January 6, 2013

Indians repeat in Peru Wrestling Classic


PERU — Peru co-coach Mike Hogan had reason to be pleased Saturday night.

The host Indians placed seven in the finals, winning six, and defended their title in the 44th-Annual Peru Wrestling Classic.

For all the high school sports news...

High School Sports Magazine


Peru finished with 253.5 points to outdistance Dolgeville, which finished second with 206. Rounding out the top five were Massena in third with 126.5, John Jay fourth with 124.5 and Saranac fifth with 121.

“It was a very good day for us,” said Hogan. “The kids wrestled well and it was a lot of fun.

“I’m proud of our team, I’m proud of the teams who came here to wrestle, our Booster Club did a terrific job and Coach (Gary) Edwards was great. Everybody helped make the tournament a success and the best thing about it was none of our wrestlers got hurt.”

Leading the way for the Indians were Jordan Bushey at 138 pounds and Troy Seymour at 170.

Bushey won a very tough weight class with a 7-3 victory over Massena standout Isaiah Perry in the finals. It was chosen as the Most Exciting Match and Bushey also won the Outstanding Wrestler Award for weight classes 99-138.

“Jordan was great,” said Hogan. “The Perry kid had beaten him two years in a row at the tournament. Perry’s a wonderful kid. He’s a credit to our tournament.”

Seymour, meanwhile, continued his unbeaten season with a 7-1 victory over Ogdensburg Free Academy’s Andrew Cole in the finals. Seymour was chosen as the Outstanding Wrestler in weight classes 145-285 and also became the fifth wrestler in tourney history to win five championships.

Other weight class winners for the Indians included Kyler Agoney at 113, Nick Forget at 126, Noah Phillips at 145 and Luke McKee at 220. Forget won the award for Least Time on the Mat.

The Indians’ Colin Hogan (106) also made it to the finals, but was decisioned, 6-0.

“We did a good job,” said Hogan. “Our wrestlers usually do pretty well when they make it to the finals.”

Dolgeville followed the Indians with five champions — Danny Fox at 106, Ben Nastovski at 120, Triston Engle at 152, Richard Lyon at 160 and Kasey Foster at 189.

Saranac, meanwhile, was led by Austin LaTulip, who won the 132-pound class, and Codie Gillette, who placed third in the tough 138-pound class. When Gillette decisioned Hudson’s Pat O’Connell for third place, he won his 100th-career varsity match.

“We didn’t have our best day,” said Saranac coach Heath Smith. “But Austin, who has wrestled well all season, won his weight class, and Codie got win No. 100. Paul Herrera took third at 220 and did a good job. Chad Brooks finished fourth at 113 and that was the first time he’s placed in a tournament.”

Other weight class winners included Ogdensburg Free Academy’s Tanner Lapiene at 99, Hudson’s Victor Zabalu at 195 and Massena’s Nolan Terrance at 285.

AuSable Valley’s top finishers included Dylan Baker fourth at 120, Kodie Simpson fourth at 160 and Kenneth Rivers fourth at 285. Michael Thompson also placed at 220.

Hogan and Edwards were winners of the Coaches Award for having the most wrestlers in the finals.

44th-Annual Peru Wrestling Classic

Team scores

1, Peru, 253.5. 2, Dolgeville, 206. 3, Massena, 126.5. 4, John Jay, 124.5. 5, Saranac, 121. 6, Ogdensburg Free Academy, 112. 7, Hudson, 109. 8, St. Johnsbury, 91.5. 9, Middlebury, 80. 10, Essex Junction, 64. 11, AuSable Valley, 63. 12, Canton, 56. 13, Spaulding, 53.5. 14, Peru B, 35. 15, Colcester, 22. 16, Massena B, 20. 17, Harwood, 18. 18, North Salem, 17. 19, Ogdensburg B, 11. 20, Canton B, 10. 21, Saranac B, 8. 22, Middlebury B, 7. 23, Dolgeville B, 6. 24, Hudson B, 5. 25, Peru D, 3.

Individual weight classes

99- 1, Tanner Lapiene (OFA) dec. Noah Handy (Dolgeville), 2-1. 3, Ryan Brown (Canton) dec. Brandon Goddeau (Peru), 12-0. 5, Johnny Devins (Saranac) dec. Gaige Cosme (Peru B), 6-0.

106- 1, Danny Fox (Dolgeville) dec. Colin Hogan (Peru), 6-0. 3, Brody Sheppard (OFA) dec. Michael Brown (Massena), 12-10, OT. 5, Kyle Ling (Canton) dec. Kyle Desabrais (Middlebury), 6-4.

113- 1, Kyler Agoney (Peru) dec. Brandon Tyson (Spaulding), 3-2. 3, Skyler Cameron (Massena) dec. Chad Brooks (Saranac), 4-3. 5, Kyle Goodell (St. Johnsbury) dec. Hayden Larock (OFA), 17.4.

120- 1, Ben Nastovski (Dolgeville) pinned Dominic Hahr (St. Johnsbury), :56. 3, Cody Jolley (Spaulding) pinned Dylan Baker (AuSable Valley), :52. 5, Ethan Feazelle (Peru) dec. Richard Armstrong (Saranac), 1-0.

126- 1, Nick Forget (Peru) tech. fall over Brian Kerschner (John Jay), 3:40. 3, David Stickney (Peru B) pinned Steven Gross (Dolgeville), 1:17. 5, Johnny Perreault (St. Johnsbury) won by forfeit over Vinny Bonina (Hudson).

132- 1, Austin LaTulip (Saranac) dec. Tim Parker (Hudson), 5-3. 3, Landon Laughlin (Massena) dec. Tanner Phillips (Peru), 7-4. 5, James Dagesse (St. Johnsbury) won by default over Cody Bond (Canton).

138- 1, Jordan Bushey (Peru) dec. Isaiah Perry (Massena), 7-3. 3, Codie Gillette (Saranac) dec. Pat O’Connell (Hudson), 3-2. 5, Tyler Richards (Dolgeville) dec. Duncan Lord (Spaulding), 4-2.

145- 1, Noah Phillips (Peru) dec. Bailey Phelps (OFA), 5-2. 3, Graham Bocklet (John Jay) dec. Ian Nagle (Dolgeville), 9-4. 5, Will Marcil (Saranac) dec. Dan Elman (Massena), 2-1.

152- 1, Triston Engle (Dolgeville) tech. fall over Dylan Shattuck (St. Johnsbury), 5:08. 3, Caleb Feazelle (Peru) pinned Teddy Fleming (North Salem), 1:35. 5, Hunter Perrine (Massena) injury default over James Black (Saranac).

160- 1, Richard Lyon (Dolgeville) pinned David Rogers (Hudson), 5:02. 3, Jerry Barich (Colchester) pinned Kodie Simpson (AuSable Valley), :14. 5, Brennon Silver (St. Johnsbury) pinned Micah Dramgoole (Peru), 2:31.

170- 1, Troy Seymour (Peru) dec. Andrew Cole (OFA), 7-1. 3, Kegan Pearsall (Harwood), dec. Skyler Shute (Middlebury), 5-0. 5, Jimmy Doolittle (Dolgeville) dec. Alex Cole (OFA B), 9-4.

189- 1, Kasey Foster (Dolgeville) pinned Jakob Trautwein (Middlebury), 2:30. 3, Bob Baraka (Essex Junction) dec. Jose Telles (Hudson), 2:42. 5, Billy Patti (John Jay) pinned Joe Ferrera (Massena), :13.

195- 1, Victor Zabalu (Hudson) dec. Nick Henry (Essex Junction), 1-0. 2, Billy Gossett (John Jay) dec. Gabe Laberge (Middlebury), 5-2. 5, Thomas Lumbard (Canton) pinned Taylor Avanzato (Peru), 2:42.

220- 1, Luke McKee (Peru) dec. Louis Talia (John Jay), 3-1.

285- 1, Nolan Terrance (Massena) pinned Joe Ramada (Essex Junction), 5:16. 3, Ethan Smith (John Jay) pinned Kenneth Rivers (AuSable Valley), :30. 5, Walter Odell (Middlebury) pinned Joel Hinkley (Massena B), 1:19.

NAC third in Central Square Wrestling Tournament

CENTRAL SQUARE — The Bobcats wrestled seven duals as part of the Central Square Wrestling Tournament on Friday and Saturday.

Northern Adirondack finished 5-2 on the weekend and finished third in the tournament. South Jefferson, which went a perfect 7-0, captured first, while host Central Square, which defeated the Bobcats (55-29), also ended up 5-2 but took second place.

Northern Adirondack captured wins of 61-12 over Chenango Valley, 67-10 over Watertown, 36-34 over Cortland, 60-20 over Herkimer and 55-22 over Tioga.

The Bobcats other loss came to overall winner South Jefferson, 60-12.

Justin Kellett had a strong tournament for Northern Adirondack, finishing the weekend undefeated. Kellett, at the 160 pound weight class, was a perfect 7-0 in the tournament.

Matt Lashway and Austin Trombley were also major factors for the Bobcats. Each wrestler finished with a 6-1 record. Both wrestlers lone loss came at the hands of South Jefferson.


1, South Jefferson, 7-0. 2, Central Square, 5-2. 3, Northern Adirondack, 5-2. 4, Cortland, 5-2. 5, Tioga, 3-4. 6, Chenango Valley, 2-5. 7, Herkimer, 1-6. 8, Watertown, 0-7.