October 20, 2013

Flashback: October 20, 2013

10 YEARS AGO (2003)

Eric Bjornstad (Defensive), Eddie Castine (Offensive Rookie) and Ed McCallister (Coach) of the Lake City North Stars earn Northern Division honors for the year in the Empire Football League.

Marcia Coakley scores and Amanda Guynup stars in goal as Beekmantown beats Saranac 1-0 in the Section VII girls’ B semifinal. Nicole Sample and Haley Faubert lead Northeastern Clinton to a 2-1 win over Saranac Lake in the other semi. NCCS goes on to win the B title with a 2-0 victory on goals by Brittany Jarvis and Michelle Gaudreau.

Allen Alterie, Derik King and Brian Wells score in the penalty-kick shootout to give Willsboro the win over Elizabethtown-Lewis in the Class D boys’ semifinals. Corey Lewis contributes a goal and 2 assists as Chazy tops Johnsburg 6-2.

Maggie Beaton’s goal 6:05 into the first overtime lifts Elizabethtown-Lewis to a 2-1 upset of Willsboro in the Class D girls’ semifinals. Jessie Trombly scores twice for Chazy in its 2-1 win over Keene.

Kaitlyn Pote scores and Bridget Streeter stars defensively as Ticonderoga trims Seton Catholic 1-0 in the Class C girls’ semifinals. Lindsey Keyser’s 2 goals lead AuSable Valley to a 3-0 win over NAC.

Jeremy Ashline’s goal early in the second half propels NCCS to a 2-1 win over NAC in the Class C boys’ semis. Tom Franzon’s score gives Seton Catholic a 1-0 win over Lake Placid.

Matt Franzi and Nate Wilkins score for Peru in a 2-0 win over Beekmantown in the Class B boys’ final.

Carrie Latour’s goal with 1:40 left in the second OT gives PHS a 1-0 victory over Peru for the Class A girls’ crown.

Section X MVP Sarah Marlowe finishes first and Beth Hutchins fourth to lead Malone to victory in the section girls’ cross-country championships.

Vince Carter tallies 30 points to help the Toronto Raptors down the New Jersey Nets, giving Kevin O’Neill his first coaching victory in the NBA.

Text Only | Photo Reprints