January 12, 2014

Flashback: January 12, 2014

10 YEARS AGO (2004)

Nate Boyer scores 26 points to lead PHS past Malone 57-47. Brandon Dunlavey paces the Huskies with 19.

Monica Angelosanto nets 28 points as unbeaten Chazy downs Elizabethtown-Lewis 60-48. Mallory Morris hits for 10 for the Lions.

Justin Swan scores 14 of his 16 points in the second half to spark Moriah to a 49-46 victory over Tupper Lake.

Joe Akey, Andrew Cummings, Matt McCormick, Steve Soderberg, Diavalo Fletcher and Jason Remillard of Section VII are named First-Team selections in All-State football.

Malone’s Jake Warren is voted the outstanding wrestler while Beekmantown’s Tyler James spends the least time on the mat in the 35th Peru Wrestling Classic won by the host Indians with 273 points. Beekmantown is runnerup with 246.

West Chazy’s Shawn Nutt captures the 800 CC Semi-Pro final in Northeast Snocross Challenge competition in Malone.

20 YEARS AGO (1994)

Moriah’s Mike Trombley, Peru’s Chris Garrow and Sam Godfrey, and Saranac Lake’s Matt Bruce and Will Ellsworth are named to the All-State team in football.

Patrick Larkin, Jim VanArman and Jeremy Stone of Seton Catholic make the All-State team in cross country.

Tom Gale and Joe Facteau score two goals as Beekmantown beats Northeastern Clinton, 7-4, to snap a 47-game losing streak in hockey. Ryan RomanchukJohn Carter, Jarod Laurin also score for the Eagles.

Erin Pratt scores 25 points to lead Westport to a 49-38 win over Schroon Lake in a battle of unbeatens. Shannon Brock, the Wildcats’ top scorer, gets in foul trouble early.

Malone’s Chad Lane clears 13 feet to set a school record in the pole vault.

25 YEARS AGO (1989)

Seventh-grader Dave Rabideau (91 pounds), Travis McLennon (105) and Guy Peryea (155) win their weight classes to lead Beekmantown to the Ravena Invitational wrestling crown.

Jon Rushford scores 33 points and David Lapoint, 24, to lead NAC to a 77-61 win over Beekmantown in a battle of undefeateds. Scott Aguglia nets 18 for the Eagles.

Text Only | Photo Reprints