November 9, 2012

Lookback: Nov. 8, 2012


---- —

10 YEARS AGO (2002)

Katrina Liska and Nina Banker score to give AuSable Valley a 2-0 win over Potsdam in a Class B soccer regional.

Nick Gough’s goal in a sudden-death shootout lifts Chazy over Elizabethtown-Lewis in the Section VII Class D final.

Andrew Cummings runs for 3 scores and Joel Siskavich returns 2 interceptions for touchdowns in Seton Catholic’s 54-6 win over Moriah.

Debbie Davis and Kaleen Keleher score second-half goals in Plattsburgh High’s 2-1 win over Beekmantown in the girls’ Class B soccer final.

Sophomore Jen Whisher’s overtime goal gives AuSable Valley a 1-0 win over Ticonderoga and the Class C crown.

Kristin Filion makes a game-saving stop in goal late in regulation and then Jessie Trombly scores 6:08 into the first overtime to give Chazy a 1-0 win over Bolton for the Class D title.

20 YEARS AGO (1992)

Matt Bruce runs a punt back 72 yards to score and Scott Nicholas scores twice as Saranac Lake rallies to beat Moriah 21-14 and claim the CVAC Div. II and Class C playoff titles.

Tony Holdby scores 4 touchdowns for Malone in a 48-46, triple-overtime loss to Massena.

Sara Facteau and Matt Goette give Peru a sweep of the CVAC cross-country titles.

Bill Munson scores 3 touchdowns and Darrell LaFrance, one, as Ticonderoga downs playoff-bound Moriah 27-0.

Sophomore Meagan Forttrell scores to give Seton Catholic a 1-0 win over previously unbeaten Peru in the girls’ Class B soccer final.

Sean Clute gets 2 goals and Adam Howard, one, to lead Peru past PHS 3-0 in the boys’ B final.

Jason Moulton scores with 21:23 to play, lifting NAC over Northeastern Clinton 1-0 in the Class C final.

Carrie Nutt scores twice and Angie Birtz, once, while Amy Nutt stars in the midfield as NCCS defeats Tupper Lake 3-0 for the Class C crown.

Deanne Webster and Crystal Lackey score goals to send Crown Point on to a 2-0 win over Lake Placid in the girls’ D final.

25 YEARS AGO (1987)

Plattsburgh High’s Pat Watson and AuSable Valley’s Tammy Rule win the CVAC individual titles in cross country.

Darryl Lovely intercepts 2 passes and Dan Bressette, one, while Derek McKinney scores the lone touchdown in AuSable Valley’s 8-0 win over Beekmantown. It is the Patriots’ first victory over the Eagles in football.

Chad Lawrence and Jeff Mulverhill lead the Malone boys to their 13th straight Section X cross-country crown while Tina Peryea and Kerry Melville pace the FA girls to their 4th straight sectional win.

Heather Moon, April Burdo and Chrissy Huntley score in the shootout to lift Elizabethtown-Lewis to a 7-5 win over previously unbeaten Chazy in a Class D girls’ soccer semifinal. The Lions then beat Crown Point 2-0 for the title with Moon and Bambi Crowningshield scoring goals.

Eighth-grader Kelly Seyle wins 3 events and Meagon McCarthy, one, to lead PHS to its fourth straight Section VII gymnastics championship.

Newcomb overcomes 2 goals by Rob McAuliffe to beat Chazy 3-2 in the boys’ D semifinals.

Anne Yeckley scores twice as MAI wins its first ever sectional soccer title, beating Peru 2-0 in Class B.

David Perez gets 2 goals and Mark Deresky, one, as Peru defeats MAI 3-0 for the boys’ Class B soccer title.

Greg Boulrice tallies 2 goals and Jerry Kowalowski, one, to lead NAC over St. John’s 3-1 in the Class C final.

30 YEARS AGO (1982)

Colgate University scores 4 goals in the third period to pull away to an 8-4 victory that spoils Doug Kacharvich’s coaching debut at Plattsburgh State. The hockey Cardinals then play to a 4-4 tie with St. Lawrence as goaltender Steve Knish comes up with 65 saves.

Northeastern Clinton sophomore Andy Guay and Beekmantown freshman Suzie Klein win the CVAC cross-country championships.

Joe Trombley and Alex Meyer each score 2 goals and David Miner, one, as MAI repeats as Section VII Class B boys’ soccer champ with a 5-0 win over Peru.

Terry Guay scores 3 times and assists on the other goal as St. John’s repeats in Class C with a 4-0 win over AuSable Valley.

Billy Garrison, Peter Hald and Bob Egglefield score goals and Scott Farrell stars in goal as Elizabethtown-Lewis beats Keene 3-0 for the Class D crown.

The Polish National Team defeats Plattsburgh State in an exhibition basketball game. Bill Stevens scores 14 points and Paul Glodis, 13, for the Cardinals.

Chris Mazzotte runs for touchdowns of 60 and 73 yards in Moriah’s 14-0 win over Ticonderoga.

Lisa Hills, Nina Panzer and Shelly Strack score in the shootout as Lake Placid beats Norwood-Norfolk 3-2 to claim its first regional title in girls’ soccer.

40 YEARS AGO (1972)

George Poissant and Jim Proulx score goals as Chazy edges Elizabethtown-Lewis 2-1 in the Section VII soccer semifinals. The Eagles then go on to beat Northern Adirondack 1-0 for the title on a Poissant penalty kick.

Scott Lawrence scores 2 goals and Mark Smith, Mike Farrell and Harry Garvey each add one to lead North Country Community College to a 5-3 win over Clinton CC, giving the Saints their third straight conference title in soccer. Scott Keysor scores twice and Mark Stone, once, for the Cougars.

Mickey Carpenter returns a punt 79 yards to score and Don Buck runs in 2 TDs as St. John’s beats PHS 32-0. The Irish then clinch the CVL title when Peru ties Moriah 6-6. Tab Bourgeois runs 63 yards to score following a fumble recovery for Peru. Dean Garrison scores on a 2-yard run for Moriah.

50 YEARS AGO (1962)

Defensive star Joe Furrey returns a fumble recovery to the Moriah 22, setting up Bob Kelly’s quarterback sneak early in the fourth quarter as St. John’s knocks off the previously unbeaten Vikings 7-6. Greg Phifer’s point after provides the margin for victory. Moriah took an early lead on John Lahtinen’s TD run, but Mike Loughan stops Dave Gilbo on the PAT try.

Leon Angevine scores twice and Peru beats PHS 13-6 to gain a share of the CVL Div. I title.

Carl King runs for 2 scores and passes to Terry Polhemus for 2 more as OLVA defeats AuSable Forks 46-26.

John Baker and Rance McKenna score touchdowns in MAI’s 12-7 win over Ticonderoga. Mickey Davis gets the Sentinel score.

60 YEARS AGO (1952)

Ernie Sample scores 4 goals and Bob Dragoon, one, while Billy Leahy connects on a penalty kick to lead Mooers to an 11-0 thumping of Rouses Point for the Section VII Class B title in soccer.

Ray Edgely, Ken Porter, Joe Edgely and Bob Sears score touchdowns as Lake Placid wraps up the Champlain Valley League football title with a 40-14 victory over PHS.

Bud Denno scores 3 touchdowns in Ticonderoga’s 26-7 victory over St. John’s.

Lou Phinney runs for 2 TDs in Port Henry’s 12-0 triumph over MAI.

70 YEARS AGO (1942)

Paul Hartman scores on a 3-yard run behind the line play of Charlie Carr, Joe Papa, Russell Ricketson, Bob Mackey and Clem Tourville as Plattsburgh High defeats Lake Placid 6-0.

Chit O’Hara scores 2 touchdowns and Jarvis connects with Doyle on a TD pass to lead St. John’s to an 18-7 win over PHS.