August 18, 2013

On-track accident ends Airborne's night early


---- — PLATTSBURGH — Airborne Speedway halted its race card with one race remaining and ruled the Ernie’s Tools Modified open competition main event official with 27 of 30 laps completed after the race was red-flagged for an on-track incident that required emergency medical assistance.

Airborne official Ed Nephew, according to a press release, was struck on the track by a race car as the Modified field was circling the racing surface under caution. Nephew, alert and conscious, was brought by ambulance to CVPH Medical Center.

George Foley of Bloomfield, who had opened up a sizeable lead in the Pulsifer Logging/Shamrock Bar & Grill No. 34 when the yellow was thrown, was ruled the Modified winner. Pierre Berthiaume of Joliette, Quebec was second, three car-lengths ahead of Jessey Mueller. Patrick Dupree and Todd Stone completed the top five.

In the night’s first feature, Bucko Branham jumped out to an early lead and stayed ahead of Robin Wood and Jamy Begor as they battled for second to claim his 4th Limited Late Model win, a divisional best. Wood maintained the top spot in the point standings by holding off Begor for the runner-up spot. Danny Sullivan was a close 4th. Branham and Wood won the Limited Late Model heats.

“We switched the car up to be able to run the bottom the best because running the outside has so popular,” Branham said of his Bud Light/Liquor & Wine Warehouse No. 20.

Jamie LaFountain of Keeseville was named the winner of the Haun Welding Night Sportsman Modified feature after apparent race winner Eric Lauziere failed tech inspection. It was LaFountain’s second win of the season. Point leader Nick Heywood of Plattsburgh, who gained three positions in the last 10 laps, placed 2nd. Joe Daniels, Lonnie Rivers and Mike Phinney were scored 3-4-5. Rico Hernandez and Rick Doner both ran in the top-3 in the first half of the race before faltering.

Josh Leclaire of Plattsburgh led the final 22 laps to post his first career win in the Renegade feature. Robbie Favreau of Peru kept close contact with Leclaire for the last 15 laps, but was never able to draw alongside. Jon Boutin reeled in Tylor Terry to earn 3rd. Lance Rabtoy, shuffled to the rear in traffic early, rallied back to finish near Terry in 5th – good enough to take over the Renegade point lead. Positions 6-10 went to Ryan Boutin, Robert Gordon, Jason McClatchie, Mark Caron and Joe Warren.

The postponed Busch Mini Modified feature will be made up next Saturday, August 24.