November 5, 2012

Students: Nov. 5, 2012


---- — Elle Rathbun of Plattsburgh, who recently graduated from St. Lawrence University, was selected as one of Omicron Delta Kappa’s 2012 scholarship recipients. To be qualified to receive an Omicron Delta Kappa Foundation Scholarship, a member must have attained senior standing, maintained at least a 3.5 GPA and plan to enroll as a graduate student within three years from the date of application. Students selected as winners exhibited extraordinary commitment to achievement in both academic and extracurricular endeavors. A national committee selected only 21 scholarship recipients for 2012. Rathbun graduated with a Bachelor of Science degree with a major in neuroscience and a minor in chemistry. Around campus, she made an impact in student societies and gathered professional experience. She served as president of Omicron Delta Kappa, president of Circle K, senior editor of production for the Laurentian Literary Magazine, secretary of Beta Beta Beta and treasurer of the American Chemical Society. On top of all of these responsibilities, she was an emergency medical technician for St. Lawrence University Emergency Medical Services and also served as an intern at the Traumatic Brain Injury Center in Plattsburgh. On a Mission of Hope trip to Nicaragua in 2006, Rathbun saw the direct impact of her medical knowledge on the impoverished people. She is the daughter of Nancy Scanlan of Plattsburgh and Robert Rathbun of Chazy. Upon graduation from Stony Brook University School of Medicine, she hopes to work in upstate New York. The Omicron Delta Kappa Society Inc., the National Leadership Honor Society for college students, recognizes and encourages superior scholarship, leadership and exemplary character.

The Delta Kappa Gamma women have chosen this year’s recipients of the Alice K. Lewis Scholarship awards. They are Marcy Rivers, graduate of Beekmantown Central School; Samantha Lavigne, graduate of Chazy Central School; Meghan Ryan, graduate of Plattsburgh High School; and Alexis Hewitt, graduate of Plattsburgh High. They each received $500 to assist in their college expenses.

The Chateaugay Central School Alumni Fund has awarded $500 scholarships to Michaela Healey, daughter of Darrell and Tonya Healey of Chateaugay, and Tucker Malone, son of Marlene Holmes of Chateaugay and Del Malone of Hammond. Each received the Deserving Senior Award. Healey was a member of the National Honor Society, Book Club, Senior Chorus and Empowered Teens. She will be attending SUNY Plattsburgh, majoring in psychology. Malone also was a member of the National Honor Society, Model Organization of American States, Science Olympiad, Business Club and Book Club. He has recently moved to Vermont where he will be attending Champlain College in Burlington.

The following area students have been named to the 2012 spring term Dean’s List at Hartwick, Oneonta: sophomore Catherine Decosse of Churubusco, daughter of Janet and Richard Decosse, majoring in English; sophomore Devin Martin of Westport, son of Kellie King, majoring in political science; and first-year student Kyle Murray of Saranac Lake, son of Carolyn Murray and John Murray, majoring in physics and music

Matthew Honor, a resident of Plattsburgh, has graduated from the Eastman School of Music of the University of Rochester with a bachelor of music degree in jazz and contemporary music. He graduated with distinction. Honor is the son of David and Betsy Honor.

Colleen Lacombe-Senecal, daughter of Suzanne and Christopher Lacombe of Peru and Salt Lake City, Utah, has been awarded the following scholarships as a third-year dental student at the University of Buffalo School of Dental Medicine: the Carl Lasher Scholarship, which recognizes a student who has demonstrated outstanding scholarship and exhibits a positive attitude and well-rounded involvement in class and student affairs; the WNY Dental Group Scholarship, which recognizes a student in good academic standing who demonstrates the ability to work as a team member, clinical excellence and leadership skills; and the Women’s Guild Scholarship, which recognizes a student who is in good academic standing and exhibits a positive attitude and a commitment to service in the community. Lacombe-Senecal is a graduate of Seton Catholic High School and the University of Rochester. She resides in Amherst with her husband, Adam Senecal.

The following students received academic honors from the Harpur College of Arts and Sciences at Binghamton University by making the University’s Dean’s list for the Spring 2012 semester: Rachael A. Clark of Saranac Lake, Kristy M. Farmer of Saranac Lake, Donald C. Frauenhofer of Chateaugay and Megan M. Tedford of Peru.

Kellen Steadman of Plattsburgh was a member of the Class of 2012 and received a degree at the 84th Commencement of Mercyhurst University, Erie, Pa. Steadman graduated with a bachelor’s degree in elementary education.

Timothy R. Strack of Plattsburgh received academic honors from the Thomas J. Watson School of Engineering and Applied Science at Binghamton University by making the Dean’s List for the spring 2012 semester.

The College of Saint Rose in Albany has announced that the following local residents named to the Dean’s List for the spring 2012 semester: Sherrilynn Guffey of Mineville, Kaitiyn Hardman of Morrisonville, Casey Loughan of Plattsburgh, Andrew Matott of Rouses Point and Alexis Smith of Lake Clear.

Alexandra R. Smith, daughter of Tracy and Denise Smith, has been named to the 2012 spring Dean’s List at LeMoyne College in Syracuse. She is a graduate of Ticonderoga High School and is majoring in biology.

Adam Steven Jennett, son of Steven and Susan Jennett of West Chazy, has been named to the Dean’s List for the spring quarter at Rochester Institute of Technology. He is a freshman in the imaging arts & science program.