March 10, 2013

Flashback: March 10, 2013


---- — 10 YEARS AGO (2003)

Mike Fernandez sinks a 3-pointer to put Moriah ahead and the Vikings go on to score 7 points in the last 42 seconds to defeat reigning state champ Faith Heritage 49-46 in the state Class D boys’ basketball semifinals.

Michael Hoyt nets 45 points to lead S.S. Seward to a 68-52 win over Moriah in the state Class D final. Seward is coached by former Chazy resident Rob Gravelle. Mike Fernandez scores 19 and Nathan Slattery, 13, for the Vikings in the title game.

Amanda Chase finishes 10th in 800 meters at the NCAA Div. III Indoor Track & Field Championships. She just misses on qualifying for the final with a 2:16.38 time.

Sophomore Kelly Wescott scores 9 points and grabs 13 rebounds in the University of Rochester’s 57-51 triumph over Ithaca College in the third round of the NCAA Div. III Women’s Basketball Tournament. Wescott then tallies 16 points in the win over Messiah, earning MVP honors for the sectional as Rochester advances to the Final Four.

Josh McDougal, 17, places fifth in the 2-mile run at the Nike Indoor Track & Field Championships with a time of 9:09.23.

Quinnipiac University sophomore Josh Jabaut sets a new school record of 1:55.47 for the 800 meters.

20 YEARS AGO (1993)

Bob Emery, in his fifth season, records his 100th coaching victory as Plattsburgh State completes a two-game sweep of Babson College in an NCAA quarterfinal series.

Saranac’s Ann Blair rolls the high game (226) for the all-star girls while Dorothy Liberty of Peru bowls the fourth-best (217) in the state high-school tournament at North Bowl Lanes.

Broadalbin-Perth edges Saranac 61-60, in overtime, despite Tom Welch’s 34-point effort. Welch also grabs 15 rebounds and blocks 5 shots. The Saranac girls also fall, to Greenwich, 65-40, despite 12 points from Ann Parks.

Chazy’s Robin Rovers and Westport’s Mika Conley share most valuable player honors for Mountain & Valley Athletic Conference girls’ basketball.

25 YEARS AGO (1988)

Peru’s Jeff Way decisions Bill Friburger of William Floyd, 4-1, to win the 250-pound final, becoming the second Section VII wrestler to claim a state championship.

Amy Bushey scores 21 points and grabs 20 rebounds as Northeastern Clinton beats Monticello 54-44 in the Capital Conference Class B semifinals. The Cougars fall to Bishop Gibbons, 51-27, in the final.

Jeff Jiampetti, Mike Cleveland and Scott Broderick figure in five of the goals as St. John’s captures its second state championship in hockey in three years, defeating Suffern 6-1. Ricky Garrand is in goal for the Irish.

Burke Catholic edges Peru 73-71, in overtime, in the Capital Conference Class B boys’ semifinals. Andy Lake is the hero with 38 points while Marty Maddix (24) and Dean Tyrell (20) lead Peru.

30 YEARS AGO (1983)

Mike Cinque scores 32 points to lead John S. Burke of Goshen to a 72-57 victory over Plattsburgh High in the Capital Conference Class B Region final. Angelo Sutton leads PHS with 20 points.

St. Patrick’s of Catskill, with four starters 6-feet-4 or taller, tops Dannemora 70-54 in the Capital Conference Class D Region final. Steve LaDuke scores 21 points for the Knights to cap his career with 1,011.

Jenny Johnson scores 19 points and Kim Nystrom, 10, to lead Northeastern Clinton past Peru 51-46 in the Section VII Girls’ Class B final. Eileen Roach nets 22 for Peru.

Anne Pearl scores 23 points while Colleen Quinn and Katherine Riley stand out defensively as St. John’s takes its first Section VII Class C crown, besting Ticonderoga 42-39. Shelly Russell scores 19 for the Sentinels.

Willsboro repeats as the Class D champion with Shawn Wintermute scoring 10 points and Jodi Marcotte collecting 12 rebounds in a 27-25 win over Elizabethtown-Lewis. Wanda Reynolds is the defensive star for Willsboro. Terri-Jo Cornwright scores 18 and grabs 16 rebounds for the Lions.

Northern Adirondack graduate Marie Bajko caps a stellar career at the University of Buffalo by being named to the All-Tournament team as UB takes second in the state tourney for women. Bajko, who finishes with four UB career records, scores 67 points and grabs 36 rebounds in three tournament games.

40 YEARS AGO (1973)

The Store upsets Oneida Chemical 85-67 in the championship game of the City Men’s Basketball League. Harry Haugen scores 24 points and Elmon Henry, 23, to lead The Store. Jim Lacey nets 18 and Bob Barney, 12, for Oneida, which plays without ailing league MVP Bill Finney.

Tom Gebo’s second goal of the game — in the second overtime — lifts Johnson’s Auto Glass to a 3-2 victory over the Montcalm Bulldogs in the Northern Broomball League final. Jim Johnson accounts for the other JAG goal while John Carpenter and Tim O’Connell score for Montcalm.

Beekmantown’s Scott Light finishes 10th in a junior alpine slalom race won by Phil Mahre.

50 YEARS AGO (1963)

Tom Gebo and Ralph Peden each score 14 points to lead Moriah to a 58-50 win over Plattsburgh High in the Section VII Class A final. Jack Premore leads PHS with 18.

Mike Quinn scores 26 points, but Westport falls to Bolton 58-57, in overtime, in a Class B semifinal. Roger Hadley chips in with 10 for Westport. Bolton goes on to beat previously undefeated Ellenburg 68-47, in the final. Ken Pratt scores 19 points for Bolton while Alan LaFave, 19, and Larry LaBarge, 18, lead Ellenburg.

Beartown’s Jeff Berger wins the 14-15 age class in the Big Tupper Invitational slalom. Teammates Helen and Martha House and Brooke Buchanan earn second-place finishes while Jim House, David Tinker and Sally Reese place third and David Collin, fourth.

60 YEARS AGO (1953)

Susan Howell, 15, of Plattsburgh, is named the Girl Show Dog Fancier of 1952 for her work with the Plattsburgh Junior Kennel Club.

George Nostrand scores 41 points while Roche plays outstanding defense to lead Elizabethtown over Port Henry, 107-70, in the final of the First Gold Medal Basketball Tournament. Pepper tallies 14 for Port Henry.

Em Hargett scores 27 points and Chuck Hargett contributes 14 to lead Mineville past PHS 70-66 in the Section VII Class A final. Fran Horne and Wayne Benson each scores 18 for PHS while Mike Beauvais adds 10.

Harold Allen scores 16 points while Curry and Paul add 14 apiece to spark Ellenburg to a 59-42 triumph over Crown Point in the Class B final. Stanley leads the Panthers with 11.

70 YEARS AGO (1943)

Riley scores 11 points as St. John’s edges Plattsburgh High 24-23 in the league finale. Hartman leads PHS with seven.

The Sweater Girls win a 14-team bowling tournament at Nash Recreation Center. The team includes Evelyn Wood, Vanye Ragatz, Vivian Bessette, Hilda Beardsley and Hilda Gioiosa.

B. Dragoon scores 18 points and Stokes, 17, as the Plattsburgh All-Stars defeat the Morrisonville Town Team 58-278. Bouyea nets 11 for Morrisonville.