the baskets for 45 points as AuSable Valley scores a 58-51 come-from-behind victory over Chateauguay (Que.) Valley Regional.

Erin Pratt nets 23 points and pulls down 23 rebounds while Mika Conley leads all scorers with 30 points in Westport’s 89-26 win over Willsboro. Nanette Sherman adds 18 points with six steals.

25 YEARS AGO (1987)

Eighth-grader Julie Moore scores 18 points and grabs 12 rebounds to lead Westport over Schroon Lake, 51-46.

Greg Boulrice scores 18 points and Jon Rushford, 17, as Northern Adirondack tops Saranac, 58-56. Ray Beebe leads the Chiefs with 14.

Shane Ferras scores three goals to spur Plattsburgh State on to an 11-4 victory over Vita Hasten of Sweden in exhibition hockey.

Kelley Gooley tallies 15 points to lead Northeastern Clinton to a 51-33 triumph over Beekmantown.

Mark Boule scores four goals and Chuck McGee turns in a stellar effort in goal to lead MAI to a 5-3 win over PHS. Mike Boule also scores for the Mounties while Kendall Matott, Kevin Sullivan and Garth Brown connect for PHS.

Keith Clark scores twice, including once shorthanded, to pace Lake Placid to a 10-3 win over St. Joseph of Pittsfield, Mass. Jared Plank also gets two goals.

Jeff Scharf contributes one goal and two assists while Troy Collins makes 36 saves as Franklin Academy dumps St. Lawrence Central, 5-3.

30 YEARS AGO (1982)

Chris Speziali shakes loose in the second half to score 14 points, enabling unbeaten Schroon Lake to pull away from Elizabethtown-Lewis and to a 60-49 win. Rich Hall and Steve Marnell each contribute 16 points, while Scott Hutchins leads the Lions with 12.

Steve LaDuke torches the nets for 44 points in Dannemora’s 69-58 triumph over Westport. Pete Petrashune drops in 16 for the Black Knights while Ed Shappy leads the Eagles with 13.

Junior Joel Revette scores 26 points in Saranac’s 69-39 victory over Beekmantown. In the junior-varsity contest, brothers Tom and Mike Ryan meet for the first time as coaches. Tom’s Saranac JV squad prevails, 67-36.

Gary Manning and Jesse Thompson come up big in overtime for Ticonderoga as the Sentinels edge PHS, 48-44.

The McDonough brothers put on a show to lead Keene over Long Lake 65-58. Darrin scores 28 points go to with 16 rebounds while Darryl chips in with 12 points and 15 rebounds.

Saranac Lake, trailing 3-1 midway through the third period, rallies to defeat PHS 4-3 in the final of the Redskins’ tournament. Troy Farmer’s second goal of the period with 35 seconds to play knots it at three and then Rick Yorkey scores from John Goodrow with eight seconds left to lift the hosts to a 4-3 win. John Garrant scores twice and Peter Sullivan, once, for PHS.

40 YEARS AGO (1972)

Danny Thomas scores 16 points to spark PHS to a 52-41 victory over Beekmantown. Joe Lavarnway leads the Eagles with 16.

Mickey Carpenter nets 22 points in St. John’s 65-51 loss to Rutland, Vt.

In a match-up of the two MVL scoring leaders, Crown Point’s Glen Lang drops in 25 points to lead the Panthers to a 78-74 win over Willsboro. Mike Jerdo hits for 23 for the Warriors.

Frank Hughes scores 22 points and Rich Schumaker adds 17 to lead Ticonderoga to a 76-66 win over Northern Adirondack. Pat Defayette tallies 21 for the Bobcats.

Peru’s George Duprey wins the Grand Prize in the Muskellunge Division of the Genesee Fishing Contest for his 48-pound catch.

50 YEARS AGO (1962)

Walt Schneider scores 27 points to lead unbeaten MAI to a 67-49 triumph over St. Joseph’s of Malone. Tom Gorey leads the Purple Tide with 13.

Allen LaFave fires in 37 points, Gary LaBarge adds 27 and Larry LaBarge, 23, as unbeaten Ellenburg cruises past Mooers, 114-61. Mangine and Rabideau each score 28 for Mooers.

Tom King collects 27 points and Jerry LaRose adds 20 as Dannemora downs Mooers 67-62. Bob Mangine’s 26 points pace Mooers.

Tom Canning, Mike Rock, Carl Goddeau and Clancy all remain undefeated as unbeaten Saranac tops Moriah, 43-13, in wrestling. Johnson, Johns and Miller all post wins for the Vikings.

In a city showdown, Ron Dumas nets 25 points to spur MAI to a 58-48 victory over OLVA. Terry Polhemus and Carl King each score 17 for the Purple Foxes.

Alex Benware scores 26 points and Mike Shusda, 21, in Lyon Mountain’s 79-76 triumph over Saranac. Mike Holland leads the Chiefs with 23.

60 YEARS AGO (1952)

Wayne Benson drops in 19 points to lead PHS to a 45-25 victory over MAI. Norm Landry leads the Mount with seven.

Paro and Parry each score 17 as St. Joseph’s of Malone downs Dannemora, 65-52. LaForest scores 14 in a losing cause.

Steve Trybendis and Bill Brennan each score 21 points to pace Mineville to a 71-51 win over Ticonderoga. John Mero hits for 17 for the Sentinels.

Brunell nets 21 and G. Wood, 14, as Altona defeats Champlain, 61-51. Pelkey leads Champlain with 16.

Gooley scores 20 points and Gload, 14, to lead St. Mary’s of Champlain to a 57-45 win over Mooers. Hebert hits for 17 and Kingsbury, 12, for Mooers.

Cliff “Tip” Hayes puts together a four-game series of 825 to win the Bowling Sweepstakes at Nash’s Recreation Parlor. Eddie Rascoe is runner-up with an 803 score.

70 YEARS AGO (1942)

Lamberton tallies 21 points and Dean, 10, as Mooers defeats Rouses Point, 39-21. Nolette nets seven for the Pointers.

Brooks scores 12 points with Ryan and Layhee each adding 10 as Dannemora downs St. John’s, 39-36. Jarvis leads St. John’s with 13.

Stokes scores 19 points and Flanders, 10, to spur PHS on to a 43-26 win over MAI. Alexander hits for 10 points for the Mount.

The Mooers Bombers beat the Ellenburg Teachers, 49-31, with MacDonald, a Syracuse University JV player, scoring 19 for the winners and B. Jubert and Roberts chipping in with 12 apiece. Case leads the Teachers with 14 while Wiley scores 12.