Essex County independents file - Press-Republican: Local News

Essex County independents file

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Saturday, September 7, 2013 3:28 am

ELIZABETHTOWN — New races have emerged after independent nominating petitions were filed recently with the Essex County Board of Elections.

Party designating petitions were filed first, in mid-July, but independent petitions weren’t due until late August.

The general election is from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 5.


The biggest independent race is in the Town of Essex, where incumbent Supervisor Sharon Boisen is now facing challenger Edward Gardener in the November general election.

Both filed only independent petitions.

William Morgan is running independent-only for Essex town clerk/tax collector and is unopposed.


In Ticonderoga, incumbent Supervisor Debra Malaney is now facing not just fellow Republican Richard William Grinnell but independent Steven Whitford.

Ticonderoga has an independent-only Town Council candidate in Chattie Van Wert, joining Fred Hunsdon Sr. (D-I); Dorcey Crammond (R), incumbent; and James Kolysko (R); vying for two seats.


As expected, incumbent North Elba Town Supervisor Roby Politi filed an independent petition for re-election. He is also running as a Republican but has no competition in the race.

Politi ran only as an independent in previous years.


Jay went from having no one running for town justice, after Rosemond Lincoln-Day’s Green Party petitions were invalidated, to having three, including Lincoln-Day as an independent. Joining her on the independent line are Rodney Dockum and incumbent Robert Minogue.

The Jay Town Council voted to eliminate the town’s second justice petition, a post that’s up for election, but a valid referendum petition was filed, so voters will make the final decision.

Jay has an independent candidate for tax collector: Tina Fenton, who will face Valerie Coolidge (R-I) in the general election.


In Willsboro, five new independent-only candidates have joined Scott Moran (R) in the quest to become highway superintendent: Travis Crowningshield, Dean King, Jason Morgan, Daniel Koenig Jr. and Byron Moran.


In Minerva, independent Robert Lee is now seeking one of two open seats on the Town Council, along with Douglas McCall (R-I), Peter McNally (D) and Keith Edward Dubay (R-I).


For one seat on the Chesterfield Town Council, independents Richard Klages and Brian LaFountain will face Clayton Barber (R-I).


Incumbent Randy Preston is running unopposed as an independent-only candidate for Wilmington town supervisor.

Other independent-only candidates in Wilmington are Timothy Kertz for town justice and William Sufka for highway superintendent. Both are unopposed.

Email Lohr