College Sports

June 1, 2014

Akwesasne brothers earn Tewaarton Award

WASHINGTON (AP) — Native American brothers Miles and Lyle Thompson, the Albany stars who each broke the Division I lacrosse record for most points in a season, are co-winners of the Tewaaraton Award.

The trophy, given to the best player in the nation, was awarded Thursday night at the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of the American Indian. The Thompsons are the first Native Americans to win the Tewaaraton (DAY-wah-ALLAH-DOON) and the first players to share it.

Lyle, a junior and the only player in Division I history with two 100-point seasons, had 51 goals and a record-tying 77 assists for 128 points. Last year, he finished with 113 points (50 goals, 63 assists), one off the previous mark set by Steve Marohl (37 goals, 77 assists) of UMBC in 1992.

Miles, a senior, finished the season with 82 goals in 18 games, matching the Division I record for goals in a season set in 1990 by Jon Reese of Yale. Miles also had 37 assists for 119 points.

Taylor Cummings of Maryland won the women’s award.

The Thompsons — whose cousin, Ty, had 41 goals and 12 assists to help make Albany the highest-scoring team in Division I for two straight seasons — were born on a Mohawk Indian reservation in northern New York and relished the breakthrough because it was something very special.

“It is the best feeling to share the award with my brother and be the first Native Americans to win it,” Miles said. “No words can express this feeling. We grew up together, we stuck together throughout high school, and it shows how close we are.”

“Words cannot describe how happy I am. It brought tears to my eyes,” Lyle added. “To share the award with my brother is an honor. For us, it is about bringing a positive influence and helping people, not just Native Americans, but everyone.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
College Sports
College Sports Photos

Sports Videos