June 10, 2013

Tanneberger leaders hold up

WESTPORT — Derek Amerlink & Brian Schara led from start to finish to capture the 34th-Annual Thomas Tanneberger Memorial Golf Tournament by four strokes Sunday at the Westport Country Club.

The Buffalo entry, who began the 54-hole tourney with a 70 on Friday and followed with a 73 on Day 2, came back to shoot a 70 Sunday for a total of 213 in the best-ball event.

Ed Davis and Len Freitas tied Dave Rowe and Wayne Welch for second with scores of 217.

Jim Stahl and John Stahl won the First Flight by two strokes while Ed Vogel Sr. and Jim Goeghegan came in first in the Second Flight by eight shots. Jay McSorley and Art Williams were the Third Flight winners with a 247.

Thomas Forcier and Kevin Maloney won the Fourth Flight by nine strokes.

2013 Tanneberger Memorial Golf Tournament

Final results

Championship flight

Derek Amerlink/Brian Schara 70-73-70—213

Ed Davis/Len Freitas 76-71-70—217

Dave Rowe/Wayne Welch 74-70-73—217

Paul Salerno/Brian Cross 75-73-72—220

Mike Law/Mike Graves 75-74-74—223

Jim Forcier/Mike O’Connor 75-77-74—226

John Wilkinson/Matt Wilkinson 74-79-77—23

Ryan Sherman/Dan Morency 78-77-76—231

Dustin Salerno/Brian Stoddard 78-77-76—231

Jack Doody/Travis Sheehan 77-92-84—253

First flight

Jim Stahl/John Stahl 80-71-74—225

Ed Vogel Jr./Stephen Vogel 80-72-75—227

Tim Ormsby/John Boyle 78-74-76—228

Second flight

Ed Vogel Sr./Jim Goeghegan 82-79-73—234

Mike Brankman/Roger Jaquish 83-84-75—242

Jeff Kaleita/Bob Kaleita 84-81-82—247

Third flight

Jay McSorley/Art Williams 89-80-78—247

Rick Frisbie/Peter Frisbie 92-83-83—258

Tod Evers/Terry Smith 92-84-85—261

Fourth flight

Thomer Forcier/Kevin Maloney 98-99-81—278

Stan Szczerba/Andy Szczerba 98-94-95—287

John Coryer/Chris Markwica 97-95-96—288

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Local Sports