February 10, 2013

Flashback: February 12, 2013

10 YEARS AGO (2003)

Lake Placid’s Taylor Hoffman, 23, wins the Eastern Ski-Jumping Championship in Gunstock, N.H. for the third time.

Bryan Duprey pours in 41 points, but it isn’t enough as Paul Smith’s College defeats Clinton Community College 81-69.

Nathan Dickinson scores 23 points and Joe Cashin, 22, as Elizabethtown-Lewis defeats Bolton 71-69, in overtime, to win the MVAC crown.

Heather Andersen tallies 24 points as Bolton captures the MVAC girls’ title with a 36-35 victory over Westport.

Matt Jodoin knocks in a rebound midway through the second period to lift Seton Catholic to a 2-1 victory over PHS, giving the Knights a perfect 10-0 finish in hockey.

Tasia Osier scores 17 points and grabs 11 rebounds while Meagan Tubbs tosses in 13 as Ticonderoga completes an 18-0 season (20-0, overall) with a 59-36 triumph over Lake Placid.

Adam Porter nails an off-balance 15-footer at the buzzer to give Ticonderoga 54-52 win over NCCS.

20 YEARS AGO (1993)

Lake Placid native and goaltending standout Rick Strack becomes the first Plattsburgh State athlete to have his number retired.

Plattsburgh’s Mark Bogucki sinks 8 3-pointers to tie the Section VII single-game record set the year before by Westport’s Ryan Sherman.

Matt LaClair hits for 32 points in Northern Adirondack’s 71-65 triumph over AuSable Valley.

Kasia Krul serves 18 points as NAC clinches the CVAC Div. II title in girls’ volleyball.

25 YEARS AGO (1988)

Kathy Champagne wins the Women’s Division of the Great Aloha Run in Honolulu, completing the 8.2 miles in 46 minutes, 40 seconds. More than 23,000 runners compete in the event.

Leigh Ryan sinks 14 straight free throws in the fourth quarter and finishes with 27 points as Plattsburgh High defeats Saranac Lake 57-31.

Pam Siskavich and Tonya Chase star as Northern Adirondack beats MAI 3-0 to clinch the CVAC volleyball title.

Tina Cornwright scores 22 points and Danielle Moon limits Julie Moore to 6 points as Elizabethtown-Lewis edges Westport 32-30 in a playoff for the MVAC crown.

Text Only | Photo Reprints