June 11, 2011

Two teams lead Tanneberger


WESTPORT — Two two-person teams combined to shoot 69 Friday to grab the first-round lead in the Championship Flight of the Annual Dr. Thomas Tanneberger Memorial Golf Tournament, held at the Westport Golf Club.

Dave and Matt Rowe carded a 69 and were joined by Paul Salerno and Brian Cross, the defending champions. Four other teams are two strokes off the pace.

In the First Flight, five teams each shot a 76 Friday to share the first-day lead. Two teams share first place in the Second Flight at 79.

In the Third Flight, Eric Gay and Travis Sheehan carded an 84 and hold a one-stroke advantage over seven other teams.

Paul Gorney and Tom Trautman have a one-stroke lead over three teams in the Fourth Flight after shooting an 88 Friday, while Jack Fletcher and Steve Oshel hold down first in the Fifth Flight with a 93, one stroke better than two other teams.

Tee times for today's second of three rounds begin at 8:39 on the front nine and at 8:09 on the back nine.

Tanneberger Memorial

First-day results

Championship Flight

69- Dave Rowe/Matt Rowe

69- Paul Salerno/Brian Cross

71- Mike Graves/Mike Law

71- Jim Stahl/John Stahl

71- George Bouyea/Tom Raville

71- Jim Forcier/Mike O'Connor

First Flight

76- Pat Gothie/Adam Jalbert

76- Derek Amerlinck/Eric Roca

76- John McDonald/Dick Sausville

76- Jim Geohegan/Ed Vogel

76- Greg Shaughnessy/John Swinton

Second Flight

79- Chuck Novak/Matt Novak

79- Mark Heick/John Wieser

80- Jeff Kaleita/Bob Kaleita

80- Andrew Pemrick/Ryan Sherman

80- Tod Evers/Terry Smith

Third Flight

84- Eric Gay/Travis Sheehan

85- Nathan Gay/Zach Sherman

85- John Kelly/Smitty Marvin Jr.

85- Dan Connell/Kevin Connell

85- Owen Fox/Kevin O'Keefe

85- Steve Brace/Stanley Gilbo

85- Caroline Hayes/Serge Petelle

85- Rick Bunning/Chris Coley

Fourth Flight

88- Paul Gorney/Tom Trautman

89- Andrew Szczerba/Stanley Szczerba

89- John Grela/Dave Powers

89- Bruce Phillips/Arlene Phillips

Fifth Flight

93- Jack Fletcher/Steve Oshel

94- Samantha Connell/Bill Murray

94- Bill Gambin/Ron Grover

95- Mike Brankman/Cathy Brankman

95- Matt Beal/Chris Fields