June 22, 2013

Sports Shorts: June 22, 2013


---- — North Country Golf Club hosts 62nd Golf Tournament Sunday

ROUSES POINT — The North Country Golf Club will host its 62nd annual Golf Tournament Sunday.

The annual event has two-player teams comprised of members from the North Country Golf Club.

The teams are flighted, according to handicap in a better ball format with 80 percent of handicap used to allocate strokes.

This year’s event has 46 two-player teams.

Participants are encouraged to check out the North Country Golf Club Facebook page for the most recent information regarding NCGC.

Sunday Tee Times

7:52 a.m., Tee 10, Red Demers; Carl Smith; Paul Demers; James Favreau.

8:00 a.m., Tee 1, Steve Labombard; Cody Roberts; Barton Vanleuvan; Matthew Seguin.

8:00 a.m., Tee 10, Phyllis Coryea; Lisa Lambert; Barb Phillips; Gail Vanhoesen.

8:07 a.m., Tee 1, Brad Trombley; Ethen Votraw; Tom Reid; Nolan Reid.

8:07 a.m., Tee 10, David Ashline; Kathy Ashline; Jeffrey Bouyea; Anne Bouyea.

8:15 a.m., Tee 1, Claude Poitras; Real Ouellette; Patrick Welch; Robert Barnes.

8:15 a.m., Tee 10, Dennie Laporte; Joy Laporte; Bob Favro; Sue Gadway.

8:22 a.m., Tee 1, Larry Brown; Ernie Barcomb; Tom Juneau; Donald Cooke.

8:22 a.m., Tee 10, Kevin Walczak; Tom O’Connor; Clark Foster; Mark Head.

8:30 a.m., Tee 1, Gaetan Montpetit; Michel Martel; Dave Kokes; Chris Kokes.

8:30 a.m., Tee 10, Jorge Delarosa; Jim Forkey; Rodger Bodine; Timothy B Parker.

8:37 a.m., Tee 1, Cody Obrian; Mike Relation; James Mackinnon; Chris Welch.

8:37 a.m., Tee 10, Elton Jodoin; Dan Hobbs; Vaughn C Button; Brian Wilson.

8:45 a.m., Tee 1, Pat Holmes; Hector Kaufman; Kevin Gero; David Lambert.

8:45 a.m., Tee 10, Joe Cartier; Sharron Cartier; Tom Raville; Laury Raville.

8:52 a.m., Tee 1, Gaelan Trombley; Daniel Harriman; Jaimie Gadway; Kyle Gadway.

8:52 a.m., Tee 10, Marcel Charron; Jr Davenport; Bill Buley; Richard Rogers.

9:00 a.m., Tee 1, Dave Valenze; Joe Favro; Nick Wynnik; Todd Hebert.

9:07 a.m., Tee 1, Suzanne Beaubien; Jacques Godin; Kathy Barcomb; William Bechard.

9:15 a.m., Tee 1, Bob Dumesil; Bill Glaude; Gaylord McDonald; Harvey Suprenant.

9:22 a.m., Tee 1, Bob Munson; Don Gilman; Dan Munson; John Munson.

9:30 a.m., Tee 1, Tom Pepper; Stub Pepper; Raymond Larocque; Keith McKanick.

9:37 a.m., Tee 1, Monique Champagne; Yvonne Ouellette; Pinky Labarge; Larry Labarge.


AC North offers skating

PLATTSBURGH — The Ameri-Can North Sports Center will hold stick-n-puck from 3:30 to 5 p.m. Sunday and public skating from 2 to 3 p.m. Sunday.


Summer Basketball results announced

PLATTSBURGH — Results from the first week of the City of Plattsburgh Adult Summer Basketball Leagues from the City Recreation Center:

Open Men’s League

CSEA Local 884 76, Peabody’s 63

CSEA Local 884- Shavar Fields, 30 points; Anthony Williams, 13 points.

Peabody’s- Matt Farbotko, 19 points.

4th Ward 36er’s 73, Jungle Boyz 47

4th Ward- Tory Bouyea, 18 points; Nick O’Meara, 15 points.

Jungle Boyz- Matt Hughey, 23 points; Eli Nathan, 14 points.

Chateaugay 76, The Weatherock 42

Chateaugay- Jered Heden, 24 points; Michael Boyea, 22 points.

The Weathercock- Chris Strack, 13 points.

Open Women’s League

Fesette High Peaks Dental 65, Bballin’ Mamas 38

Fesette- Marle Curle, 19 points; Emily Marshall 17 points.

Bballin’ Mamas- Lashauna Quarles, 12 points; Kate Munson-Dupree, 9 points.

K. Garrand Team 60, Durocher Auto Sales 35

K. Garrand Team- Emily Decker, 10 points; Katrina Garrand, 9 points.

Durocher Auto Sales- Jacee Sutton, 16 points.

American Legion Post 1619 vs K. Babbie Team to be rescheduled.


Cring aces 17 at Craig Wood

LAKE PLACID — Ken Cring of Malone recorded a hole-in-one on No. 17 at the Craig Wood Golf Course during the United Way Pro-Am Golf Tournament. The hole was also a prize hole, so Cring won a $500 online shopping spree sponsored by Plattsburgh Ford and was outfitted head to toe with a new golfing outfit. Cring was part of a foursome that included actor James “Top Gun” Tolkan, who played the school principal in Back to the Future. Among the other witnesses were Rodney Provost and Jim Cring.


Plattsburgh State athletes recognized by SUNYAC

CORTLAND — The SUNY Athletic Conference has honored 64 Plattsburgh State winter and spring student-athlete on the 2013 Spring All-Academic Team and Commissioner’s List.

To be eligible for the SUNYAC All-Academic Team, a student-athlete must maintain a grade-point average of 3.3 of higher in the spring semester. Student-athletes selected to the Commissioner’s List must have a grade-point average of 3.3 or higher based on three semesters at their institution.

Men’s Basketball: Alan Siergiej (AA).

Women’s Basketball: Catherine Cassidy (AA), Misha Green (AA), Brittany Marshall (AA, CL), Devona Paul (AA), Brooke Reifinger (CL).

Men’s Hockey: Brandon Beadow (AA, CL), Michael Cassidy (AA, CL), Jake Mooney (AA, CL), Barry Roytman (AA, CL).

Women’s Hockey: Sydney Aveson (AA, CL), Bridget Balisy (AA), Jordan Caldwell (AA, CL), Mia Favretto (CL), Caitlin Gilligan (AA), Teal Gove (AA, CL), Morgan MacInnis (AA, CL), Alyssa Parke (AA, CL), Giovanna Senese (AA), Ali Vakos (AA), Andrea Ziesmann (AA).

Men’s Track & Field: Daniel Bennett (CL), Matt Corbine (CL), Ben Depo (AA, CL), Brian Drollette (AA, CL), Dylan Hedderman (AA), Ryan Kerner (AA), Christian Whalen (AA).

Women’s Track & Field: Christen Averill (AA), Jasmine Boncore (AA), Lauren Carlino (AA), Stephanie Catalioto (AA), Colleen Coon (AA, CL), Savannah Davis (AA), Laura Diehl (AA), Katie Ehmann (AA, CL), Amanda Gadway (AA, CL), Darnelle Guerrier (AA), Amanda Joskow (AA, CL), Briana Maginn (AA, CL), Erika Ozols (AA, CL), Kristie Pageau (AA, CL), Amanda Schermerhorn (AA), Kelly Siry (AA), Lauren Templeton (AA).

Baseball: Casey Brighton (AA, CL), Casey Mohrien (AA, CL), Shunsuke Sugimoto (AA).

Softball: Brianna Clarke (AA, CL), Melanie Hayes (AA, CL), Michelle Iannone (AA, CL), Ashley Marshall (AA, CL), Kristin Nabor (AA, CL), Emily Sharlow (AA, CL).

Lacrosse: Ryan Braithwaite (AA), Alex Carnaxide (AA, CL), Courtney Cox (CL), Dan Field (AA), Brendan Hickey (AA, CL), Erik Howard (AA), Tim Lawrence (AA, CL), Mike Lind (AA, CL), Patrick Nash (AA), Anthony Pafundi (AA).


Beekmantown girls’ hockey meeting Tuesday

PLATTSBURGH — The Beekmantown girls’ high school hockey team will hold a meeting to discuss the 2013-14 season at 6:30 p.m. Tuesday, June 25, at Ameri-Can North Arena.

Parents of any girl interested in playing high school hockey are asked to attend in order to get a number of how many girls may be playing. Upcoming fund-raiser events will also be discussed and planned for.