September 8, 2013

Flashback: September 9, 2013


Quarterback Rod Bushey leads Northern Adirondack to a 42-0 win over Mount Assumption’s B team in football.

50 YEARS AGO (1963)

A safety with less than 5 minutes to play enables visiting MAI to edge Moriah 8-7. John Hay runs 80 yards for the Mounties’ only touchdown while quarterback Dick Thiesen engineers a 70-yard drive for the Moriah score.

John Kitchen runs for 2 touchdowns and Pat Berry adds a touchdown and two conversions to spark Plattsburgh High to a 26-7 win over St. John’s. Dave LaMora passes to Jim Baker for the other PHS score. Harry Canning scores for the Irish, who lose Willie Watson with a broken wrist.

Jim Kelly, Del Hart and Charlie Ryan lead the instinctive bowmen while Dale Mooney, Harold Macey and Larry Rivers claim the top 3 spots in the freestyle during the Pine Ridge Bowmen’s third target archery tournament at the range in West Plattsburgh. Rhada Ryan, Jeanne DiFulvio and Pauline LaFountaine lead the women’s division.

60 YEARS AGO (1953)

The Fran-Clin League admits MAI into the scholastic conference. Rouses Point principal Duane LaTarte is elected president of the league, which also includes Keeseville, St. John’s, OLVA, Lyon Mountain, Dannemora, Chateaugay and St. Joseph’s of Malone.

Jim Curtin’s 2-run double is the big blow as Scheier’s Cardinals rally to defeat Payson’s Furniture 8-7 in the deciding game of the City Fast-Pitch Softball League championship series. Bud Rock, Art Baker and Walt Dufour also contribute key hits while Earl Carpenter and Harry Dragoon manage 4 apiece for Payson’s.

PHS looks to rebound from a 2-5 season in football with fullback Wayne Benson, center Keith Brown, end Rod Collins and quarterback Mike Beauvais back to lead the charge. Fred Horvath, Ralf Bleau and Bob Allen also return.

70 YEARS AGO (1943)

The Knights of Columbus bowling league begins its season with Frank Doorey, Dan Kanaly and Robert Fitzpatrick the officers.

The YMCA Ladies prepare for their season with Tuesday set aside for all recreation activities. The ladies’ board includes Virginia Bock, Marcella Carolan, Rose Coryer, Mildred Egan, Anne Erickson, Anita Garrant, Mrs. Grant Frederick, Mrs. William Fellion, Patricia Lacey, Mrs. Nelson Ladd and Mrs. H.L. Shepard.

Text Only | Photo Reprints