October 11, 2012

Sect. VII/X teams Volley For A Cure


PLATTSBURGH — Saranac and Plattsburgh High hosted the fourth-annual Volley For A Cure Tournament on Monday to support the Hannah’s Hope Fund. Sixteen teams from Section VII and Section X competed, and the tournament raised more than $4,000.

The Beekmantown 1 team won the Gold Division, while Malone won the Silver Division, PHS 2 won the Bronze Division and Saranac 1 claimed the Diamond Division.

Hannah’s Hope Fund is a nonprofit organization that raises funds for a treatment and cure of Giant Axonal Neuropathy, an inherited condition that causes progressive nerve death. The Sames family, which founded the charity, attended the tournament.

All-Star Team

AuSable Valley- Miranda Sheffer, Noelle Miller

Beekmantown 1- Shannon Ryan, Makayla LaFountain

Beekmantown 2- Kendra LaFountain, Emily Anderson

Chateauguay- Caitlin Miller, Carolyn Stumpf

Malone- Rachel Lamika

Massena- Janisa Benedict

Northern Adirondack- Shonni Velasquez

Northeastern Clinton- Emily Boyer

Ogdensburg- Felicia Barr

Peru 1- Linzee Wright

Peru 2- Karley Goddeau-Stefaniak

Plattsburgh 1- Dee Brown

Plattsburgh 2- Deanna LaBarge

Lake Placid- Taylor Maiorca

Saranac 1- Ashley Byerley

Saranac 2 - Abby Mahellkavic