March 20, 2012

Flashback: March 20, 2012

10 YEARS AGO (2002)

▶ Plattsburgh's Shane Hubbell places 18th in boardercross at the National Snowboarding Championships.

▶ Sarah Sandwick and Kaitlin Branon of Plattsburgh are selected to represent New York State in the Chicago Showcase for girls' hockey.

▶ Peru's Matt Bezio is named Class B Player of the Year for 2001 and Larry Ewald, Coach of the Year, by the New York State Football Coaches Association.

▶ Former Peru standout Jeff Way is named Saranac head coach in football.

▶ Kristin LaVallie, Aimee Marsh, Jess Harrica, Ashley Sherman and Jenna Proctor are named to the All-State team in girls' basketball.

20 YEARS AGO (1992)

▶ Larry Zinger scores twice and Chris Fess, Jim Duran, Steve Moore, John Peron and Matt Furtado add one each to lead Plattsburgh State to a 7-3 victory over 3-time defending champion Wisconsin-Stevens Point before a Stafford Arena crowd of 3,000 and a live television audience.

▶ Elmira College's Mike McNamara, knocked unconscious in a March 14 hockey game at Plattsburgh State, will make a full recovery. His family is in Plattsburgh to thank the medical personnel and community for their support.

▶ Lake Placid's Linda Friedlander is ranked first in doubles and second in singles among senior women in the Northeast in tennis.

▶ Gary Fessette scores 29 points while Tom Lacey and Tom Ryan chip in with 23 apiece to lead McSweeney's to a 96-92 double-overtime victory over Corrado's Construction in the championship game of the Midas Mudhens Adult Basketball League. Pat McGinn tosses in 41 points and Ron Hamel, 35, for Corrado's.

▶ Junior Russell Holland is recognized for leading the SUNY Cortland hockey team in scoring with 24 goals, 21 assists.

25 YEARS AGO (1987)

E Dave Piromalli scores 4 goals and Jean Simon Bibeau, Gerry Dineen, Jeff Bunyon and Joey Ferras each add one as Plattsburgh State defeats SUNY Oswego 8-2 in the NCAA Div. III hockey championship game. The Cardinals are later stripped of the title for NCAA violations that occurred from 1984-86.

Text Only | Photo Reprints