October 4, 2012

Plattsburgh State announces new Hall of Fame members


---- — PLATTSBURGH —The Plattsburgh State Athletics Department, in conjunction with the Office of Alumni Relations, has announced the latest class to be inducted into the Plattsburgh State Athletic Hall of Fame. The 2012 class of inductees includes Brian Dodge ‘76 (cross country/track and field), Bryan Murray ‘01 (ice hockey), Niklas Sundberg ‘02 (ice hockey) and the first team to be inducted — the 1975-76 men’s basketball team.

The annual ceremony will be held Saturday, Oct. 20, in the Warren Ballrooms at the Angell College Center and will serve as one of many events highlighting Homecoming Weekend. Inductions will take place at noon, followed by a luncheon at 1 p.m. The cost is $17 per person. Those interested in attending are asked to R.S.V.P. to 800-964-1889 or by Oct. 12.

The 2012 class brings the number of inductees to 87 while honoring the first team since the Hall of Fame was established in 1984 to recognize the accomplishments of former student-athletes as well as the services and contributions of administrators, coaches and friends to Plattsburgh State Athletics.

Dodge is a posthumous inductee who earned All-America honors on three occasions. In 1975, Dodge garnered All-America accolades in cross country and outdoor track and field. He also raced to an All-America nod in the 10,000-meter run during the 1976 outdoor track and field season. Dodge was named to the All-SUNYAC Cross Country First Team in 1974 and 1975 and earned admission into the SUNYAC Cross Country Hall of Fame in 1974.

Murray was a two-time team captain and a member of the 2001 NCAA Division III championship team that posted a 29-5 record. He received Second Team All-America honors in 2000 and 2001. Murray was also selected to the All-SUNYAC First Team in three consecutive seasons (1998 to 2001). The Cardinal All-Decade Team member (1995 to 2004) finished his career with 108 points — good for fifth most by a defenseman and 42nd overall.

Sundberg was also a member of the 2001 national championship team and one of the best to step between the pipes for the Cardinals. During his time at Plattsburgh, he was a two-time All-American and a four-time All-SUNYAC honoree. Sundberg was also named to the SUNYAC All-Tournament Team in 2001 and 2002. He was selected as the SUNYAC Rookie of the Year in 1999, the Plattsburgh State Male Athlete of the Year in 2001 and as a member of the Cardinal All-Decade Team (1995 to 2004). He still holds the single-season records for save percentage (.946), shutouts (5), goals-against average (1.41) and victories (28).

In addition to his on-ice accomplishments, Sundberg excelled in the classroom. He was named an Academic All-American and was the recipient of the Dr. Richard D. Semmler Scholar-Athlete Award and the Dr. Sam Molnar SUNYAC Men’s Scholar-Athlete Award following his senior year in 2002.

The 1975-76 Plattsburgh State men’s basketball team was the first team in school history to advance to the NCAA final four in any sport. The Cardinals captured the SUNYAC regular-season championship with a 9-1 record before winning the NCAA Division III Eastern Regional. Ronnie Wright led the team in scoring with 20.2 points per game, while Plattsburgh State Athletic Hall of Fame member Larry Parker scored 16.7 points per game and grabbed 17.7 rebounds per contest.