Press-Republican

Cornell Cooperative Extension

October 8, 2012

Try 'freekeh' for change of taste at dinner table

Got local grains? 

This month, it’s time to learn something new about something very old. Consumers are starting to seek out some of the ancient heritage-grain varieties and are looking for them locally. To that end, I’ve spent part of my summer thinking, talking and reading about something called “freekeh.”

Most sources pronounce this as “FREE-kah,” but I recently heard that the Egyptians, in the region in which the grain originated, say “freaky.” Fabulous name!

I discovered freekeh through Champlain Valley Milling, one of our Adirondack Harvest members in Westport. I can confirm that it is fabulous in more than name as an alternative to rice or potato side dishes. We served samples of freekeh at our Taste of the Adirondacks booth at the Essex County Fair in August, where we created tabbouleh, a grain and veggie salad. Sam Sherman, CEO of the mill, is hoping that local restaurants will start offering more of this grain on their menus. Some already are.

Freekeh is actually an ancient process resulting in a product, not a specific type of grain. At Champlain Valley Milling, they sell organic freekeh that is grown and processed in New York. This particular freekeh is made from spelt, a species of wheat that’s many thousands of years old. The spelt is harvested “green,” meaning it’s still in an immature state. The hulls, or outer covering of the grain, are then burned away. The spelt kernels have enough moisture so they don’t burn, and they’re left with a delightfully smoky flavor.

Freekeh can be made with other grains as well, and is often created from regular modern bread wheat (Triticum aestivum). The use of spelt by Champlain Valley Milling is significant because spelt is a sub-species of bread wheat that has recently gained popularity due to its higher nutrient and protein content and a nice nutty flavor. It contains gluten, but not as much as regular bread wheat, so it can sometimes be tolerated by folks with wheat allergies (but should never be eaten by those who need to stay gluten-free or have Celiac disease).

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Cornell Cooperative Extension
Videos: Editor Picks