July 21, 2013

Five supervisors challenged in Essex County

ELIZABETHTOWN — So far, elections in Essex County this year will see races for supervisor in only five out of 16 towns.

Ticonderoga, Elizabethtown, Westport, Minerva, and Willsboro have contests for that position up for vote in November, while there are council races in Elizabethtown, Jay, Minerva, Moriah, Newcomb, North Hudson, Schroon, Ticonderoga, Westport and Willsboro.

Independent petitions are not due until Aug. 20.

The supervisor slots are not up in Chesterfield and North Hudson.

Only seven towns — Moriah, Lewis, Willsboro, Westport, Schroon, Wilmington and Ticonderoga — have local offices on the ballot for the Tuesday, Sept. 10, primary election. Polls will be open from noon to 9 p.m. to vote for candidates on the Republican and Democrat party lines.

Here’s the overall election breakdown so far:


County District Attorney: Kristy Sprague (R-C), incumbent.

County Coroner (unexpired term): Francis Whitelaw (R), incumbent.


Town Council (one seat): Clayton Barber (R).


Supervisor: Charles Harrington (R), incumbent.

Town Council (two seats): Walter Worth (R); Sherlene Simpson Barrows (R).

Highway superintendent: Eugene Ingleston Jr. (R), incumbent.


Supervisor: Noel Merrihew III (R); Margaret Bartley (D), incumbent.

Town Clerk/Tax Collector: Debra Brooks (R), incumbent.

Town justice: William Garrison (R), incumbent; Michael Doyle (R).

Town Council (two seats): Evelyn Hatch (D), incumbent; William Wright Jr. (R); Richard Olcott (R).

Highway superintendent: Michael Drew (R), incumbent.


Supervisor: Incumbent Sharon Boisen runs as an independent, with petitions due Aug. 20.

Town Council (two seats): Bryan Garvey (R); Clair LaPine (R).

Highway superintendent: Bradley French (R).


Supervisor: Randy Douglas (D), incumbent.

Town clerk: Beatrice Pelkey (R), incumbent.

Town Council (two seats): Archie Depo (D), incumbent; Amy Shalton (R), incumbent; Frederick Balzac (Green).

Town justice (four years): Rosemond Lincoln-Day (Green).

Highway superintendent: Christopher Garrow (D), incumbent; William Lincoln Sr. (R).

Tax collector: Valerie Coolidge (R).

Text Only | Photo Reprints
CVPH Job Opportunities