November 24, 2012

Students: Nov. 24, 2012


---- — Valerie Duquette of Chazy received the Outstanding Student in Communications Studies and Speech Communication award at Susquehanna University, Selinsgrove, Pa. Duquette is a recent graduate majoring in communications studies. She is a 2008 graduate of Beekmantown and the daughter of Basil R. Duquette III and Lynn Duquette, of Chazy.

Two local residents were among the 750 Union College students, Schenectady, named to the Dean’s List: Ann Cantwell of Saranac Lake, a liberal arts major and a 2011 graduate of Taft School; and Craig Worley of Plattsburgh, a mechanical engineering major and a 2011 graduate of Plattsburgh Senior High School.

Three students were awarded scholarships by the 1st Lt. Brian Deforge Memorial Scholarship Fund this year: first place, Seth Pelkey; second place, Willis Reid-Breyette; and third place, Christina Moore. This scholarship was created to honor the memory of Brian Deforge, a former Beekmantown graduate and USMC officer who died in the line of duty. Students earn this scholarship based on academic success, involvement in the school community and perseverance.

Two local residents took part in internships this summer through SUNY Oswego’s Experience-Based Education program. They are (with their internship in parentheses): Chelsy Beaudet of Plattsburgh, a senior wellness management major (Wellness Center at PARC, Plattsburgh); and Allison Scollin of Saranac Lake, a senior wellness management major (Adirondack Health, Saranac Lake).

Alyssa Ann Menard of Rouses Point has been named to the Dean’s List for the spring 2012 semester at SUNY Fredonia.

Last semester, 11 Clarkson University (Potsdam) students on the Construction Engineering & Management SPEED (Student Projects for Engineering Experience & Design) team competed in the 22nd-annual Student Competition for the Associated Schools of Construction Region 1 in Morristown, N.J. The Commercial Building Team worked on the development of a multi-story adult nursing facility. Lucas A. Short of Plattsburgh, a junior majoring in civil engineering, participated as a member of the Commercial Building Team.

Several students received scholarships to attend Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania as freshmen for the 2012-13 school year. These awards, which are reserved for new students, provide between $1,000 and $3,750 of assistance. Among the recipients, Erica Harriman of Ellenburg Depot received the Trustee Scholarship, which recognizes students’ academic achievements and talent. Harriman will begin studying American sign language/English interpreting this coming fall.

Clarkson University (Potsdam) Master of Science in Physician Assistant Studies students recently took part in the program’s inaugural White Coat Ceremony. Seventeen physician assistant students were given the short white coat, which marks the student’s transition from classroom studies to clinical studies, where they will begin to meet with patients. Four local students received their white coats during the ceremony: Pamela Leary of Dickinson Center, Ryan Mazzone and John Sibley, both of Plattsburgh, and James Van Ness of Peru.

Maxx D. Hipko, a Virginia Military Institute, Lexington, Va., cadet, was among the cadets who were recently named to the Deans’ List for the second semester of academic year 2011-12. A recent graduate from Mooers Forks, he majored in international studies. He is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Erik H. Hipko.

The following students are graduates for May 2012 at the State University of New York College of Technology at Delhi: Justin Ooms of Constable, a degree in construction technology; Brianna Olsen of Dannemora, a degree in travel and tourism management; Cailyn Bashaw of Owlshead, a degree in culinary arts management; and Albert Clark of Peru, a degree in architectural design and building.

Hannah Gardiner, a senior at the University at Albany was named to the Dean’s List of Distinguished Students for spring 2012. Gardiner is a 2009 graduate of CCS and will graduate in December from University at Albany. She was accepted into the Communication Department’s full-time internship program and will be interning at Howard Schaffer Media Marketing firm the entire semester. She will pursue a career in broadcast journalism.

The following students have been cited for academic achievement for the spring 2012 semester by achieving the Dean’s List at the State University of New York College of Technology at Delhi: Emily Gadbois of Plattsburgh and Justin Ooms of Constable, construction technology majors.

During its spring commencement weekend, the University at Albany awarded degrees to the following local students: Alix Olcott of Ticonderoga; Kesi St. Louis and Willow Nolland, both of Plattsburgh; Jessica Darney of Elizabethtown; Lawrence LeClair of Ellenburg; Phalon Nolan of Keeseville; Caroline Verner of Lake Placid; Kaleigh Rasco and Kenneth DeVoe of Morrisonville; Cecily Remillard of Peru; Jacob Waddy of Saranac; and Christine Amell and James Button of Saranac Lake.

Plattsburgh resident and Ithaca College student Jillian Kowalowski received a $2,500 Excellence in Accounting Scholarship. Majoring in accounting and business administration, Kowalowski has begun her senior year.

The following students at Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences have earned a place on the school’s Dean’s List for the spring 2012 semester: Wesley Aubin and Amanda Bradley, both of Plattsburgh; Anthony Changelo of Rouses Point; Sinead Cooper of Chazy; Jenna McGreevy of Wilmington; Emily McNally of Chazy; Kelsey Mitchell of West Chazy; Tiffani Lacey of Morrisonville; Nathan LaFave of Mooers; Kyle Rabideau of Mooers Forks; and Mallory Young of Willsboro.

Adam Emery of Plattsburgh has been named to the President’s List for the spring 2012 semester at SUNY Potsdam.

A history major from Mooers Forks who is enrolled in the Master’s in Science in Teaching program has been chosen as the recipient of the 2012 Knapp North Country Scholarship. Dylan Brassard, a graduate of Northeastern Clinton Central School in Champlain, will receive $2,500 from the scholarship, awarded annually to academically gifted NCCS seniors admitted to SUNY Plattsburgh. The award was named after the late Edith and Kenneth Knapp.