February 4, 2013

Lashway leads NAC mat men to championship

PLATTSBURGH — Matt Lashway won the 182-pound weight class Saturday to help lead the Northern Adirondack wrestling team to the championship in the Jason Lowell Memorial Tournament at Mount Mansfield Union, Vt.

The Bobcats finished first in the 16-team field with 193.50 points, defeating runner-up and host Mount Mansfield.

For all the high school sports news...

High School Sports Magazine


Lashway compiled a 3-0 record on the day and won the most pins/least time on the mat award. He recorded pins in 1:16, 2:45 and 2:50.

Lashway was the only NAC wrestler to win his weight class.

Austin Trombley (106), Michael Dominy (120, non-scorer), Brandon LaBombard (126), Hunter Carpenter (152), Leon Riley (160) and Scott Guerin (285) all finished second, and Dustin Dominic (106, non-scorer), Rusty Pombrio (120), Tyler LaPoint (138), Collin LaBombard (145) and Dallas Page (220) were all third.

Jason Lowell Memorial Tournament

NAC results

106- 2, Austin Trombley (2-1); first-round bye; tech. fall over Ethan Reardon (Vergennes), 5:50; Ben Bliss (Mount Mansfield) dec. Trombley, 17-3.

106- Dustin Dominic (3-1 non-scorer); pinned Brennan Howard (MRU), 1:46; Bliss pinned Dominic, 1:39; pinned True Stanley (Enosburg), :42. dec. Reardon, 13-0.

120- 3, Rusty Pombrio (3-1); pinned Troy Jillson (Mount Mansfield), 3:22; Michael Dominy (NAC) pinned Pombio, 3:02; dec. Kyle Farnham (Harwood), 7-2; dec. Henry Goldman (Mount Mansfield), 12-1.

120- Michael Dominy (2-1 non-scorer); pinned Patrick LaCroix (Colchester), 1:33; pinned Pombrio, 3:02; Liam Hayden (WMT) pinned Dominy, 3:34.

126- 2, Brandon LaBombard (2-1): tech. fall over Makenzie Steele (North Country), 5:26; dec. Jeremy Jarvis (Essex), 9-2; Pat Mumford (MRU) pinned LaBombard, 5:59.

132- Chad King (1-2); Brandon Coolbeth (STA) pinned King, 4:51; dec. Silas Merriam (SHS), 6-4; Coolbeth pinned King, 2:56.

138- 3, Tyler LaPoint (3-1); dec. Duncan Lord (SHS), 16-6; Zack Allen (MRU) dec. LaPoint, 15-6; pinned Andrew Durkin (Winooski), 3:39; pinned Carter Kittell (Mount Mansfield), 1:21.

138- Brandon Barber (0-2 non-scorer); Tristan Leek (SAN) tech. fall over Barber, 4:13; Durkin dec. Barber, 10-5.

145- 3, Collin LaBombard (3-1); dec. Nick Price (FH), 10-2; Nolan Viens (Bellows Falls) dec. LaBombard, 10-2; dec. Tim Rizvanov (Essex), 12-3; dec. T.J. George (MTA), 4-2.

152- 2, Hunter Carpenter (2-1); pinned Avery Bliss (Mount Mansfield), :25; tech. fall over Kyle Record (Bellows Falls), 5:26; Jonathan Scheidegger (SAN) dec. Carpenter, 12-2.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
CVPH Job Opportunities