Press-Republican

August 16, 2012

Big-name acts coming to Montreal

By STEVEN HOWELL, Press-Republican
Press-Republican

---- — MONTREAL — Summer may be slowing down, but the Montreal stage is not. Here are a few ways to enjoy a night on the town.

The Broadway smash musical hit “Wicked” continues through Sunday, Aug. 26, at Place des Arts, 175 Ste. Catherine St. W. Tickets range from $52.49 to $139.47. 

Dreamworks presents family fun with a live show of “How to Train Your Dragon” at the Bell Centre, 1909 Avenue des Canadiens de Montreal. English performances are at 11 a.m. Saturday, Aug. 18, and 3 p.m. Sunday, Aug. 19. Tickets range from $35.50 to $147.50. 

Innovative ’80s performance artists Dead Can Dance play the Bell Centre Aug. 24. Tickets cost $68 to $113.

You had to be a bit faster on the draw for Madge; the Thursday, Aug. 30, Bell Centre Madonna concert is already sold out.

Eighties Euro pop duo Roxette plays the Bell Centre Friday, Aug. 31. Tickets cost $63.50 and $83.50.

Brit rock band The Cult returns to Montreal at Metropolis, 59 St. Catherine St. E. Saturday, Sept. 1. Tickets start at $52. 

Rock punksters The Offspring play Metropolis for two shows Monday, Sept. 3, and Wednesday, Sept. 5. Tickets start at $49.

Jason Mraz brings his pop tunes to the Bell Centre Saturday, Sept. 8. Tickets cost $59 and $79.

Rise Against, The Gaslight Anthem, and Hot Water Music play the Bell Centre Wednesday, Sept. 12. Tickets cost $58.

The Corona Theatre at 2490 Notre Dame St. W. takes a nostalgic trip back in time with “Burlesque to Broadway,” a New York City-based traditional burlesque-style musical revue complete with feather boas and bombshell star Quinn Lemley. The show is performed Thursday, Sept. 13, through Sunday, Sept. 16. Tickets cost $52 and $82. 

Peter Gabriel returns to the Bell Centre with “Back to Front,” a complete live performance of his iconic “So” album by the original 1987 lineup. He’s in town Tuesday, Sept. 18. Tickets range from $58 to $164.

K’naan brings his pop musical anthems to Metropolis Wednesday, Sept. 19. Tickets start at $35.

The 10th edition of the Pop Montreal music festival comes to town Wednesday, Sept. 19, through Sunday, Sept. 23, with a pretty impressive lineup, including Gotye at the Jacques Cartier Pier in the Old Port Friday, Sept. 21, ($54); Talking Heads front man David Byrne and St. Vincent at Eglise St. Jean Baptiste ($60 to $80); and Grizzly Bear at the Olympia Theatre Sunday, Sept. 23, ($44). Visit www.popmontreal.com for details.

Disney on Ice presents “The Treasures of Disney” at the Bell Centre with English performances Thursday, Sept. 27, and Sunday, Sept. 30. Tickets range from $30 to $93.

K.D. Lang and the Siss Boom Bang perform at the Corona Theatre Friday, Sept. 28, and Saturday, Sept. 29. Tickets cost $62 and $82.

Vocalist Beth Orton performs at L’Astral, 305 St. Catherine St. W. Saturday, Sept. 29. Tickets start at $27. 

The Raveonettes play Corona Theatre Wednesday, Oct. 3. Tickets start at $25.

Regina Spektor performs at Metropolis Tuesday, Oct. 9. Tickets start at $39.

Brit pop vocalist Joss Stone plays Metropolis Wednesday, Oct. 10. Tickets cost $44 and $52.

Alanis Morissette has an intimate date at Metropolis Tuesday, Oct. 16. Tickets start at $66.

John Lydon and pals Public Image Ltd (PiL) play the Corona Theatre Tuesday, Oct. 16. Tickets start at $37.

The incomparable Barbra Streisand performs at the Bell Centre Wednesday, Oct. 17. Tickets range from $105 to $530.

Canadian rock icons Rush play the Bell Centre Thursday, Oct. 18. Tickets range from $59 to $145.

Cat Power plays Metropolis Friday, Oct. 19. Tickets start at $36.50.

Social Distortion plays Metropolis Tuesday, Oct. 23. Tickets start at $42.

Rufus Wainwright performs at Eglise St. Jean Baptiste Friday, Oct. 26. Tickets cost $58 and $98.

Kimbra plays the Corona Theatre Friday, Oct. 26. Tickets cost $37.

Chris Isaak plays the St. Denis Theatre, 1594 Saint-Denis Rue Tuesday, Oct. 30. Tickets cost $49 and $68.

Journey, Pat Benatar and Loverboy play the Bell Centre Monday, Nov. 5. Tickets range from $79 to $114.

Here’s a coup: The Who plays the Bell Centre Tuesday, Nov. 20. On the playlist: Quadrophenia and more. Tickets cost $52.50 to $144.

Neil Young and Crazy Horse, and Patti Smith play the Bell Centre Friday, Nov. 23. Tickets cost $68 to $201.

Justin Beiber plays the Bell Centre Monday, Nov. 26. Tickets range from $53 to $110.

Leonard Cohen plays the Bell Centre Wednesday, Nov. 28, and Thursday, Nov. 29. Tickets range from $40 to $267.

Steven Howell is the author of Montreal Essential Guide, a Sutro Media iPhone travel app available at iTunes.com.

TICKET INFO

Prices are in Canadian dollars (some are rounded to nearest dollar; add service charges to each ticket ordered). 

Bell Centre tickets are available through Evenko at (877) 668-8269 or at www.evenko.ca. 

Also check Admission Ticket Network at (800) 678-5440 or www.admission.com, Ticket Pro Canada at (514) 908-9090 or www.ticketpro.ca, and Place des Arts at (866) 842-2112 or www.pda.qc.ca.