August 18, 2013

Flashback: August 18, 2013

10 YEARS AGO (2003)

Johnny Munson, Mike Watts, Jr., Dean Frady, Bill Sapel and Stub Pepper — representing the North Bowl Pro Shop — post a 3,629 score to come in first in the A Division of the New York State Men’s Bowling Championship Tournament.

Quarterback Eddie Castine passes for 3 first-half touchdowns and Corey Lawyer runs for two scores as the Lake City Stars smack the Green Mountain Gladiators 36-0 in Empire Football League play.

Bucko Branham leads from flag to flag in winning the 100-lap PrimeLink Dick Nephew Memorial 100 at Airborne Speedway.

Dave Huru (2-day total, 149) and Sue Stefanick (171) capture the championship flights in the Bluff Point Golf Resort club tournament while Matt King (156) and Mary Lou Zaferakis (162) win top honors at Adirondack Golf & Country Club.

Josh McDougal is a repeat winner in the 13th Run for Jon while Kelly Duffy is first across the line for the women.

20 YEARS AGO (1993)

Keene Central, with only 14 boys in grades 8-12, merges with Elizabethtown-Lewis Central in soccer for one year.

Paul Leahy resigns as Saranac football coach and physical-education instructor to accept an administrative position in Saranac Lake. Former Saranac standout Keith Tedford is appointed interim football coach.

Sophomore Cy Ellsworth, the former Saranac Lake standout, earns a starting position at guard with the Syracuse University Orangemen, who are coming off a 10-2 season.

John Underwood of Lake Placid and Peru’s Sara Facteau win the annual Run for Jon.

Brad Marshall drives in 4 runs with a home run and double as Sidelines rallies to defeat Top 40 Video and complete a sweep of their Malone AmVets Slo-Pitch Softball League championship series. Winning pitcher Greg Dumas and Mike Wescott contribute 3 hits apiece while Dave Goff belts a 2-run homer for Top 40.

25 YEARS AGO (1988)

Ross O’Loughlin rallies from 8 strokes back to win the North Country Golf Club championship with a 54-hole score of 226. Pat Welch finishes one stroke behind with Mike Zurlo, third, with a 229. Kathy Barcomb wins the ladies’ title with a 36-hole score of 170.

Text Only | Photo Reprints