Flashback: Feb. 28, 2012 - Press-Republican: Flashback

Flashback: Feb. 28, 2012

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Tuesday, February 28, 2012 2:23 am

10 YEARS AGO (2002)

▶ Matt Bezio scores 13 points and Ryan Earle, 11, as Peru tops Saranac 53-40 in the Class B final, giving the Indians their first sectional basketball title in 14 years.

▶ Sophomore Mark Rabideau hits for 20 points and teams with Kyle Phifer to limit Adam Porter to 8 points as Seton Catholic knocks off Ticonderoga 45-33 in the Class C final.

▶ Kristin LaVallie comes up with 18 points and 17 rebounds to lead Ticonderoga to a 56-47 win and its first Class C championship in 13 years.

▶ Eighth-grader Courtney Coryea contributes 13 points and 20 rebounds as Northeastern Clinton claims the girls' Class B crown with a 46-34 win.

▶ Ticonderoga's Jay Wells sets a Plattsburgh State record of 14:52.74 for the indoor 5,000 meters while finishing fourth at the ECAC Championships.

▶ Jason Lapham places fourth, Brad Malark comes in fifth and Jody Ashline, sixth, at the state wrestling championships.

▶ Ian Stanton's fourth goal of the game, with 2:32 to play, lifts PHS to a 5-4 win over James I. O'Neill and into the state Div. II final for the third time in 5 years.

▶ Chris Pelerin of Ticonderoga bowls a 269, the third-highest game, overall in the state scholastic tournament.

20 YEARS AGO (1992)

▶ Jeff Haubner scores 16 points and Brett Paepke, 10, to lead PHS past Beekmantown 67-42 in the Class B title game.

▶ Jason Boulrice scores on a driving layup with 8 seconds left to give NAC a 39-38 win over Ticonderoga for the Class C crown.

▶ Tom Mazzotti scores 16 points, Boomer Sprague contributes 12 with 20 rebounds and Bart Swan adds 10 points as Moriah ends a 16-year title drought with a 52-46 triumph over defending champion Schroon Lake in the Class D final.

▶ Mike Maloney, Rick Hall, Paul Pfaff and Doug Griffith lead Malone to its first Section X wrestling title in 18 years.

▶ Jeremy Collins, Chris Howard and Matt Taylor win their weight classes to lead Saranac to a 6-point win over NAC for the Section VII wrestling crown.

▶ Ryan Flanagan knocks in Chris Carter's rebound 16 seconds into overtime to give Seton Catholic a 4-3 win over Massena in the Div. II hockey final.

▶ Jamie Begor's overtime score lifts Northeastern Clinton to an 8-7 win over Clifton-Fine in Div. III hockey.

25 YEARS AGO (1987)

E Todd Defayette nets 3 goals as St. John's defeats MAI 6-3 to win the Div. II hockey tyitle.

▶ Jason Dolbeck hits for 22 points and Dan Brod adds 12 as Ticonderoga rallies to beat Saranac 72-61 in a Class C semifinal. Doug Beebe leads the Chiefs with 17.

▶ Pat Patnode scores 17 points, Craig Earich chips in with 15 and Mike Dixon adds 13 as Dannemora downs Willsboro 60-50 in a Class D semifinal. Pete Carson leads the Warriors with 17 points.

▶ Mark Haubner sinks a 20-footer with 2 seconds left to give Plattsburgh High a 54-53 win over Peru in Class B. Ev Williams leads the Hornets with 15.

▶ Mike Boulrice and Jim Donah tally 14 apiece to lead Northern Adirondack to a 66-57 win over St. John's in a Class C semifinal. Steve McFadden paces the Irish with 16.

30 YEARS AGO (1982)

▶ Scott Parker's 5-4 upset of top-seeded Keith Provost at 126 pounds propels Peru to a 59-point victory over NAC in the Section VII wrestling championships. Bob Harris is named the Most Outstanding Wrestler while Mike Prenoveau, John Barrett and Darryl L'Heureux repeat for Peru. Saranac's Joe Perry and Neil LaVigne of Beekmantown are also repeat champions.

▶ South Glens Falls downs Ticonderoga 41-37 in the title game of the North Warren girls' basketball tournament. Shelly Russell scores 12 points and Sue Kelly, 10, for Ticonderoga.

▶ Doug Hackett, Keith Brelia and Gary Finney all score 12 points as AuSable Valley shocks heavily favored Ticonderoga 46-44. Bill Brennan, in his final high-school game, scores 17 for the Sentinels.

▶ Jack Phillips scores 3 goals; however, St. John's falls to Troy LaSalle 4-3 in overtime in the Class A Eastern Regional hockey playoffs. The Irish outshoot LaSalle 44-25.

40 YEARS AGO (1972)

▶ Chris Murnane scores 18 points and Greg Buckley, 17, as St. John's upsets previously unbeaten AuSable Valley 76-52 to win the CVL championship. Ed Millie leads the Patriots with 11 points while Mark Allen adds 10.

▶ John Zerrahn and Mike Washington each score 12 points in Peru's 55-40 victory over Northeastern Clinton.

▶ George Sayward collects 19 points as Willsboro knocks off Dannemora 75-57 in the MVL semifinals while Elizabethtown-Lewis, led by Dave Olcott's 21 points, downs Westport 73-63 in the other semi.

▶ Jim Lacey scores 28 points and Dan Barr, 23, to lead The Store Tavern to a 109-90 triumph over The Pumas in the City Men's Basketball League final. Ben Hailey chips in with 19 points and Bob Barney adds 17. Butch Eddy leads the Pumas with 27 and Woodward nets 25.

50 YEARS AGO (1962)

▶ Beekmantown's Jack Glasgow hits for 40 points in a 67-49 victory over Ticonderoga.

▶ Ed LaMay, Tom Canning, Ron Miller and Tom Goddeau all win their weight classes to lead Saranac to the Section VII wrestling championship. Larry Dominie and Bob Sunderland of Ellenburg finish first while Andy Shannon, Bob Brown and Mike Beerman of Plattsburgh High emerge as champions. Peru's Ron Fountain, Bob Torrance of AuSable Forks and Keeseville's Dick Labounty also win their classes.

▶ Mineville beats Keeseville 63-57 and Ticonderoga 75-57 to win a 3-team playoff for second place in the Champlain Valley League's Southern Division. Homer Barcomb, Bob Mitchell and Ralph Paden lead the Red Flame.

60 YEARS AGO (1952)

E Johnny Podres, 19, may become the first Brooklyn Dodger to make the biggest jump of all, from Class D to the majors in one year. Podres is coming off a 21-3, 1.67 ERA season at Hazard, Ky.

▶ Hebert of Mooers and Higgins of Peru each net 12 points to lead the Clinton County League All-Stars to a 48-46 victory over Champlain. Pelkey tallies 16 and Bechard, 13, for Champlain.

▶ Earl Bennett drops in 15 points to lead Keeseville past Dannemora 60-45. Frank Dukette nets 23 for Dannemora.

▶ Genier scores 16 points, E. Hargett, 13, and Brennan, 12, as Mineville tops MAI 55-38. Perry leads MAI with 10.

▶ Calvin Powers pours in 28 points to lead Lyon Mountain over St. John's 56-54.

70 YEARS AGO (1942)

E Jim Bickford steers his Saranac Lake Red Devils bobsled team to victory in the Lowell Thomas Trophy race and a sweep of the major 4-man events at Mt. Van Hoevenberg. Joe Meconi's AuSable Forks team comes in second, followed by Monroe "Monk" Flagg, also of Saranac Lake.

Don't Miss This



Click on photo to view gallery with latest photos