June 7, 2013

Sports Shorts: June 7, 2013


---- — CVAC senior baseball game cancelled

PLATTSBURGH — The Champlain Valley Athletic Conference senior baseball game, scheduled for last night at Lefty Wilson Field, was cancelled and will not be played.

Tanneberger golf tourney scramble held Thursday

WESTPORT — Paul Salerno and Brian Cross combined for a 5-under par 66 to win first place low gross on Thursday in the scramble portion of the 34th-Annual Tanneberger Tournament at the Westport Country Club.

First place low net, with a 61, went to the team of Ed Vogel and Johnathan Stahl. Vogel and Stahl also won a skin on the first hole.

During a practice round for the tournament on Monday, Paul Tom hit a five-wood on the 207-yard, 13th hole for a hole-in-one.

Also that day, Ed Vogel, 79, beat his age by three shots, recording a 76 in a group that included William McHone and Jim Forcier.

The regular 54-hole, best-ball event begins today at 8 a.m. There are 60 two-person teams competing.

Softball tournament Saturday at Post 1619

WEST PLATTSBURGH — The Guardians of the Ribbon Cancer Awareness Co-Ed Softball Tournament will be held on Saturday at American Legion Post 1619. There will be 11 teams competing and the pairings are as follows:

Field 1

9 a.m.- Big Boys vs. In It To Win It

10:10 a.m.- P II Irish Pub vs. LaDuke’s Logging

11:20 a.m.- Big Boyz/In It To Win It winner vs. Nichols’ Electric

12:30 p.m.- P II Irish Pub/LaDuke’s Logging winner vs. Knights of Columbus #7273/EBNY

Field 2

9 a.m- Mama’s vs. Shumway’s

10:10 a.m.- Adirondackers vs. Adirondack Locks

11:20 a.m.- Mama’s/Shumway’s winner vs. Jill Hartman’s Team

Moose Lodge golf tourney on Saturday

PLATTSBURGH — The Moose Lodge Scholarship Golf Tournament will be held at The Barracks Golf Course on Saturday. Registration is at 7 a.m. and there will be a shotgun start at 8 a.m.

Tee assignments

1- Doug Breyette, Gary Duquette, Mike Wallace, guest

1A- Mike Gadway, Jim Walker, Fuzzy Spellman, Richard Munn

2- Mike Dodds, Ben Dodds, Bob Wieworka, John Lamare

2A- Steve Dumesnil, Bob Dumesnil, John Zurlo Jr., Randy Tetreault

3- Howard Abare, Tim Trombley, Troy Trombley, Eric Labounty

3A- Cliff Rugar, Bill Branham, Robin Branham, Mike Laugham

4- Gary Whitney, Donald Durgan, Joe Murphy, Joe VanValkenburgh

5- Jeff Kelly, Carla Kelly, Adam Coe, Chanda Sterling

5A- Joe Ambrosio, Nick Pain, Richard Akey, Miles Recore

6- Butch Proctor, Rich Flora, Tony Kowalowski, Keith Howe

6A- Steve Tahy, Bob Carpenter, Steve Carroll, Rick Lamberton

7- Brian Raville, Paige Raville, Steve Fuller, Denise Fuller

8- Josh Hlaing, Jimmy Washburn, Maria Brown, Heather Maggy

8A- Marrisa Rushford, Fonze Rushford, John Desrocher, Gary Breyette

9- Gary Stark, Gary Terry, Jim Wells, Butch Morgan

9A- Jim Lamarche, Rich Gorton, Jeff St. Dennis, Corey Carpenter

10- Jay Mitchell, Sue Smith, Steve Ogden, Heather Danhoff

10A- Matt Berry, John Clemons, Tom Webb, Kasey Kennedy

11- Mike Rock, Al Daniels, Billy Jo Leopard, John Burke

11A- 1619 Sons, Steve Burdo, Dan Easton, guest

12- Kevin Matott, George Fitzgerald, Levon Fitzgerald, Mitch Ryder

13- Jim Cring, Michelle Duquette, Damon Laborde, Susan Laborde

13A- Wendy Reil, Tammy Duquette, Devin Hilts, Trevor Towie

14- Joe Lamora, Brandon Lamora, Wes Facteau, Josh Facteau

14A- Rich Cummings, Tom Cummings, Joe Cummings, Kirk Schwartz

15- Lynne Scarborough, Lynne Scarborough, Regina Rein, Kim Budwick

15A- Kevin Hunt, Eric Meigs, Mark Stone, Dave Terry

16- Ed Combs, Tony Kipp, Sue Stafanick, Keith McKanick

16A- Byron Bissonette, Bob Dumas, Bob Robare, Dick Auglin

17- Matt Brunet, Andrew Durddiakawski, Kevin Shiflett, Scott Riley

17A- Ronald Dumont, Randy Swires, Larry Shanley Sr., huest

18- Tim Barber, Tim O’Connell, Randy Rock, Keith Reyell

18A- Todd Underwood, Joe Semple, Dean Lombard, Norm Arsenault

McGee, Loughan win Adirondack members’ tournament

PERU — Ron McGee and Pat Loughan took first place last Sunday in the Adirondack Golf & Country Club’s Memorial Tournament. Thirty-six golfers competed in the two-person scramble.

McGee and Loughan finished with a net 63 to place first in a tight race with Adrian Rovers and Abdia Dashnaw, who finished second with a 63.7. Bill Giroux and Carol Dandrow were third with a 65.7.

Other individual competitions included: closest to the line of the 10th hole going to Loughan for the women and Chip Dandrow for the men; closest to the pin of the par threes going to Robert Soltero on the third hole, Pat Loughan on the eighth hole, Tom Loughan on the 14th hole and Gale Carroll on the 17th hole; and putting contest winners Chip Dandrow for the men and Gerry Finney for the women.

Skins game winners were Henry Dashnaw and Carroll with a birdie on the 17th hole, and Mike Maille and Sandy Desso with a birdie on the 18th hole.

The next member tournament at Adirondack will be the Member/Member Tournament on Saturday, July 14. Entry forms are available in the pro shop with a deadline to enter being July 8.