December 29, 2012

Traffic-diversion money divided

MALONE — Franklin County and some of its municipalities will split $57,600 in fees collected from drivers who committed minor traffic offenses.

The District Attorney’s Office Traffic Diversion Program, created in June 2011, allows drivers to avoid court appearances by paying $150 and passing a defensive-driving course.

The idea saves prosecutors from appearing before local judges, who always have full calendars, and places the financial responsibility on the offenders.

Participants must have a valid license and no convictions for a moving violation in the past 18 months.

Ineligible drivers are those convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs; reckless driving; aggravated unlicensed operation of a motor vehicle and any section of the transportation law; passing a stopped school bus; crashes that result in physical or serious-physical injury or death; leaving the scene of an accident; leaving the scene of a personal-injury accident; or an offense committed in a school or construction zone.

The county keeps half the money, which is $28,800 this year, and the rest will be disbursed as follows: Bangor, $1,350; Bellmont, $825; Bombay, $750; Brighton, $600; Burke, $675; Chateaugay, $1,575; Constable, $225; Dickinson, $825; Duane, $2,400; Fort Covington, $1,050; Franklin, $1,500; Harrietstown, $750; Moira, $975; Santa Clara, $975; Saranac Lake, $75; Malone, $6,450; Tupper Lake (village), $75; Tupper Lake (town), $5,925; Waverly, $825; and Westville, $975.


In other business, Franklin County legislators:

▶ Set Thursday, Jan. 3, as the date of their organizational meeting for 2013. It will be held at 10 a.m. in the Legislative Chambers on the fourth floor of the County Courthouse. Legislators will select a new County Legislature chairman that day.

▶ Appointed Amanda Welch to a three-year terms on the Franklin County Youth Advisory Board, to expire Dec. 19, 2015.

▶ Appointed Sue Patterson to a three-year term on the Franklin County Traffic Safety Board, to expire Dec. 31, 2015.

▶ Appointed Mary Shantie to a three-year term on the Franklin County Youth Advisory Board, to expire Dec. 31, 2015.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
CVPH Job Opportunities