March 3, 2013

Flashback: March 4, 2013


---- —

10 YEARS AGO (2003)

Mike Fernandez tosses in 17 points, Brendan Smith adds 10 and Matt Brassard stars defensively as Moriah knocks off Sharon Springs 60-56 to reach the Final Four in state Class D basketball.

Former Saranac standout Ann Parks is promoted to head coach of the Clarkson University women’s basketball team after serving briefly as interim.

Malone’s Jen Rockhill scores 2 goals to help North Country Community College defeat Clarkson University 5-0 for the Northeast Women’s Collegiate Hockey Association title.

Lake Placid’s Lowell Bailey, a sophomore at the University of Vermont, earns All-America honors with his second-place finish in the men’s 10K free technique cross-country ski race at the NCAA Championships.

Steven Thomas hits for 23 points and Justin Gardner chips in with 12 to lead NAC to a 60-52 overtime win over Saranac in the Section VII Boys’ Tournament of Champions final.

Mary Buckley scores 16 points and Kristen LaVigne, 11, to pace Saranac to a 41-35 win over Seton Catholic in the Section VII Girls’ Tournament of Champions title game.

Lyon Mountain’s Amanda Chase, running for Hamilton College, places second in the women’s 800 meters in the ECAC Indoor Track & Field Championships.

Tupper Lake’s Josh Dupuis places second in the shot put at the state indoor track meet.

Beekmantown’s Jason Lapham takes third at 112 pounds to earn his third straight medal in the state wrestling championships.

20 YEARS AGO (1993)

Northern Adirondack’s Scott Jarvis (105 pounds) and Beekmantown’s David Rabideau (112) place fourth in the state wrestling tournament.

Curt Hanover, Charles Weisman and Erik Wood are four-time winners as Plattsburgh High captures its second straight Section VII swimming championship.

Saranac sweeps in the basketball regionals. Tom Welch scores 28 points, grabs 13 rebounds and blocks 7 shots in a 59-44 victory over Canton while Amy Flick scores 16 and Missy Mato, 12, in a 53-42 triumph over Salmon River.

Hermon-Dekalb beats Crown Point in triple overtime, 70-65, despite Randy Pertak’s 22-point effort and Doug Allen’s 15 points and 13 rebounds.

Forrence Orchards, with Jenny Hanson, Arlene Kaplan, Marilyn Cotter, Amy Wisher and Karen Galarneau, wins the team title in the Women’s Bowling Association tournament.

25 YEARS AGO (1988)

Former AuSable Valley standout Wayne Lacy wins the long jump, places second in the high jump and shot put and takes fourth in the hurdles to lead Plattsburgh State to a second-place finish in the SUNYAC Indoor Track & Field Championships.

Peru, which let the title slip away to PHS the year before, exacts revenge in a big way by smacking the Hornets 97-31 in the Section VII Class B final. Travis Angevine scores 22 and Marty Maddix, 19, for the Indians.

Craig King scores 28 points to lead St. John’s to a 54-47 overtime victory over Ticonderoga in the Class C final. Chris Palmer pumps in 31 points to lead Wells to an 80-61 win over Willsboro in the Class D game.

Art LaMarche sets a new Plattsburgh State record of 22.46 seconds while finishing third in the 50-yard freestyle at the SUNYAC swimming championships.

Nancy Southwick and Kim Barnes each score 14 points to lead Northeastern Clinton to a 53-41 win over PHS in the Class B final while Faith Miller and Donna Dixon spark Beekmantown to a 42-27 win in the Class C title game. Jean Stickney nets 17 points to lead Newcomb past Elizabethtown-Lewis 35-32 in the Class D final.

30 YEARS AGO (1983)

Angelo Sutton scores 17 points and Tom Rose, 16, as Plattsburgh tops MAI 62-48 for the Section VII Class B title. Darren Bracy hits for 12 points and Evan Bracy, 10, for the Mounties.

Mark McIntyre sinks 21 of 28 free-throw attempts and finishes with 29 points to lead Ticonderoga to a 51-46 win over St. John’s in the Class C final. Neil Fesette tallies 14 for the Irish.

Steve LaDuke’s 3-point play with 4 seconds left lifts Dannemora to a 50-48 win over Long Lake in the Class D final. Pete Petrashune chips in with 23 points and 17 rebounds.

Jenny Johnson scores 18 points, including the 1,000th of her career, and Betsy Trombley contributes 16 to lead Northeastern Clinton to a 44-32 win over Ticonderoga.

Alison Spear’s 2 free throws with 18 seconds left give Peru a 44-42 win over AuSable Valley. Cindy Bolin comes off the bench to score 11 points for Peru while Belinda Cross leads the Patriots with 19.

40 YeARS AGO (1973)

Tony Bell’s basket at the buzzer gives Peru a 69-68 overtime victory, spoiling the opening night of the new Northern Adirondack gymnasium. John Zerrahn chips in with 16 for the Indians while Brian Boyea leads the Bobcats with 23 and Steve Chilton collects 20.

Steve Farrell scores 18 points and Carl Dragoon, 15, to lead PHS to a 61-47 triumph over St. John’s in the Class A final.

Dave Olcott nets 23 points and pulls down 16 rebounds while Paul Norton and Fred Hooper hit for 12 each as Elizabethtown-Lewis claims the Class B title with a 69-59 win over Crown Point. Glenn Lang leads the Panthers with 24.

Gary Castine tallies 31 points and Mitch Willette adds 21 as the Riley Ford Comets crush the Ellenburg Bobcats 114-78 in the opening round of the 11th Altona Basketball Tournament. Tony Deyo leads Ellenburg with 25.

50 YEARS AGO (1963)

Plattsburgh’s Ron Garrow, at 125 pounds, knocks out South African Benjamin Diamini in 1:57 of the third round at the National AAU Boxing Championships.

Bob Mitchell scores 18 points and John Lahtinen, 12, to lead Moriah to a 59-52 win over Peru in a Class A semifinal. Terry Ladd tosses in 18 in a losing cause.

Plattsburgh High tops Keeseville 68-60 in the other Class A semi with Harry Yelle scoring 15 points, Dick Booth, 11, and Dave LaMora, 10 for the Hornets. Don Ford leads Keeseville with 22 while Dave Mussen scores 15.

Chestertown eliminates defending Class C champion Altona 61-51 despite Ken Bushey’s 18-point effort.

60 YEARS AGO (1953)

Barry Riani scores 21 points to lead Keeseville to a 56-53 win over Ticonderoga in the Class A semifinals. Dreimiller nets 24 and Mero, 13, for Ticonderoga.

Allen scores 20 points and Ralph Rebie, 15, as Ellenburg edges Rouses Point 67-65. LaFave scores 20 and McCallum, 18, for Rouses Point.

Ronnie Allen nets 23 points, Stretch Coffey, 18, and Stan Stanley, 13, to lead Crown Point to a 68-42 triumph over Westport.

70 YEARS AGO (1943)

Morrisonville improves its 3-year record to 40-3 with a 101 thrashing of Ellenburg. LaRose scores 35 and Bouyea, 25, to lead the winners. Colgan nets 17 for Ellenburg.

Mooers, finishing the year with a 13-game winning streak, beats Peru 33-18 to capture the CCIL crown. Lamberton leads the winners with 18.

Edwin Craig scores 26 points to lead Champlain to a 50-35 win over Altona. Duprey and Jordan each tally 13 for Altona.

Hilda Beardsley rolls a 540 for the high series in the first week of the Women’s Bowling Association tournament. Gladys Herwerth and Loretta Porter-Shirley tie for high single with a 187.