Students: March 6, 2013 - Press-Republican: Local News

Students: March 6, 2013

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, March 6, 2013 2:28 am

College of St. Rose in Albany named the following local students to its Dean’s List: Andrew Matott of Rouses Point, Kaitlyn Hardman of Morrisonville, Paige Southwick of Champlain and Jonathan Ferguson of Ticonderoga.

Hartwick College in Oneonta named the following local students to its Dean’s List: Dane Alexander of Fort Covington, son of Donald and Karen Alexander; Devin Martin of Westport, son of Kellie King; Alexa Melendez of Westport, daughter of Samantha Melendez; Kyle Murrayof Saranac Lake, son of Carolyn and John Murray and Emily Peterson of Lewis, daughter of Luanne Peterson.

Paul Smith’s College in Paul Smiths named the following local students to its Dean’s List: Melissa Blow of Ellenburg; Nicholas Desroches of Morrisonville; Jonathan Higginsof Paul Smiths; Hannah Huber of Rainbow Lake; William Martino of Saranac Lake;Joshua Pierce of Elizabethtown; Cullen Zukasof Jay; Timothy Atwell of Saranac Lake;Jeffrey Bigelow of Willsboro; Emily Brosseauof Peru; Mark Calderone of Paul Smiths; Sarah Desrosier of Paradox; Connor Filion of Morrisonville; James Finizio of Redford; Marin George of Saranac Lake; Brianne Graham of Saranac Lake; Christopher Griffin of Keene Valley; Frederick Hapgood of Mooers; Michael Huyler of Ray Brook; Brett Leidner of Plattsburgh; Ashena Molborn of Saranac Lake;Derek Osgood of Saranac Lake; Joseph Podhirny of Vermontville; Quinn Shabow of Saranac Lake; Jacob Sporn of Bloomingdale;Evan Sullivan of Bloomingdale; Shelby Treadwell of Saranac Lake and Kristopher Wilson of St. Regis Falls.

St. Michael’s College in Colchester, Vt., named the following local students to its Dean’s List: Kelcey Briggs, daughter of Edward and Wendy Briggs of Peru; Marlee Brown, daughter of Deborah and LeRoy Brown of Morrisonville;Cara Chapman, daughter of Stacie Chapman of Schuyler Falls and Jeffrey Chapman of Plattsburgh; James Hodge and Nathan Hodge,sons of Dale Hodge of Plattsburgh; Devin Latremore, daughter of Amanda and Christopher Latremore of Chazy; William Lowe, son of Arthur and Linda Lowe of North Hudson;Atlas Manning, son of Karen Manning of Willsboro; Chase Pellerin, son of Bruce and Susan Pellerin of Plattsburgh; Katharine Tooke, daughter of William Tooke of Plattsburgh and Robin Klemick of Chazy; andMarci Wood, daughter of Brenda Whalen-Wood and William Wood of Chateaugay.

The following local students have received scholarships at Clarkson University, Potsdam: Jessica D. Burl of Burke, senior honors student majoring in mathematics and chemical engineering; Rosemary A. Harrington Class of 2015 Share Clarkson Direct Scholarship; Evan M. Tomkiewicz of Brushton, senior majoring in biology and mathematics, F. Carlton and Ethel B. Simpson Memorial Endowment Scholarship; Lauren A. Adams of Hogansburg, sophomore majoring in civil engineering, Wallace H. Coulter Endowed Scholarship; Brian M. Ashline of Burke, sophomore majoring in global supply-chain management, James D. Cartin Memorial Endowed Scholarship; Marissa C. Cook of Chateaugay, junior majoring in psychology, Sara Snell Petersen/W. Hollis Petersen Endowed Scholarship; Coby N. Dergham of Plattsburgh, freshman majoring in engineering and management, Wallace H. Coulter Endowed Scholarship; Eric W. Moody of Saranac Lake, senior majoring in civil engineering, Harry & Florence P. Hull and Katherine E. Hull Endowed Scholarship; Blake A. Mosher of Brushton, senior majoring in innovation and entrepreneurship, Sprout Foundation Sponsored Scholarship; Brendon T. Reyell of Plattsburgh, senior majoring in civil engineering, Frank M. Hardiman Endowed Scholarship; Dylan G. Sample of Mooers Forks, senior majoring in chemical engineering, Sara Snell Petersen/W. Hollis Petersen Endowed Scholarship; Shauni M. Trombly of West Chazy, senior majoring in psychology, Frank and Lee Augsbury Endowed Scholarship; Andrew J. Turner of West Chazy, freshman majoring in aeronautical engineering, Kardan Endowed Scholarship; Cody M. Whelden of Ellenburg Depot, freshman majoring in engineering studies, Elinore and Beecher ‘50 Greenman Class of 2015 Share Clarkson Direct Scholarship.

Marlee Brown, daughter of Deborah and LeRoy Brown of Morrisonville, is studying in London, England, at AIFS Richmond Internship for the spring semester. She is a senior media studies and sociology/anthropology major who graduated from Beekmantown Central School before attending St. Michael’s College in Colchester, Vt.

Area students named to the President’s List at SUNYIT, Utica are Neil Miller of Mooers Forks, a mechanical engineering technology major; and Darren Sponable of Plattsburgh, whose major also is mechanical engineering technology. 

Dustin Poissant of Mooers and Matthew Seymour of Peru, both students at SUNYIT, Utica, have been named to the Honors List. Poissant studies computer/information sciences, and Seymour majors in civil engineering technology.

Local students who attend Marymount University, Arlington, Va., who have been named to “Who’s Who Among Students,” are Katarina Hamelin of Chateaugay, a communications major, and Zoe Saulsgiver of Westport, a biology major.

Casey Dubuque graduated in December from the University of New Hampshire with a combined bachelor’s/master’s degree in occupational therapy, summa cum laude. She was vice president of Chi Omega, studied abroad in Italy, completed internships through CVPH Medical Center, Spaulding Rehabilitation Hospital in Boston and Massachusetts Hospital School, Canton, Mass. She currently participates as a trainee in New Hampshire’s Leadership Education in Neurodevelopment and Related Disorders Program with plans to taker her NBCOT exam for occupational therapy. Dubuque has applied for licensure in Massachusetts and will start work as an occupational therapist this spring. She is the daughter of Peter and Debi Dubuque and a graduate of Plattsburgh High School, Class of 2007.

Clarkson University in Potsdam named the following local students to its Dean’s List: Skyler M. Graves of New Russia; Andrew R. Boyea of Chateaugay; Lakiesha R. Bertrand of Mooers Forks; Rainee L. Hurley of West Chazy; Dylan G. Sample of Mooers Forks; Nicholas P. Van Der Munnik of Rouses Point; Steven M. Barnes of Plattsburgh; Brandon W. Hurlburt of Champlain; Daniel J. Galy of Champlain;Jonathan W. Barge of Saranac Lake; Colby N. Dergham of Plattsburgh; Marc A. Lambert of Chateaugay; Tyler N. Rondeau of Gabriels;Brian M. Ashline of Burke; Jessica D. Burl of Burke; Jannette L. Drake of St. Regis Falls;Samantha L. Williams of Saranac Lake;Shauni M. Trombly of West Chazy and Annie Helfgott of Keeseville.

Siena College in Loudonville  named the following local students to its Dean’s List: Morgan Flynn of Peru; Joseph Gonyeauof Ticonderoga; Jakob Hebert of Plattsburgh; Monique Jenkinson of St. Regis Falls; Nathanael LePage of Peru; Samuel Necrasonof Plattsburgh and Eva Zalis of Plattsburgh.

SUNY Oswego named the following local students to its Dean’s List: Meaghan Langr of Champlain; Elena Sanchez-Freeman of Champlain; Alyssa Estus of Peru; Alysson Bubbins of Plattsburgh; Rebecca Duquette of Plattsburgh; Corinne Mather of Plattsburgh;Marisa Farmer of Saranac Lake and Allison Scollin of Saranac Lake.