November 30, 2012

Gabe Macey leads NSL Division III boys' soccer All-Stars


— The Crown Point boys’ soccer team had an outstanding 2012 season, which included a 10-3 record in the Northern Soccer League’s Division III and an 11-4 overall record.

The Panthers were recognized for their terrific play this season with two NSL First-Team All-Star selections including the Division III Most Valuable Player.

Minerva/Newcomb had five players selected to the First Team, while Schroon Lake had three. Johnsburg nabbed two First-Team representatives, and Wells had one.

Keene was selected as the Ray Holmes Sportsmanship winner.

The All-Stars were selected by the Northern Soccer League coaches.


Gabe Macey (Crown Point)- Macey, a senior, was selected as the 2012 Northern Soccer League Division III Most Valuable Player. The forward, who led the team in scoring for the last two years, finished this season with 20 goals and five assists, good for 45 points.


Millie Winslow (Minerva-Newcomb)- Winslow led the Mountaineers to an 11-1 record in Division III play and 13-2 overall. The squad was the sectional runner-up in Class D to eventual state champion Chazy.


Chet Prouty (Johnsburg)- Prouty proved to be a pivotal player between the pipes for the Orange. The senior totaled 108 saves during his senior go-around.

Nick Porter (Johnsburg)- Porter, a senior midfielder, scored against Minerva-Newcomb and tallied another goal in a 4-0 win over Indian Lake-Long Lake.

Jorge Bertomeu (Minerva/Newcomb)- Bertomeu was a strong scoring threat all year with 18 goals and eight assists. “(Bertomeu) is fast, has strong footwork skills, and was always marked,” Mountaineers coach Millie Winslow said.

Jessie Shaughnessy (Schroon Lake)- Shaughnessy led the Wildcats in scoring this year with 22 goals and was a talented scoring threat from anywhere around the 18. His ability to attract multiple defenders opened scoring opportunities for respective teammates. “His goal scoring and play-making abilities will be hard to fill next year,” Schroon Lake coach Lee Silvernail said.

Wesley LaBar (Minerva/Newcomb)- The midfielder was a team leader and played a strong game on both sides of the ball for the Mountaineers. LaBar displayed strong footwork and tallied 17 goals and eight assists on the year.

Borja Martinez (Minerva/Newcomb)- Martinez was a solid, consistent defender, according to Winslow. He had a strong left foot and was capable of scoring on direct kicks and corner kicks.

Dan Groshans (Crown Point)- Groshans was a senior midfielder and captain for the Panthers in 2012. He was respected by teammates and the coaching staff alike for his leadership qualities and recorded one goal and six assists this fall.

Jeff Armstrong (Schroon Lake)- Armstrong, a senior for the Wildcats, anchored the midfield attack with controlled passing and physical play. His strength, athleticism, and hustle allowed him to have success at his position.

Bryton Chikukwa (Minerva/Newcomb)- Chikukwa was a solid defender with sideline-to-sideline quickness, ranking him as one of the most talented athletes in Division III as said by Winslow.

Jake Earley (Wells)- Earley is the lone representative from the Indians squad to be honored with a First-Team selection.

Mitchell Beers (Schroon Lake)- “(Beers) is one of those players that you never have to worry about because he’s always in the right position and always makes the right play,” Silvernail said. “His speed and quickness allowed him to cover a lot of ground to track down any mistakes that were made in front of him.”

Michael DuShane (Crown Point)- DuShane was a senior defender and team captain for the 11-4 Panthers this fall. His versatility allowed him to also play sweeper while anchoring the team’s defense.

Joao Silva (Minerva/Newcomb)- Silva garnered 10 goals and added three assists for the Mountaineers this past fall. The striker proved to be a scoring threat from anywhere outside the 18 and played a pivotal role generating offense.

2012 Northern Soccer League

Division III All-Stars

First Team

Nick Porter (Johnsburg), Jorge Bertomeu (Minerva-Newcomb), Joao Siva (Minerva-Newcomb), Jessie Shaughnessy (Schroon Lake), Wesley LaBar (Minerva-Newcomb), Borja Martinez (Minerva-Newcomb), Dan Groshans (Crown Point), Jeff Armstrong (Schroon Lake), Bryton Chikukwa (Minerva-Newcomb), Jake Earley (Wells), Mitchell Beers (Schroon Lake), Michael DuShane (Crown Point).

Second Team

Matt Moore (Indian Lake-Long Lake), Austin Washburn (Johnsburg), Austin Williams (Minerva-Newcomb), Matt Michiezi (Wells), Justin Lough (Schroon Lake), Bobby Rose (Schroon Lake), Joe Foot (Crown Point), Noah Macey (Crown Point), Jack Vanwi (Keene), Colton Brenner (Keene), Gabe Warner (Keene).

Most Valuable Player: Gabe Macey (Crown Point).

Coach of the Year: Millie Winslow (Minerva-Newcomb).

Ray Holmes Sportsmanship Award: Keene.