October 27, 2013

Flashback: October 27, 2013


---- —

10 YEARS AGO (2003)

Matt McCormick passes for 2 touchdowns and Jason Remillard runs for 2 scores and catches a TD pass to lead Peru past Beekmantown 47-3 in the Class B championship game.

Dan Chilton’s goal lifts Seton Catholic to a 1-0 win over Northeastern Clinton in the Class C boys’ soccer final while AuSable Valley defeats Ticonderoga 3-2 in the penalty-kick shootout in the girls’ final. Jennifer Whisher gets the winning score while Marissa Martin stars in goal for the Patriots.

Chazy sweeps the Class D crowns with Nolan Ryan and Nathan Russell scoring for a 2-0 victory over Willsboro in the boys’ final. Jessie Trombly’s goal lifts the girls  to a 3-2 win over Elizabethtown-Lewis.

Anna Case’s goal 35 seconds into the first overtime gives PHS a 1-0 triumph over Massena in Class A regional play.

Peru (Class B) and Saranac Lake (Class C) sweep in Section VII cross country with Charles Taylor and Micaela Klaus leading the Indians and Matt Zaunbrecher and Lisa Reyell pacing the Red Storm. Eddie Bevins, Jesse Berube and Lee Gabler spur Ticonderoga to the boys’ Class D title while Suliaka Lindemann leads the Seton Catholic girls.

20 YEARS AGO (1993)

Peru’s Sara Facteau captures an unprecedented fifth straight Class B title in Section VII cross country. Lake Placid’s Arien Baker, Chris Wheeler of Ticonderoga, and Seton Catholic’s Patrick Larkin also win individual honors.

Goaltender Mike Mondello is most valuable player as Plattsburgh State defeats Wisconsin-River Falls 9-4 in the championship game of the 12th Pepsi Classic. Chris Fess, Lenny Pereira, D.J. MacPhail and Rex Engle also make the all-tournament team.

Ben Sabourin’s last-minute interception preserves Peru’s 19-18 victory over Potsdam in the North Country Super Bowl. Chris Garrow is the Defensive Player of the Game and Sam Godfrey, the Offensive Player of the Game.

25 YEARS AGO (1988)

Freshman Heather Ives scores twice and Nicki Moore stars in goal as Ticonderoga edges Saranac Lake 2-1 for its first Section VII title in girls’ soccer.

Eric Weierstall’s goal in a sudden-death shootout gives NCCS a 1-0 win over Peru in a game featuring 4 overtimes and 2 shootouts.

Jeff Mulverhill leads the Malone boys to their 14th consecutive Section X cross-country championship while Sue Bergh leads the girls to victory.

Mike Vigliotti scores on a 10-yard run and Jay Livingston adds the point after, lifting Ticonderoga to a 7-6 win over MAI in a game that begins at MAI field and ends at Bailey Ave. field due to a light failure.

Soccer and softball standout Lori Lamora, a former star at Saranac Central, is named the Scholar-Athlete of the Year at Plymouth (N.H.) State for the 1987-88 year.

Russ Holland blocks a punt and John Lahtinen falls on the loose ball in the end zone for a touchdown as St. John’s goes on to defeat previously unbeaten Saranac Lake 24-7.

30 YEARS AGO (1983)

Todd Gregory’s sixth touchdown of the game — and second in overtime — gives Moriah a 48-42 win over St. John’s. The Vikings run for 366 yards while the Irish gain 200 on the ground and 200 through the air.

Beth Santor scores twice and adds an assist to lead AuSable Valley past Lake Placid 3-2 for its fifth soccer title in 8 years.

Junior Lynn Coffin wins the all-around for the fourth year in a row to lead Ticonderoga to a repeat in Section VII gymnastics.

Unbeaten Beekmantown turns back Ticonderoga 12-0 but loses leading rusher Richie Recor to a knee injury.

Karen Hansen and Mary Buck score goal as Plattsburgh High defeats Peru 2-0 in a shootout for the Hornets’ first title in Section VII girls’ soccer. Jill Provost makes 22 saves in goal.

Chuck Frost scores 3 times as Keene downs Westport 7-1 to claim its third straight D1 boys’ soccer title.

Suzanne Souza scores twice as Chazy tops Crown Point 4-1 for the girls’ Class D crown.

Saranac Lake native Jim Howard, an All-American at St. Lawrence University, wins the Track Athletic Congress (TAC) 30-kilometer national championship in Phoenix with a time of 1:35:31.

40 YEARS AGO (1973)

Tim Cummings returns a punt 45 yards to score as Plattsburgh State defeats Bridgewater (Mass.) State 6-0 for its first victory of the season. John Coughenour’s key interception saves the day for the Cardinals.

Dave Mayer and Jeannette Birtz are honored as champions at the North Country Golf Club’s annual banquet.

Butch Butchino runs for 150 yards and Bill Siskavich adds 135 as Saranac beats AuSable Valley 12-0.

Stetson Tanner scores on runs of 45 and 5 yards to rally Plattsburgh High past Moriah 20-14.

50 YEARS AGO (1963)

John Yopp, a 21-year-old mechanic at Plattsburgh Lanes, throws 3 strikes in the final frame to win the Canadian Professional Bowling Tournament at the Lanes. Stratford Ramsey of Plattsburgh places fifth.

Harry Canning runs for 224 yards and 2 touchdowns and passes for another in St. John’s 19-13 win over St. Pius X of Saranac Lake. Art Clark scores on a 75-yard run for the Golden Knights and John Stephen makes 26 tackles.

Dannemora and Westport are declared Class B co-champions in soccer after battling to a 1-1 tie over 78 minutes. Jack Kiroy scores for Dannemora while Mike Quinn counters for Westport.

Paul Major, 20, of Champlain, places fifth in the light heavyweight class at the North American Weightlifting Championships. Major is 5-foot-8, 175 pounds.

60 YEARS AGO (1953)

Bud Denno, Bob Connors and Bob Vanderwalker score touchdowns as Ticonderoga defeats St. John’s 23-0. The Irish lose Tom Mannix to a leg injury.

Joe Jastrab begins his first season as basketball coach at Plattsburgh State Teachers College with Jim Sears, Doug Mehne, Bob Merrill, John Humiston, Tom Cummings and Clarence Yando returning lettermen.

70 YEARS AGO (1943)

3,855 antler-less deer are taken during the 6-day experimental open season in the Adirondacks. Franklin reports 637 taken, Essex, 552, and Clinton, 25.