January 22, 2014

Goddeau rallies, helps B'town past NAC

BEEKMANTOWN — Bruce Goddeau trailed his 220-pound wrestling match 9-0 Tuesday, but he came back to win by fall — one of five pins Beekmantown recorded during its 48-24 Champlain Valley Athletic Conference victory over Northern Adirondack.

Justin Steady (285), Michael Cartee (106), Anthony Cartee (113) and Eathan Bacon (138) also pinned their opponents. Jon Graziane earned a 1-0 decision in an exciting match at 132 points. Dillan Peryea, Casey Provost and Ryan Turner also won by decision for the Eagles.

“Great match,” Beekmantown coach Len Gadway said. “The kids all wrestled hard; they’re all improving.” He added that Anthony Cartee had an excellent performance, and Provost also wrestled well.

Northern Adirondack’s Matthew Lashway and Jace Filion picked up wins by decision, and the Bobcats had three forfeit victories.

Beekmantown 48, Northern Adirondack 24

145- Finlayson (NAC) won by forfeit. 152- C. LaBombard (NAC) won by forfeit. 160- B. Brandon LaBombard (NAC) won by forfeit. 170- D. Peryea (Beek) dec. Riley, 5-2. 182- Lashway (NAC) dec. G. Cook, 11-5. 195- Defayette (Beek) won by forfeit. 220- Goddeau (Beek) pinned Page, 3:57. 285- Steady (Beek) pinned Almodovar, 2:32. 99- Filion (NAC) dec. K. Peryea 5-0. 106- M. Cartee (Beek) pinned Luebbers, 0:57. 113- A. Cartee (Beek) pinned LaPoint, 4:42. 120- Provost (Beek) dec. Dominic, 6-4. 126- Turner (Beek) dec. Pombrio, 3-0. 132- Graziane (Beek) dec. Trombley, 1-0. 138- Bacon (Beek) pinned Dominy, 2:48.


Saranac 62, AuSable Valley 16

CLINTONVILLE — Codie Gillette, Will Marcil, Codie Plumadore, Jake Nolan, Chad Brooks and Rafael Rivera each recorded pins for the Chiefs in their 46-point win.

Saranac’s James Black won 15-0 by technical fall, while Brandon Yip recorded a 5-4 decision.

Trey Plummer, Colby Staley and John Devins all won by forfeit.

Joe Leclair, Reilly Peck and Dylan Baker registered victories by decision for the Patriots, while Kenny Rivers won via forfeit.

Saranac 62, AuSable Valley 16

138- Leclair (AV) dec. Ahern, 9-6. 145- Gillette (SCS) pinned Spear (AV), 0:49. 152- Marcil (SCS) pinned Evans, 1:29. 160- Plummer (SCS) won by forfeit. 170- Black (SCS) tech. fall Christensen, 15-0. 182- Staley (SCS) won by forfeit. 195- Plumadore (SCS) pinned Nichols (AV), 5:52. 220- Peck (AV) dec. Dubrey, 2-1. 285- Rivers (AV) won by forfeit. 99- Nolan (SCS) pinned Blaise (AV), 0:27.106- Devins (SCS) won by forfeit.113- Brooks (SCS) pinned Tanzuck, 1:00. 120- Baker (AV) major dec. LaGraves, 14-3. 126- Yip (SCS) dec. Gainer, 5-4. 132- Rivera (SCS) pinned Wilkinson, 5:22.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Local Sports