August 29, 2013

Sports Shorts: August 29, 2013


---- — Fall coaching forms due Aug. 30

PLATTSBURGH — Coaching forms for the fall 2013 season have been sent to local high school athletic directors by the Press-Republican.

If you have not received your form, please check with your athletic director or contact the Press-Republican at Forms are due by Aug. 30.


Bagley registers first hole-in-one

LAKE PLACID — Kathy Bagley of Lake Placid, a member of the Whiteface Club & Resort, recorded her first hole-in-one on the par 3, 14th hole Aug. 23.

Adele Connors witnessed the feat.


The Barracks Club Championship tee times

PLATTSBURGH — The tee times and pairings for the Barracks Club Championship have been announced.

Championship Flight

7:30 a.m. — Dave LaMora, Bill Fisher, Chuck Voorhees.

7:38 a.m. — Al Schudde, Matt Davis, Kurt Zepf.

7:46 a.m. — Dean Miller, Josh Hlaing, Pete Sorrell, Austin LaDieu.

A Flight

8 a.m. — Mike Dodds, Bobby Dergham, Todd Aley, Mark Stone.

8:08 a.m. — Max Cutaiar, Jim Barr, Tim Meschinelli, Alex Faruqi.

8:16 a.m. — Bob Soltero, Bob Wieworka, Kevin Hunt, Dave Vivian.

8:24 a.m. — Larry Brown, Frank Irwin, Rick Lorey, Dave Duprey.

B Flight

8:36 a.m. — Phil Dubuque, John Drollette, Tom Curle, Dave Terry.

8:44 a.m. — Mike Lonergan, Frank How, Bob Blanchard, Ray Dubuque.

8:52 a.m. — Henry Wurster, Ollie Bickel, Justin Herzog.


9 a.m. — Jean Poutre, Joe Kilkeary, Paul Aikens.

9:08 a.m. — Chris Boslet, Ernie Rock, Sonny Stampfler, Jack Murphy.

9:16 a.m. — Bob Montefusco, Richard Garrant, Ray Suarez, Doug Haines.

9:24 a.m. — Dave Durham, Claude Morgan, Len Skillan, Clark Everleth.


Gosselin on SUNY Canton cross country team

CANTON — Northeastern Clinton graduate Devin Gosselin will be part of the 2013 women’s cross country team at SUNY Canton for the 2013 season.

Gosselin, a freshman, will be majoring in Practical Nursing while at Canton.


Thursday women’s golf league crowns champions

PLATTSBURGH — The team of Janet Mitchell, Sue DeForge, Agnes Pearl, and Deanna Kneussle combined for a 37 to score a one-stroke victory in the season-ending scramble for the Thursday women’s golf league at The Barracks. Runner-up honors went to Maria Brown, Alice Fortin, Theresa Bruno and Jane Houth with a 38. Third place went to the team of Colleen Gilligan, Mary Ann Griffin, Mary Margaret Ireland, and Virginia Crispell.

For the season, the over-all champions were Colleen Gilligan (gross) and Sandy Maddox (net). In the A Flight, Ellen Hogan had low net and Janice Hackett had low gross. In the B Flight, Fran Baroody was low net while Alice Fortin was low gross. Mary Margaret Ireland had low net for C Flight and Agnes Pearl had low gross.

Fran Baroody was elected president of the league for the 2014 season. Katie Zuckerman will serve as vice president, Virginia Crispell as recording & corresponding secretary and Jennie Booth as treasurer. Mary Ann Griffin will do the play dates.

The league is open to new members with play scheduled every Thursday from mid-May until the end of August. Women interested in joining the league should call Virginia Crispell at 946-7743.