Sports Shorts: July 6, 2013 - Press-Republican: Sports Shorts

Sports Shorts: July 6, 2013

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Saturday, July 6, 2013 3:23 am

BYC basketball camp starts Monday

BEEKMANTOWN — The Beekmantown Youth Commission basketball camp will be held from noon to 2:30 p.m. July 8 to 12. The camp is for players in grades three through nine and will take place at the Beekmantown High gym.

Participants will be taught a variety of fundamental skills as well as the importance of sportsmanship. Register on the first day of camp at 11:45 a.m. or online at


Gove named Academic All-American, granted scholarship

PLATTSBURGH — Teal Gove of the Plattsburgh State women’s hockey was named Capital One Academic All-American of the Year for the Division III Women’s At-Large Program.

The Berwick, Ont., native becomes the first Plattsburgh State student-athlete to be selected for this honor.

Gove was also named to the Capital One Academic All-America Division III Women’s At-Large First Team, which is a follow-up to her Third-Team selection in 2012.

The team is selected annually by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).

Gove was also one of 58 student-athletes to receive an NCAA Winter Postgraduate Scholarship. Each winter, student-athletes from across all divisions each receive an award of $7,500.

Gove graduated in May with a bachelor’s of science in biology, maintaining a 3.83 grade-point average during her time at Plattsburgh State. She will be continuing her studies at McGill University in Montreal, Que.

To be eligible for Academic All-America consideration, a student-athlete must be a varsity starter or key reserve, maintain a cumulative grade-point average of 3.3 on a scale of 4.0, have reached sophomore athletic and academic standings at his/her current institution and be nominated by his/her sports information director.

To qualify for an NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship, student-athletes must excel academically and athletically, be in their final year of eligibility and plan to pursue graduate study. Student-athletes must also maintain at least a 3.2 grade-point average and be nominated by their institution’s faculty athletics representative.


3-D target shoot to be held Sunday

WEST CHAZY — The Pine Ridge Bowman will be holding a 30-target 3-D shoot Sunday at the West Chazy range. Registration begins at 8 a.m. and ends at 10 a.m. Participants should bring bows, boots and bug spray.


Beauharnois, Rasco fastest in time trials

POINT AU ROCHE — Bruce Beauharnois rode the 10-mile course in a time of 22 minutes, 14 seconds to win the bicycle time trial ahead of Eric Bollt and Jerry Macner on Wednesday. The top woman was Erin Rasco, who finished fifth overall in 26:13.

The time trials run every Wednesday evening at the Point au Roche firehouse on Lakeshore Rd. The event is free and open to all novice and experienced riders, road bikes or mountain bikes. Helmets are required, and riders must obey the rules of the road. Sign-up starts around 5:30 p.m. and the first rider starts at 6 p.m. Riders interested in the 25-mile event should plan to start 15 to 30 minutes earlier.

10 mile

1, Bruce Beauharnois, 22:14; 2, Eric Bollt, 23:21; 3, Jerry Macner, 24:26; 4, Ed Armstrong, 26:01; 5, Erin Rasco, 26:13; 6, Lynne Murray, 26:16; 7, Stacey Brooks, 28:42; 8, Donnie Armstrong, 28:47; 9, Scott Bollt, 29:19; 10, Ralph Senecal, 29:25; 11, Sandy Rasco, 29:27; 12, Paul Rorbah, 29:54; 13, Art Rasco, 30:15; 14, Sean Tyrell 30:34; 15, Joe Gardner, 34:13; 16, Stephanie West, 35:09.


Plattsburgh Soccer Camps Option 1 begins Monday

PLATTSBURGH — Option 1 of the Plattsburgh Soccer Camps at the U.S. Oval will run from 9 to 11 a.m. July 8 to 10 for players ages three to six. Call Karin Sherman at 569-0333 to register. Option, for ages six to 13, and Option 3, for ages 14 to 18, will run July 22 to 26. Call Chris Waterbury at 570-7727 to register.


Hannah’s Hope/Mannix tourney announces results

PERU — Thirty-one teams participated in the Hannah’s Hope/Mike Mannix Tournament held at Adirondack Golf and Country Club June 30. There were three divisions for prizes. The tournament committee expresses gratitude to all participants, volunteers, sponsors, prize donors and the others who made generous donations.

Mixed Division

1. Peter Sullivan, MaryEllen Sullivan, Sidney Garrant, Fred Forkey

2. Bob Dandrow, JoAnne Dandrow, Mike Maille, Barbara Maille

3. (2 tiebreaker) Katelynn Mannix, Dan Mannix, Steven Broadwell, Dennis Curtin

4. Brian Watts, Mike Carpenter, Pete Tromblee, Betsy Vinencio

5. (3 tiebreaker) Joe Koscak, Jay Barich, Ada Dashnaw, Kim Passino

Men’s Division

1. (2 tiebreaker) Matt Sames, Ron McGee, Gary Finney, Earl Brunell

2. Joel Siskavich, Jamie Gilmore, Kyle Cringle, Steve Fowler

3. (3 tiebreaker) Craig Favaro, Tom Maggy, Billy Siskavich, Ed Dubrey

Women’s Division

1. Sue fish, Tricia Chase, Betty Recore, JoAnne Jessey

2. Lynn Galm, Liz Jacques, Patti Stark, Connie Hickey

Don't Miss This



Click on photo to view gallery with latest photos