June 10, 2012

Flashback (June 8-14)


---- — 10 YEARS AGO (2002)

Peru’s Chris Henderson captures the gold medal in the Class B 200 (22.24) and 400 meters (48.79) at the state track & field championships. Saranac Lake’s Laura Snizek earns a silver (400) and bronze (200) while teammate Adam VanNortwick garners two bronze (1,600, 3,200) and Northeastern Clinton’s Mike Castine (shot put) a bronze in Class B.

Nick Fitzsimmons of AuSable Forks and Elizabethtown’s Nikki Kimball win the 25th Whiteface Mountain Uphill Footrace.

Bolton’s Blair Ciccarelli strikes out 10 in hurling the Eagles to a 3-2 victory over Crown Point for the MVAC championship. David Potter allows only 5 hits in the loss while Tom Walters and Kebin Benway each get 2 hits for Crown Point.

Ellicottville ends Moriah’s playoff run with a 12-3 victory in the Class D semifinals in baseball. Bryan Popp and Jason Larmore deliver RBI singles for the Vikings.

20 YEARS AGO (1992)

Jen Gerardi hurls a 2-hitter for her 50th career win as Seton Catholic defeats Massena 4-1 in the first round of the state Class B softball playoffs. Kelli O’Connell leads the Knights with 2 hits while Geradi and Becky Rury chip in with doubles.

Erika Lewis tosses a 3-hitter as Mohonasen edges Seton Catholic 6-3 in the quarterfinals. O’Connell clubs a 2-run homer in a losing effort while Kerri Martinovich adds an RBI single.

Ted Bearor’s bases-loaded triple lifts Greenwich to a 4-2 win over Saranac in Class C baseball quarterfinal play.

Marie Martina and Carolee Vassar tie for first in the C Division with a four-game series of 757 at the New York State Women’s Bowling Association 600 Club Tournament in Plattsburgh. Janet Reid wins D Division with a 697.

25 YEARS AGO (1987)

Beekmantown’s Paul LaRock (St. Lawrence University) and Saranac Lake’s Rick Samuels (Hobart College) are named to the All-ICAC baseball team.

Larry Cowan, 28, a Buffalo native and assistant coach at Utica College under Larry Costello, is named men’s basketball coach at Plattsburgh State.

Redford’s Glenn Petrashune is off a to a torrid start in the CVBL with 8 homers, 16 runs batted in and a .433 batting average after 10 games. Lyon Mountain’s Brian Juntunen leads the league in hitting, at .515.

30 YEARS AGO (1982)

Paul LaRock pitches a 3-hitter and Steve Masters gets 2 hits and 2 RBI as Beekmantown claims the Section VII Class C baseball title with a 5-0 victory over Saranac.

Sue Abell hurls a 4-hitter and helps her cause with 2 hits as Moriah blanks Beekmantown 2-0 to win the Class C softball crown. Lisa Corron has 2 hits, with a triple, for the Eagles.

Draper edges St. John’s 1-0 in Class C state baseball playoff action despite Eric Fuller’s 3-hitter. Two disputed calls hurt the Irish: Kirk Little’s apparent home run is ruled a triple and Johnny Amell is called out for stepping out of the batter’s box on a suicide squeeze.

Winning pitcher Paul Arnold, Rick Provost and Brian King come through with clutch hits as Willsboro tops Keene 2-1 to win the MVAC baseball crown. Jay Dumas goes 3-for-3 for the Beavers while Pete Voss adds a double.

40 YEARS AGO (1972)

Tom White pitches a 4-hitter and contributes an RBI double as Westport defeats Crown Point 4-1 to win the MVL and Section VII Class B baseball crowns. Tim Tyler and Tom Meaker chip in with RBI singles and Dale Aubin adds a 2-run single.

Alex Johnson’s 2-run triple sends Peru on to a 10-5 victory over NAC in the Class A final. Mike Yasment drives in 3 runs for the Bobcats, who are hurt by 7 errors.

Dave Roth tosses a 3-hitter and overcomes 8 errors to lead Schroon Lake to its first sectional baseball title victory, a 6-2 win over Indian Lake. Dave Swinton drives in 2 with a double.

50 YEARS AGO (1962)

Alvin Thompson’s 3-run double is the big blow as Lyon Mountain beats Bolton 12-4 in the Class B semifinals. Bob Petrashune pitches a one-hitter with 12 strikeouts and Mike Shusda goes 3-for-3.

Lyon Mountain wraps up the B championship with a 4-2 win over Westport. Petrashune pitches a 2-hitter and Alex Benware doubles in 2 runs for the Miners.

Paul Giroux raps out 3 hits with a triple and a double and Joe Owens and Tom Baker each chip in with a pair as Peru defeats Lake Placid 12-3 in the Class A final.

Don Sayah cracks a 2-run homer and RBI triple to spark Altona to an 8-6 win over Long Lake in the Class C title game. Harmon Rumrill adds a solo homer while winning pitcher Steve Deyo helps the cause with 2 hits.

Plattsburgh State’s Larry Storrs of Cadyville is named to the NYSIAC all-star team after playing errorless ball in the Cardinals’ infield and batting .286.

Michael Beerman, a 4-year starter for PHS, is awarded a full 4-year scholarship for football to the University of Georgia.

60 YEARS AGO (1952)

Basil Curry scatters 6 hits and fans 10 while Bryant Curry contributes a 2-run double as Ellenburg shocks previously unbeaten Lyon Mountain 6-2 to win the Section VII Class B baseball title.

Bill Higgins and Don Clark each collect 2 hits to lead Peru to an 8-1 victory over St. Mary’s in the season finale. Peru finishes 11-1 while the Champlain club ends 9-3.

Clay Defayette singles in the 9th and scores when Clem Nephew’s grounder is misplayed, giving Lyon Mountain a 3-2 triumph over OLVA and the Fran-Clin League championship.

Richard McCormick’s 2-run single and Barry Riani’s RBI single spur Keeseville on to a 9-1 victory over Lake Placid in the Class A semifinals. Williams drives in 2 with a double as AuSable Forks edges Peru 8-7 in the other semi.

70 YEARS AGO (1942)

John Lynch won 2 events and Robert Lafontaine, one, to lead the seniors to victory in the annual MAI Field Day. Richard Cook of the junior class won 3 events.

Cadyville’s Arnold Beauchemin has his string of consecutive no-hitters snapped at 3, but he still pitches a 4-hitter with 15 strikeouts in a 6-4 win over Morrisonville. Lavarnway’s 2-run homer, with Dutton aboard, in the 7th was the winning blow, giving Cadyville the CCIL crown.

Don MacDonald, no-hit artist for Mooers, wraps up the season with a one-hit, 17-strikeout effort against St. Mary’s.